Guides: Open Educational Resources: Business & Information Technology

Business Administration OER

Accounting, Finance, Math

Accounting Principles: A Business Perspective / Hermanson, Edwards, & Maher Uses annual reports of real companies to illustrate many of the accounting concepts in use in business today. Covers content related to Financial Accounting and Managerial Accounting.
Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook / Olivier Simplifies and integrates annuity types and variable calculations, and utilizes relevant algebraic symbols. Contains structured exercises, annotated and detailed formulas, and relevant personal and professional applications in discussion, guided examples, case studies, and homework questions.
Financial Accounting / Saylor Intended to function as a guide through the world of business and financial reporting, including the principles of financial accounting. By learning its theory, presentation, and procedures, individuals become capable of using financial accounting to make prudent business decisions.
Individual Finance / Siegel, CFA, & Yacht Contents: Personal Financial Planning / Basic Ideas of Finance / Financial Statements / Evaluating Choices: Time, Risk, and Value / Financial Plans: Budgets / Taxes and Tax Planning / Financial Management / Consumer Strategies / Buying a Home / Personal Risk Management: Insurance / Personal Risk Management: Retirement and Estate Planning / Investing / Behavioral Finance and Market Behavior /The Practice of Investment / Owning Stocks / Owning Bonds / Investing in Mutual Funds, Commodities, Real Estate, and Collectibles / Career Planning
Introduction to Financial Mathematics Concepts and Computational Methods / Fahim Primer in financial mathematics with a focus on conceptual understanding of models and problem solving. Exposes the reader to a wide range of basic problems, some emphasizing analytic ability, some requiring programming techniques and others focusing on statistical data analysis.
Management Accounting Concepts and Techniques / Caplan Contents: Introduction / Microeconomic foundations of management accounting / Product costing and cost allocations / Determining the cost of inventory / Planning tools and performance measures for projects and divisions
Personal Finance / Saylor Contents: Personal Financial Planning / Basic Ideas of Finance / Financial Statements / Evaluating Choices: Time, Risk, and Value / Financial Plans: Budgets / Taxes and Tax Planning / Financial Management / Consumer Strategies / Buying a Home / Personal Risk Management: Insurance / Personal Risk Management: Retirement and Estate Planning / Investing / Behavioral Finance and Market Behavior / The Practice of Investment / Owning Stocks / Owning Bonds
Principles of Accounting, Vol. 1: Financial Accounting / OpenStax Contents: Role of Accounting in Society / Introduction to Financial Statements / Analyzing and Recording Transactions / The Adjustment Process / Completing the Accounting Cycle / Merchandising Transactions / Accounting Information Systems / Fraud, Internal Controls, and Cash / Accounting for Receivables / Inventory / Long-Term Assets / Current Liabilities / Long-Term Liabilities / Corporation Accounting / Partnership Accounting / Statement of Cash Flows
Principles of Accounting, Vol. 2: Managerial Accounting / OpenStax Contents: Accounting as a Tool for Managers / Building Blocks of Managerial Accounting / Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis / Job Order Costing / Process Costing / Activity-Based, Variable, and Absorption Costing / Budgeting / Standard Costs and Variances / Responsibility Accounting and Decentralization / Short-Term Decision Making / Capital Budgeting Decisions / Balanced Scorecard and Other Performance Measures / Sustainability Reporting

Business Admin., Business Law, Project Mgt.

