Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services: LRC Sites

The library services offered by Cerro Coso.

General

The mission of the Cerro Coso Community College library is to facilitate your research. The staff will help you not only to find specific information, but will assist you in learning how to use the library effectively. 

Cerro Coso has a robust online collection, including a library catalog with over 30,000 eBooks, 30+ research databases with over 6 million full-text articles, and web resources in dozens of subject areas, all of which can be accessed from any college campus or from home with a student email address and password.

Librarians are available to assist students with research and information competency skills remotely and at select locations. Students are also encouraged to use the "24/7 Chat" box for research assistance. This resource instantly connects users to a skilled research specialist any time of the day or night. 

Students interested in borrowing books not found at their campuses should refer to the Interlibrary Loan procedures.

IWV - Ridgecrest

The IWV campus library takes up the first floor of Cerro Coso's Learning Resource Center building. The book collection is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification (LC) order and presently includes over 30,000 volumes on a wide variety of topics, most of which can be checked out. Additionally, over 500 audiovisual materials and several periodical subscriptions are available for use in the library.

Services at IWV:

  • Textbooks on reserve, available for use in the library
  • Internet and Wi-Fi access for general use
  • Desktop computers for general use
  • Laptops, iPads, headphones, and mice available for student use in the library
  • Printing for student use for those with an active print account
  • Individual study/meeting rooms rooms available on a first-come, first-serve basis, or by reservation
  • Kern County Law Library computer station for general public use

Other local libraries include the Ridgecrest Branch of the Kern County Library.

Other Libraries

A brief list of other libraries. Materials from these libraries should be requested using Interlibrary Loan.

ESCC Bishop

The Bishop library is part of the Learning Resource Center, located on the Bishop campus across from the Admissions and Records office, adjacent to the Community Room. The library includes a Reserve collection of textbooks and other course materials as well as general and subject encyclopedias that support the college's academic programs, such as a comprehensive art book collection and a special collection of books about Eastern Sierra history and interests, with titles by local authors. Materials at the Bishop campus cannot be checked out without special permission.

Other local libraries include the Inyo County Free Library.

ESCC Mammoth

Students, staff and faculty at the Mammoth Lakes campus have access to a joint use library operated by the Mammoth County of Education. The main book collection is located at the public library and is arranged according to the Dewey Decimal System. The LRC also houses a Reserve collection of textbooks and other course materials. Materials at the Mammoth Lakes campus cannot be checked out without special permission.

Mammoth students also have full access to resources at the Mammoth Lakes branch of the Mono County Free Library.

East Kern: Tehachapi

The Tehachapi Learning Resource Center currently houses the Tehachapi Reserve collection of textbooks and other course materials.

Other local libraries include the Tehachapi branch of the Kern County Library

Incarcerated Student Education Program

The Incarcerated Student Education Program (ISEP) at the California City Correctional Facility and Tehachapi California Correctional Institution has led to a need for college library support.

The library has developed a foundational reference collection of over 400 volumes at Tehachapi for inmate student use.