Guides: Open Educational Resources: Finding OER

OER Publishers

OER Publishers provide access to textbooks that can be freely used, adapted, and distributed for your OER course.

IntechOpen
Publisher of scientific peer-reviewed open access books.
LibreTexts
A free online textbook platform.
Open Stax
Get access to textbooks, articles, supplements, and learning resources that can be copied and modified.
Open Textbook Library
These textbooks have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed.
Wikibooks
Open-content textbooks that anyone can edit.

OER Repositories

Open Education Repositories include access to free educational materials and textbooks that can be tailored to your needs.

The Academic Senate for California Community Colleges Open Educational Resources Initiative
Search for OERs by CI-D, by general education requirement, view webinars, and more. This should be your first stop when searching for OERs!
Achieving the Dream Courses
Achieving the Dream OER course materials.
American Institute of Math Open Textbook Initiative
AIM seeks to encourage the adoption of open source and open access mathematics textbooks. The AIM Editorial Board has developed evaluation criteria to identify the books that are suitable for use in traditional university courses and maintains a list of Approved Textbooks which have been judged to meet these criteria.
Applied Math and Science Education Repository
A portal of free educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges.
California Open Online Library for Education
Find OER textbooks and course materials and stay up to date with the collaborative community of California community colleges.
CCC OEI OER
Canvas Commons offers open resources available through Canvas. Log in to Canvas, click on the Commons link on the left-hand navigation pane, and then search for CCC OEI OER to see Canvas courses that have been built using OpenStax textbooks. These courses are openly-licensed, so you can freely use the content from these Canvas shells.
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources: Find OER
Find links to other repositories as well as open textbooks, books, courses, journals, media, and more.
Directory of Open Access Books
Search or browse collections of open access books.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Links to free scholarly journals and articles.
Introduction to OER for Language Teachers
COERLL’s introduction to OER for language teachers guide
LibriVox
Audiobooks of public domain works that have been recorded by volunteers.
Lumen Learning
Curated OER content as well as low-cost courses designed for a variety of subjects.
Mason OER Metafinder
Search a variety of OER repositories simultaneously for textbooks, resources, and more.
MERLOT
Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.
Milne Open Textbooks
Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff. Prospective authors can learn more about proposing a text here.
MyOpenMath
Free and open online resource supported by XYZ Math and Lumen Learning with resources for instructors and for student self-study. Requires registration to create an account.
OER Commons
A digital library of open education resources and access to tools to publish a course. Recommended for instructors in the business, education, history, life sciences, psychology and sociology subject areas.
OpenEd
A vast collection of open textbooks listed by date or subject, downloadable in a wide variety of formats.
Open Library
Millions of publicly accessible ebook titles, as well as some newer titles that require a free account.
Open Library of Humanities
The Open Library of Humanities is a born open-access publisher which specializes in internationally-leading, rigorous and peer-reviewed scholarship across the humanities disciplines in 27 journals.
OpenMichigan
Find and share open source materials from the University of Michigan.
OpenOregon Educational Resources
OERs used by Oregon community college instructors, organized by course.
Open Washington
This website will help you understand the OER movement and provides links for finding textbooks, content, images, and videos.
Orange Grove Texts Plus
Search open source materials from the University Press of Florida.
Skills Commons
OER materials for workforce training in CTE fields, searchable by content type, credential type, and more.
WikiJournal User Group
The WikiJournal User Group publishes a set of open-access, peer-reviewed academic journals with no publishing costs to authors. Its goal is to provide free, quality-assured knowledge. Secondly, it aims to bridge the Academia-Wikipedia gap by enabling expert contributions in the traditional academic publishing format to improve Wikipedia content.

Open Courses & Lessons

Boundless Catalog
Free educational courses created by Boundless and imported into Lumen.
EdX
edX is an online learning destination and MOOC provider, offering high-quality courses from the world’s best universities and institutions to learners everywhere.
Khan Academy
Open lessons on a wide variety of subjects.
Lumen Learning
Curated OER content as well as low-cost courses designed for a variety of subjects.
MIT Open Courseware
The Massachusetts Institute of Technology offers over 2400 course materials.
Open Course Library
Access to course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments created by college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other educators available free of cost.
OpenLearn
OpenLearn aims to break the barriers to education by providing free educational resources and inviting all to sample courses that registered students take for free.
Open Learning Initiative
Open courses and materials from Carnegie Mellon University.
Open Pedagogy Notebook: Examples of Open Pedagogy
Ideas and classroom-tested practices for educators looking to engage more deeply with open pedagogy.
PBS Learning Media
PBS SoCal and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more just for California teachers.
Saylor Academy Bookshelf
Access to nearly 100 full-length courses created by expert educators, which are all available free of cost.
Sol*R
Shareable Online Learning Resources includes learning resources from a wide variety of disciplines and subject areas.
World Lecture Project
Contains a video library, topic resources, and a collaborative course platform.

Search for Library EBooks!

OASIS

Usable Image Collections

Art Images for College Teaching
Royalty-free public domain images of art and architecture, available to use for educational purposes.
Creative Commons Image Search
Find billions of usable user-submitted images, videos, and music available under various CC licenses.
Every Stock Photo
Free stock photos available for educational use, depending on individual licenses.
Flickr: Creative Commons
Search for images, sorted by attribution license.
Getty Museum Collection
Search open source images from the Getty Museum collection, available to download and use freely.
NGA Images
Images from the National Gallery of Art which are free to download and use.
NYPL Digital Collections
View images, photographs, letters, and more from the New York Public Library.
Pixabay
Free public domain images, photos, and illustrations.
SmARThistory
A collection of art and descriptions, searchable by time, style, or artist.
Wikimedia Commons
Database of millions of freely usable images and other media files.

Government Resources

Congress.gov
Bill summaries, votes, and other legislative activities of congress.
Data.gov
Freely available government data, tools, and resources to help with making consumer and professional decisions.
GovInfo
Search official government publications and documents.
Library of Congress
The homepage of the U.S. Library of Congress, with access to collections, information, catalogs, librarians and more.
USA.GOV
A website where you can find any information that you need about the federal government and how it operates.

These are just a few links to freely available government resources. For more, visit our Websites by Subject LibGuide:

Websites by Subject
Find and search external websites, collected in one place for your convenience.

OER By Discipline Guide

OER by Discipline Guide by Josie Gray
The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Guide lists a range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This guide is updated as new resources are identified.

LIBRARY

Open Educational Resources: Finding OER

Finding and Working with Open Educational Resources