Business Law I Essentials / OpenStax Contents: American Law, Legal Reasoning, and the Legal System / Disputes and Dispute Settlement / Business Ethics and Social Responsibility / Business and the United States Constitution / Criminal Liability / The Tort System / Contract Law / Sales Contracts / Employment and Labor Law / Government Regulation / Antitrust Law / Unfair Trade Practices and the Federal Trade Commission / International Law / Securities Regulation
Exploring Business / Saylor Exploring Business offers a fully developed teaching package that introduces students to business in an exciting way.
Foundations of Business Law and Legal Environment / Mayer An up-to-date textbook with comprehensive coverage of legal and regulatory issues for an introductory Legal Environment or Business Law course.
Fundamentals of Business, 3rd ed. / Skripak & Poff Contents: Teamwork in Business / The Foundations of Business / Economics and Business / Ethics and Social Responsibility / Business in a Global Environment / Forms of Business Ownership / Entrepreneurship: Starting a Business / Management and Leadership / Structuring Organizations / Operations Management / Motivating Employees / Managing Human Resources / Union/Management Issues / Marketing: Providing Value to Customers / Pricing Strategy / Hospitality and Tourism / Accounting and Financial Information / Personal Finances
Fundamentals of Business Law / Randall Contents: Introduction to Law and Types of Legal Systems / The United States Court System / Litigation / Alternative Dispute Resolution / The Constitution / International Law / Administrative Law / Criminal Law / Torts / Contracts / Sales Contracts / Writing Contracts / Employment Law / Anti-Discrimination Laws / Agency / Business Organizations / Partnerships / Corporations / Antitrust Law / Consumer Law / Workplace Privacy and Information Security / Property / Intellectual Property / Bankruptcy
Introduction to Business / OpenStax Covers the scope and sequence of most introductory business courses with detailed explanations in the context of core themes: customer satisfaction, ethics, entrepreneurship, global business, and managing change. Includes hundreds of current business examples from a range of industries and geographic locations, which feature a variety of individuals.
The Legal and Ethical Environment of Business / Lau & Johnson Contents: Introduction to Law / The Court System / Litigation / Alternative Dispute Resolution / The Constitution / Contracts / Torts / The Property System / Intellectual Property / Criminal Law / Business Organizations / Employment Discrimination / Business in the Global Legal Environment
Project Management / Watt Contents: Project Management: Past and Present / Project Management Overview / The Project Life Cycle (Phases) / Framework for Project Management / Stakeholder Management / Culture and Project Management / Project Initiation / Overview of Project Planning / Scope Planning / Project Schedule Planning / Resource Planning / Budget Planning / Procurement Management / Quality Planning / Communication Planning / Risk Management Planning / Project Implementation Overview / Project Completion
Project Management from Simple to Complex Contents: Introduction to Project Management / Project Profiling / Project Phases and Organization / Understanding and Meeting Client Expectations / Working with People on Projects / Communication Technologies / Starting a Project / Project Time Management / Estimating and Managing Costs / Managing Project Quality / Managing Project Risk / Project Procurement and Closure

Marketing, Management, Human Resources

Beginning Management of Human Resources / Dias Contents: The Role of Human Resources / Developing and Implementing Strategic HRM Plans / Diversity and Multiculturalism / Recruitment / Selection / Compensation and Benefits / Retention and Motivation / Training and Development / Successful Employee Communication / Managing Employee Performance / Employee Assessment / Working with Labor Unions / Safety and Health at Work / International HRM
Human Resource Management Contents: The Role of Human Resources / Developing and Implementing Strategic HRM Plans / Diversity and Multiculturalism / Recruitment / Selection / Compensation and Benefits / Retention and Motivation / Training and Development / Successful Employee Communication / Managing Employee Performance / Employee Assessment / Working with Labor Unions / Safety and Health at Work / International HRM
Management Communication / Thomas, Haupt, & Spackman Contents: Why?: Be a Skilled Communicator / Write: Look Good in Print / Plan: Think Before You Write / Organize: Structure Matters / Build: Create Clarity & Coherence / Research: Find the Answers / Format: Make Your Message Inviting / Revise: Zoom Out - Zoom In / Manage: Getting Things Done...With People / Persuade: Be Convincing / Show: Show What You Mean / Present: Stand & Deliver / Brand: Manage Your Personal Brand / Work: Get the Job
Principles of Management / OpenStax Designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the introductory course on management using a traditional approach to management: leading, planning, organizing, and controlling. Covers many management areas of this broad discipline, such as human resource management and strategic management, as well as behavioral areas such as motivation.
Principles of Marketing / Saylor Teaches the experience and process of actually doing marketing, not just the vocabulary. Dominant themes are Service-dominant logic, Sustainability, Ethics and social responsibility, Global coverage, and Metrics.

