Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources for Social Distancers: Library Resources

The Library is a refuge during stressful times. We are here to provide services and resources straight from home.
When using library eResources off-campus, you may be prompted to log in with your full student email address and password. If you have trouble, please visit our Troubleshooting page.

If you need a laptop in order to access your classes, please fill out the laptop request form so that Cerro Coso can do its best to lend one to you.

Need Digital Access to Your Textbook?

The library is once again open to the public! However, if you don't feel safe returning to campus, there are other options.

We have done our best to make your textbooks available as eBooks through the library. Check out our Textbooks on Reserve document and look for the hyperlinked Yes in the EBK column. If it's there, click the link, log in with your student email and password, and voila! You should be able to access your textbook for free through the library! Note that some eBooks have 1-user access - if you are denied access, it may because someone else is currently looking at that eBook. Try again in a few minutes. 

Some publishers do not allow libraries to purchase eBook copies, so you may still need to order your book through the college bookstore.

Finding eBooks in the Library Catalog

Primo Search Results

You can use the library catalog to find eBooks online. In the search box, enter a few select keywords to help narrow down what you're looking for. If you need help figuring out how to do so, check out the guide listed at the bottom of this section.

On the results page, look for the availability under the title. If it says "Available at [Campus]" then it is a physical item. If it is Available Online, it is an eBook that you can use. Click that green link to view the eBook, or click the title to view the full record.

To access an eBook, you will likely need to log in with your full college email address and password.

If you get too many hits, you can also use the "Refine Your Results" column to filter by availability to only "Available Online." This will remove everything that isn't an eBook. 

Happy reading!

Finding Articles in the Library Databases

Academic Search Complete Search ResultsMany of the databases we subscribe to are products of Ebscohost. This benefits you because they have the same format and you can search many of them at once using the Choose Databases option just above the search bar. (Once the list displays, hover over the yellow blurb box to learn more about each database.)

Academic Search Complete is one of the most popular databases because it covers a comprehensive list of subjects with full-text articles.

For a basic search, type a few keywords and hit the "Search" button.

On the results screen you will see a column of limiter options. For best results, make sure the Full Text box is checked. If researching for a college course, choose Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. You may also want to pull the slider on the publication date range to find more recent articles as needed.

You can limit your search by source type. Academic journals are recommended, but Magazines and Newspapers may also be useful. To narrow down a topic by subject, select a subject from the limiter column.

Academic Search Complete Record ViewClicking on the title will take you to the detailed item record. Click on the "PDF Full Text" or the "HTML Full Text" links to view the article. Some articles with HTML full text will display the article at the bottom of the page.

To find articles on similar subjects, click a link in the Subject Terms area. Since many Ebsco databases use specific terminology, this area can give you keyword suggestions when you are stuck.

The Tools column is particularly useful when you need to print, email, save, or cite the article. Citations are automatically generated, so double-check the content and formatting before using it in a paper.

Ebsco Databases:

Gale eBook Search Screen

Gale eBooks, previously known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, searches a wide range of encyclopedia articles from a variety of eBooks. It is especially useful if you are looking for an overview of your topic.

To start with, either type your topic in the search box or select a subject from the Collections column.

From the results page, you can click a title to read the article.

You can also limit the search by subject, document type, or encyclopedia source.

Note that some encyclopedias have the same titles, but different years or editions. For academic research, you will almost always want to select the more recent resource.

Gale eBook RecordOnce you have clicked on the article, you can use the Tools row at the top to cite, email, download, or print the article.

Downloading a PDF of the article often preserves the original formatting, including images and page numbers. Page numbers are particularly useful to keep track of if you are using the source in your paper and need to cite that page.

You can also use the Article Contents links on the Explore side column to jump to a specific page. The More Like This and Related Subjects box will point you to more articles on similar subjects.

Gale Literature Results PageGale Literature pulls together the Literature Resource Center and Artemis databases for coverage of many of Gale's literary articles, biographies, and more.

You can begin searching by typing keywords into the search bar, or you can use the Topic Finder feature for a more visual approach in exploring a topic.

Once on the results screen, you can click on a title to view the article. Check the word count before you click - some links are only abstracts and do not include the full article. 

If you have too many results to dig through, you can narrow your search using the search limiter column. Critical Essay is perhaps the most useful content type for English courses, followed by Articles and Essays. You can also limit by subject, work, and more. Keep in mind that not all items have been fully indexed with subjects, so using limiters can sometimes eliminate relevant articles as well.

Gale Literature Record Click on a title to view the article. From here, you can use the tool bar on the top to cite, email, download, or print the article. The citation tool is automated, so double check each citation before using it in an essay.

You can also use the Related Subjects menu on the side to search for similar articles.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints SearchGale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints pulls together comprehensive coverage of a range of controversial topics, which allows you to explore the pros and cons side-by-side. You can also view a wide variety of resources, including viewpoint essays, statistics, news, videos, and articles from encyclopedias and magazines.

