For your BAC project, you will need to locate 1 article from a scholarly (academic) journal and 1 article from a professional magazine, also called a Trade Journal. So, what's the difference?
| Scholarly Journal (academic) | Professional (Trade) Magazine | |
| What’s in them? | Articles that present original research studies. Reviews of books relevant to scholars in the discipline. | Practical information for professionals in the field, including news, trends, and other updates. |
| What’s their purpose? | To make the information available to the rest of the scholarly world. | Report on trends in the profession and give practical advice to professionals and other interested readers. |
| What is their review process? | Scholarly articles go through a peer review (referee) process where other scholars in the field evaluate the content of the article. | Articles are reviewed by the magazine’s editorial staff, including copyediting for spelling, grammar, etc. |
| Who writes for them? | An expert or team of experts in the particular topic of study (Ph.D., researcher, or other scholar). | Professionals or experts in the field. |
| Examples | Journal of Business Ethics, Journal of Small Business Management, Journal of International Business Studies | Bloomberg Businessweek, Forbes Magazine, Inc. Magazine |
Here are just a few of the databases you might use to find articles.
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The majority of full text titles are in native (searchable) PDF format.
Provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
A collection of eBook encyclopedias on nearly every subject, available 24/7 through the Gale Virtual Reference Library platform.
A powerful search and reporting tool that allows you to get comprehensive information on a company. Nexis® Dossier mines data from numerous company and financial sources for more than 240,000,000 public and private companies worldwide.
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