Organizational Behavior, Communication, Diversity

Business Communication for Success "Business Communication for Success (BCS) provides a comprehensive, integrated approach to the study and application of written and oral business communication to serve both student and professor."
Communication for Business Professionals Contents: Professional Business Communication / Delivering Your Message / You and Your Audience / Nonverbal Communication / Presentation Organization / Developing Presentations / Presentations to Inform / Presentations to Persuade / Intrapersonal and Interpersonal Communication / Intercultural and International Communication / Group Communication, Teamwork, and Leadership / Digital Media and Communications
An Introduction to Organizational Behavior / Bauer & Erdogan Contents: Organizational Behavior / Managing Demographic and Cultural Diversity / Understanding People at Work: Individual Differences and Perception / Individual Attitudes and Behaviors / Theories of Motivation / Designing a Motivating Work Environment / Managing Stress and Emotions / Communication / Managing Groups and Teams / Conflict and Negotiations / Making Decisions / Leading People Within Organizations / Power and Politics / Organizational Structure and Change / Organizational Culture
Leading with Cultural Intelligence / Moua Contents: Culturally Intelligent Leadership Matters / Understanding Culture / Cultural Intelligence Defined / Thinking About Thinking / I Think I Can and I Will / Adapting and Performing / Cultural Intelligence in Action / The Future of Cultural Intelligence
Organizational Behavior / OpenStax Contents: Management and Organizational Behavior / Individual and Cultural Differences / Perception and Job Attitudes / Learning and Reinforcement / Diversity in Organizations / Perception and Managerial Decision Making / Work Motivation for Performance / Performance Appraisal and Rewards / Group and Intergroup Relations / Understanding and Managing Work Teams / Communication / Leadership / Organizational Power and Politics / Conflict and Negotiations / External and Internal Organizational Environments and Corporate Culture / Organizational Structure and Change / Human Resource Management / Stress and Well Being / Entrepreneurship

Information Technology OER

Business Information Systems & Technology

Beginning Excel 2019 / Brown, Lave, & Romey Contents: Fundamental Skills / Mathematical Computations / Formulas, Functions, Logical and Lookup Functions / Presenting Data with Charts / Tables / Multiple Sheet Files
Information Systems: A Manager's Guide to Harnessing Technology Intended for use in undergraduate and/or graduate courses in Management Information Systems and Information Technology, this text offers a proven approach that has engaged students to think deeper and more practically about the space where business and technology meet.
Information Systems for Business and Beyond / Bourgeois Contents: What Is an Information System? / Hardware / Software / Data and Databases / Networking and Communication / Information Systems Security / Does IT Matter? / Business Processes / The People in Information Systems / Information Systems Development / Globalization and the Digital Divide / The Ethical and Legal Implications of Information Systems / Future Trends in Information Systems
Relational Databases and Microsoft Access / McFadyen Contents: Relational Databases and MS Access / Creating Tables / Creating Forms / Microsoft Access Queries / Relationships and the Relationships Tool / Microsoft Access Queries/ Advanced / Entity Relationship Modelling / Mapping an ERD to a Relational Database / Data Definition Language (DDL) / Normalization