Type your search terms into the search box, or browse topics using the subject boxes below the featured articles. One advantage of browsing the issues listed in these boxes is that they are already organized into collections of resources.

Once you click on or search for your topic, you will be taken to a resource page on that topic. If the topic is not organized, it will have a list of all the results that include your search term, broken down by type.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints Results

If the topic is organized, it will have an overview, as well as a column that breaks the results down into resource types, such as Featured Viewpoints, Academic Journals, Statistics, News, Reference Articles, Magazines, and more.

Click on a title to be taken to the article or resource.

Gale Opposing Viewpoints Record

Once you are on the page, you can read the article. You can also use the toolbar at the top to cite, email, download, or print the article.

If you would like to find more information on similar topics, check out the Explore sidebar with "More Like This" articles and the list of "Related Subjects."

JSTOR Results PageJSTOR is a multi-subject database, with a concentration of material in the arts and sciences.

To search JSTOR, type your keywords into the search box or click the Advanced Search option below it. You can also refine your search on the results page by narrowing your search by date, subject, or keyword. You can use the Advanced Search to search multiple fields at once. 

You can sort your results by relevance, newest, or oldest.

When you find an article you are interested in, click the title to go to the item record, or click the "Download PDF" button to go directly to the article. Accept the terms and conditions to open the PDF.

You can also click "Cite this Item" to get the citation without opening the document.

If you click on the title, you will be taken to the item record.

JSTOR Record Screenshot

Here, you can do many of the same things, including clicking on topic links to find more articles on related subjects.

If you are not able to download a PDF version of the article, you can read the article online using the arrows on either side of the article page to progress.

If you wish to jump to the part of the article that includes your search terms, click "View X Search Matches" above the document and jump to those pages.

Note: You can also try the Text Analyzer (under Tools), which allows you to upload a document or image, such as your essay. It analyzes the words in that document and retrieves relevant articles and keywords for you. It's a great tool when you are having trouble finding sources!

Films on Demand Results PageFilms on Demand is a streaming video collection that houses educational, informational, and historical films on a variety of topics.

You can either search using keywords in the search box at the top, or you can browse by popularity, producer, or subject by clicking on the three lines next to the logo.

If you search by keyword, you will find several types of videos. Full videos are entire videos, while segments are clips within each video.

If a video is a segment, the title of the full video is listed under the segment title. Segments are available so you do not have to watch or cite an entire video, but can search for, and jump to, the most relevant part.

You can also filter your results by subject, producer, video type, language or copyright date using the drop down menus in the row above the titles.

Click on a title to view the video.

Films on Demand Record

Once in the video, you can use the play panel to play or pause, turn up the sound, speed up the play time, or expand the video to full screen.

You can jump to other segments in the video using the segment table of contents.

All videos have closed captioning options. You can also view the transcript of the segment using the tabs in the column next to the video.

If you want to cite, share, or embed the video, click the links below the video.

Click a tag to view related videos.

Nexis Uni SearchNexis Uni, formerly known as LexisNexis Academic, is a database which contains thousands of newspapers as well as legal cases and business information.

Enter your search terms in the large search bar and click the magnifying glass to search. Since Nexis Uni covers many subjects, you will likely want to narrow your search.  You can do this by selecting something from the drop down menu next to the search bar, which defaults to "All Nexis Uni" or by selecting a field in the "What are you interested in?" section. This drop down menu will let you limit your selection by multiple categories, jurisdictions, or topics.

You can also visit several Topic pages, which contain specific search tools and resources. The Business page, for example, lets you view company dossiers, view recent business news, or research information on companies. The Criminal Justice page lets you search statutes and legislation or view Supreme Court decisions and landmark cases.

Nexis Uni Results

The results page automatically defaults to News. If you wish to look at cases, statutes, company information, or a snapshot of everything, select the document type using the column on the left of the screen. 

Results can be sorted by relevance, alphabetically, or chronologically.

If you check the box next to an item, you can print, email, or download it.

If you get a lot of results, you will likely need to narrow your results further. You can select specific locations, publication types, subjects, and more.

Click the title of any document to be taken to its full text.

Nexis Uni Court Case Page

Once in the document, you can again print, email, or save it using the menu row at the top. This information will appear at the bottom of the screen on small devices. Check the number of pages in your document before printing, as some can be quite long.

When it comes to statutes and court cases, there is an "Export Citation" button just below the title that allows you to cite the information in standard legal format.

Cases will often include the case history, term keywords, and a case summary that is especially useful as an abstract of the case.

In the "About this Document" column, there is a list of related content and court materials. 

Search for Library Books and EBooks

Complete List of Databases

Websites

Don't forget to check out our collection of websites, organized by college subject. There are also links to freely available books, databases, and more.