Computer Science & Database Design

Database Design (2nd Ed.) / Watt & Eng Contents: Before the Advent of Database Systems / Fundamental Concepts / Characteristics and Benefits of a Database / Types of Data Models / Data Modelling / Classification of Database Management Systems / The Relational Data Model / The Entity Relationship Data Model / Integrity Rules and Constraints / ER Modelling / Functional Dependencies / Normalization / Database Development Process / Database Users / SQL Structured Query Language / SQL Data Manipulation Language
Delftse Foundations of Computation / Hugtenburg & Yorke-Smith Contents: Introduction / Logic / Proof / Sets, Functions, and Relations / Looking Beyond
Foundations of Computation / Critchlow & Eck Contents: Logic and Proof / Sets, Functions, and Relations / Regular Expressions and FSA's / Grammars / Turing Machines and Computability
An Introduction to Computing / Kumar & Banerjee Contents: (Models of computation) Introduction / Mathematical preliminaries / A functional model of computation / The Imperative model of computation / Step-wise refinement and Procedural Abstraction / (Data-directed programming) Abstract Data Types / Programming with Lists
Open Data Structures: An Introduction / Morin Contents: Introduction / Array-Based Lists / Linked Lists / Skiplists / Hash Tables / Binary Trees / Random Binary Search Trees / Scapegoat Trees / Red-Black Trees / Heaps / Sorting Algorithms / Graphs / Data Structures for Integers / External Memory Searching

Networks & Security

Computer and Network Security / Sen Presents state-of-the-art research in the fields of cryptography and security in computing and communications. Covers topics such as machine learning, intrusion detection, steganography, multi-factor authentication, and more.
Computer Networking: Principles, Protocols and Practice / Bonaventure Contents: Preface / Introduction / The application Layer / The transport layer / The network layer / The datalink layer and the Local Area Networks
Computer Networks: A Systems Approach / Peterson & Davie Contents: Foundation / Direct Connections / Internetworking / Advanced Internetworking / End-to-End Protocols / Congestion Control / End-to-End Data / Network Security / Applications
An Introduction to Computer Networks / Dordal Free and open general-purpose computer-networking textbook, complete with diagrams and exercises, which covers the LAN, internetworking and transport layers, focusing primarily on TCP/IP. Particular attention is paid to congestion; other special topics include queuing, real-time traffic, network management, security and the ns simulator.
Recent Advances in Cryptography and Network Security / Mitra Contents: Recent Advances in Cryptography and Network Security / A New Approximation Method for Constant Weight Coding and Its Hardware Implementation / Protocol for Multiple Black Hole Attack Avoidance in Mobile Ad Hoc Networks / A Survey of Machine Learning Techniques for Behavioral-Based Biometric User Authentication

Web Design & Development

Digital Accessibility as a Business Practice / Gay, Miller, & West Provides business leaders with the tools and knowledge needed to effectively enable digital accessibility in an organization through cultural change, raising awareness of its importance, and equipping employees with the specific tools and knowledge they need to address digital accessibility as part of their everyday work.
eMarketing: The Essential Guide to Online Marketing (5th) / Stokes Contents: Introduction to eMarketing / E-mail Marketing / Online Advertising / Affiliate Marketing / Search Engine Marketing / Search Engine Optimization / Pay per Click Advertising / Social Media / Crowdsourcing / Viral Marketing / Online Reputation Management / Web Public Relations / Web Site Development and Design / Online Copywriting / Web Analytics and Conversion Optimization / Mobile Marketing / Customer Relationship Management / Market Research / eMarketing Strategy
Introduction to Computer Graphics / Eck Contents: Introduction / Two-Dimensional Graphics / OpenGL 1.1: Geometry / OpenGL 1.1: Light and Material / Three.js: A 3D Scene Graph API / Introduction to WebGL / 3D Graphics with WebGL8: Beyond Realtime Graphics
The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming / Mendez Provides the developer with an understanding of the various elements of web development by focusing on the concepts and fundamentals through the examples within, providing a foundation that allows easier transition to other languages and a better understanding of how to approach their work.
Web Accessibility for Developers Contents: Introduction / Introduction to WAI-ARIA / Basic WAI-ARIA / Interactive WAI-ARIA (Basic) / Interactive WAI-ARIA (Intermediate) / Interactive WAI-ARIA (Advanced)

Computer Programming OER

Eloquent JavaScript: A Modern Introduction to Programming / Haverbeke Contents: (Language) Values, Types, and Operators / Program Structure / Functions / Data Structures: Object and Arrays / Higher-Order Functions / The Secret Life of Objects / Project: A Robot / Bugs and Errors / Regular Expressions / Modules / Asynchronous Programming / Project: A Programming Language / (Browser) JavaScript and the Browser / The Document Object Model / Handling Events / Project: A Platform Game / Drawing on Canvas / HTTP and Forms / Project: A Pixel Art Editor / (Node) Node.js / Project: Skill-Sharing Website / Exercise Hints
How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: C++ Version / Downey Contents: The way of the program / Variables and types / Function / Conditionals and recursion / Fruitful functions / Iteration / Strings and things / Structures / More structures / Vectors / Member functions / Vectors of Objects / Objects of Vectors / Classes and invariants / File Input/Output and apmatrixes
Introduction to Programming in Java: An Interdisciplinary Approach / Sedgewick & Wayne Text is organized around four stages of learning to program: basic elements, functions, object-oriented programming, and algorithms (with data structures). Basic information is provided to build confidence in writing programs at each level before moving to the next level.
Introduction to Programming Using Java (8th) / Eck Text is directed mainly towards beginning programmers, although it might also be useful for experienced programmers who want to learn something about Java. Does not provide complete coverage of the Java language.
Principles of Object-Oriented Programming / Nguyen & Wong Contents: Introduction / Polymorphism in Action / Immutable List Structure / Mutable Data Structures / Restricted Access Containers / GUI Programming / Labs / Resources
Programming Fundamentals / Park et al. Contents: Getting Started / Datatype, Variables, and Expressions / Conditions / Loops / Methods / Arrays and ArrayLists / Object Oriented Programming
Teach Yourself C++ in 21 Days (2nd) / Wiegand Introductory C++ tutorial designed to give the user understanding of how this language works.
Think Java: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist (2nd) / Mayfield & Downey Contents: Computer Programming / Variables and Operators / Input and output / Methods and Testing / Conditionals and logic / Loops and Strings / Arrays and References / Recursive Methods / Immutable Objects / Mutable Objects / Designing Classes / Arrays of Objects / Objects of Arrays / Extending Classes / Arrays of Arrays / Reusing Classes / Advanced Topics
Think Python: How to Think Like a Computer Scientist / Downey Concise introduction to software design using the Python programming language. Starts with the most basic concepts and gradually adds new material. Challenging ideas like recursion and object-oriented programming are divided into a sequence of smaller steps and introduced over the course of several chapters.

Paralegal Studies OER

Bankruptcy Law and Practice / Germain Contents: A World without Bankruptcy / Secured Claims / The Bankruptcy System / The Bankruptcy Estate / Exemptions / The Automatic Stay / Operating the Estate / Enhancing the Estate / Secured Claims in Bankruptcy / Unsecured Claims in Bankruptcy / The Discharge / Wage Earner Reorganizations under 13 / Business Reorganizations under Chapter 11
Civil Procedure: Pleading / Levin Contents: Preface / Rule 8. General Rules of Pleading / Rule 9. Pleading Special Matters / Conley v. Gibson / Swierkiewicz v. Sorema N.A / Rule 10. Form of Pleadings / Bell Atlantic Corp. v. Twombly / Ashcroft v. Iqbal / Kregler v. City of New York / Complaint 1 / Complaint 2
Criminal Law Contents: Introduction to Criminal Law / The Legal System in the United States / Constitutional Protections / The Elements of a Crime / Criminal Defenses, Part 1 / Criminal Defenses, Part 2 / Parties to Crime / Inchoate Offenses / Criminal Homicide / Sex Offenses and Crimes Involving Force, Fear, and Physical Restraint / Crimes against Property / Crimes against the Public / Crimes against the Government / Appendix A: Case Listings
Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Contents: Title I. Scope of Rules; Form of Action / Title II. Commencing an Action; Service of Process, Pleadings, Motions, and Orders / Title III. Pleadings and Motions / Title IV. Parties / Title V. Disclosures and Discovery / Title VI. Trials / Title VII. Judgment / Title VIII. Provisional and Final Remedies / Title IX. Special Proceedings / Title X. District Courts and Clerks: Conduction Business; Issuing Orders / Title XII. General Provisions
Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure Contents: Applicability / Preliminary Proceedings / The Grand Jury, The Indictment, and The Information / Arraignment and Preparation For Trial / Venue / Trial / Post-Conviction Procedures / Supplementary and Special Proceedings / General Provisions
Fundamental Cases in Criminal Justice / McKee Edited and abridged cases that are intended to be easy to read and provide lower division students with a gentle introduction to key legal concepts that define the workings of our criminal justice system.
The Indigo Book: A Manual of Legal Citation / Sprigman Contents: Background Rules / Cases / Statues Rules, Regulations, and Other Legislative & Administrative Materials / Court & Litigation Documents / Books & Non-Periodicals / Journals, Magazines & Newspaper Articles / Internet Sources / Explanatory Parentheticals / Quotations / Tables / CODICIL
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (Rev. 2013) / Martin Contents: Basic Legal Citation: What and Why? / How to Cite / Examples - Citations Of / Abbreviations and Omissions Used in Citations / Underlining and Italics / Placing Citations in Context / Reference Tables
Sources of American Law: An Introduction to Legal Research / Steenken & Brooks Contents: Preface / The United States Legal System / Constitutions & Statutes / Judicial Opinions & Common Law / Administrative Regulations / Electronic Research / Secondary Sources / The Research Process
Torts: Cases, Principles, and Institutions / Witt Contents: An Introduction to American Tort Law / Intentionally Inflicted Physical Harms / Strict Liability and Negligence: History and Introduction / The Negligence Standard / Plaintiffs' Conduct / Causation / Proximate (“Legal”) Cause / The Duty Problem / Modern Non-Fault Liability? / Damages
Torts: Cases and Contexts Volume 1 / Johnson Contents: Part I: Preliminaries / Part II: Negligence / Part III: Liability Relating to Healthcare
Torts: Cases and Contexts Volume 2 / Johnson Contents: Part IV: Dealing with Accidents: Beyond Negligence / Part V: Intentional Torts / Part VI: Remedies / Part VII: Special Issues with Parties and Actions / Part VIII: Oblique Torts

Lumen Learning Courses

Some resources copyrighted and openly licensed. Links to more information can be found at the bottom of each page.

Boundless Accounting (Lumen Learning) The Boundless Accounting textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that covers the subject of Accounting, core to all studies of business.
Boundless Business (Lumen Learning) The Boundless Business textbook is a college-level, introductory textbook that provides an overview of the fascinating subject of Business.
Boundless Marketing (Lumen Learning) Contents: An Overview of Marketing/- Marketing Strategies and Planning / The Marketing Environment / Consumer Marketing / Business to Business Marketing / Services Marketing / Global Marketing / Pricing / Products / Branding & Packaging / Marketing Channels / Integrated Marketing Communication / Advertising and Public Relations / Personal Selling & Sales Promotion / Social Media Marketing / Social Responsibility & Ethics in Marketing / Introduction to Nonprofit Marketing
Financial Accounting (Lumen Learning) This courseware offers an introductory look into financial accounting. Each topic is broken up into units with an exercise at the end of each unit. Topics range from accounting principles to investments & stocks.
Information Systems (Lumen Learning) Explore topics such as information system hardware, software, development, security, and more.
Managerial Accounting (Lumen Learning) Managerial accounting, also known as cost accounting, is the process of identifying, measuring, analyzing, interpreting, and communicating information to managers for the pursuit of an organization's goals. Managerial accounting information is aimed at helping managers within the organization make decisions, while financial accounting is aimed at providing information to parties outside the organization.

Open Educational Resources: Business & Information Technology

Business, Information Technology, Paralegal Studies

Business Administration OER

Accounting, Finance, Math

Business Admin., Business Law, Project Mgt.

Marketing, Management, Human Resources

Organizational Behavior, Communication, Diversity

Information Technology OER

Business Information Systems & Technology

Computer Science & Database Design

Networks & Security

Web Design & Development

Computer Programming OER

Paralegal Studies OER

Lumen Learning Courses