This LibGuide is updated each time new materials (books, eBooks, audiovisual, etc.) are added to the Cerro Coso Library collection. Click a link to open an eBook or to find a physical item in the catalog. You will need your college login information to access electronic resources.
Check back frequently to discover more titles!
The Creative Spark
by
A bold new synthesis of paleontology, archaeology, genetics, and anthropology that overturns misconceptions about race, war and peace, and human nature itself, answering an age-old question: What made humans so exceptional among all the species on Earth? Creativity.
A Cultural Encyclopedia of Lost Cities and Civilizations
by
Throughout the geographically and chronologically diverse entries, such themes as colonization, migration, and especially climate change are developed and analyzed. Supplementing the main entries are sidebars detailing mythological cities and Investigative Boxes examining present-day cities on the brink of extinction.
Eve: How the Female Body Drove 200 Million Years of Human Evolution
by
We need a kind of user's manual for the female mammal. A no-nonsense, hard-hitting, seriously researched (but readable) account of what we are. How female bodies evolved, how they work, what it really means to biologically be a woman. Something that would rewrite the story of womanhood. This book is that story.
Evolving Brains, Emerging Gods: Early Humans and the Origins of Religion
by
Based on an idea originally proposed by Charles Darwin, Torrey marshals evidence that the emergence of gods was an incidental consequence of several evolutionary factors. Using data ranging from ancient skulls and artifacts to brain imaging, primatology, and child development studies, this book traces how new cognitive abilities gave rise to new behaviors.
Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies
by
Provides an intimate examination of the everyday lives, suffering, and resistance of Mexican migrants in our contemporary food system.
Growing up Human: The Evolution of Childhood
by
From the mystery of monogamy to the minefield of modern parenting advice, biological anthropologist Brenna Hassett reveals how differences between humans and our closest cousins lead to our messy mating systems, dangerous pregnancies, and difficult births, and what these tell us about the kind of babies we are trying to build.Using observations of our closest primate relatives, the tiny relics of childhood that come to us from the archaeological record, and the bones and teeth of our ancestors, science has started to unravel the evolution of our childhood right down the fossil record.
Indigenous Firsts : A History of Native American Achievements and Events
by
Indigenous Firsts: A History of Native American Achievement and Events recognizes and honors 2,000 barrier-breaking trailblazers and history-making events in multiple fields-arts, entertainment, business, sovereignty, education, government, religion, science, sports, music, and more.
The Ohlone Way: Indian Life in the San Francisco-Monterey Bay Area
by
Margolin conveys the texture of daily life, birth, marriage, death, war, the arts, and rituals, and he also discusses the brief history of the Ohlones under the Spanish, Mexican, and American regimes.
Primates and Lagomorpha
by
This volume provides comprehensive overviews of the primate's and each lagomorph species'biology including palaeontology, physiology, genetics, reproduction and development, ecology, habitat, diet, mortality and age determination. Their economic significance and management, as well as future challenges for research and management are also addressed. Each chapter includes a distribution map, a photograph of the animal and key literature.
Primitive Man As Philosopher
by
The basic questions about the structure of the natural world, the nature of right and wrong, and the meaning of life and death, as well as basic methods of considering the truth or falsehood of the answers those questions give rise to, are, Radin argues, recognizably consistent across the whole range of human societies.
Stories from Saddle Mountain: Autobiographies of a Kiowa Family
by
Stories from Saddle Mountain recounts family stories that connected the Tongkeamhas, a Kiowa family, to the Saddle Mountain community for more than a century.
Survival of the Friendliest: Understanding Our Origins and Rediscovering Our Common Humanity
by
A powerful new theory of human nature suggests that our secret to success as a species is our unique friendliness.
Witches Almanac : Sorcerers, Witches and Magic From Ancient Rome to the Digital Age
by
Take a magical tour through the lives and times of 359 of the most important sorcerers and witches throughout history.
Behavioral Challenges in Early Childhood Settings
by
Children can experience feelings they don't understand causing them to act out. This Redleaf Quick Guide is filled with information on how to respond to an array of 12 common behavioral challenges including aggression, defiance, and separation anxiety, and offers prevention tips and developmental information that may affect young children's behavior.
Family Engagement in Early Childhood Settings
by
Offers all programs, including family child care, center-based and school-based programs, strategies for building or enhancing interactions, engagement, expectations, communication and participation with families.
Guidance for Every Child
by
Tying together the theory and practice of child guidance and behavior in clear and accessible ways, this book provides educators and caregivers actionable best practices to teach children healthy emotional and social development.
Inclusion Includes Us : Building Bridges and Removing Barriers in Early Childhood Classrooms
by
Inclusion Includes Us seeks to replace barriers between early childhood educators and their students with an understanding that every person in the classroom has a unique combination of needs, strengths, and preferences. This book will help early childhood educators reflect on how they view themselves and others in terms of both culture and abilities, offering concrete ideas for connecting with children of all cultures and abilities and creating a sense of belonging for everyone.
Infant-Toddler Social Studies
by
As infants become toddlers, their expanding sense of self, growing motor, language, and cognitive skills provide opportunities for learning more about the physical and social world around them. This book is a valuable resource for advancing a child's sense of self, cultural identity, social relationships, and connectedness to community through developmentally appropriate activities.
Open-Ended Art for Young Children
by
Goes beyond the basics to highlight why the field of early childhood education advocates for open-ended art, and explain how to adapt to new ways of thinking about art.
Playing to Learn: The Role of Play in the Early Years
by
Using case studies drawn from all over the world, Smidt challenges some of the prevailing myths relating to play and pays close attention to what it is that early years professionals need to do to interpet the play, understand its purpose for the child and sometimes extend it. Attention is paid to the close links that play has with creativity, and the author also highlights the importance of being able to explain to colleagues, parents and even those in government, why play matters so much in terms of learning and development.
Teaching and Learning with Infants and Toddlers
by
Explicit examples that illustrate how to teach in ways that respect how infants learn. A new in-depth section describing how to plan curriculum by observing, documenting, and interpreting infants' play and interactions. Examples of curriculum planning and assessment that align well with state and national performance standards and curriculum frameworks.
Teaching off Trail: My Classroom's Nature Transformation Through Play
by
In his own classroom, Peter brought learning outside by creating a nature kindergarten program that emphasizes community partnerships, service learning, and meaningful and memorable experiences in the outdoors. Teaching Off Trail aims to inspire educators, administrators, and parents across all levels to turn their outrage for today's educational system into outreach that promotes passionate and purposeful problem-solving.
Worksheets Don't Grow Dendrites
by
Learn how to: Incorporate interactive fun to your existing lessons, including field trips, games, humor, and even music and rap ; Use graphic organizers and word webs to solidify lessons visually ; Facilitate innovative methods of project-based learning ; You'll also benefit from new sample lesson plans, activities, and illustrations that reflect the latest research on how students' brains develop and function.
The Coming Wave: Technology, Power, and the Twenty-first Century's Greatest Dilemma
by
An urgent warning of the unprecedented risks that AI and other fast-developing technologies pose to global order, and how we might contain them while we have the chance—from a co-founder of the pioneering artificial intelligence company DeepMind and current CEO of Microsoft AI
Learn Computer Forensics: Your One-stop Guide to Searching, Analyzing, Acquiring, and Securing Digital Evidence
by
By the end of this book, you will have developed a clear understanding of how to acquire, analyze, and present digital evidence, like a proficient computer forensics investigator.
Extreme Wildfire Events and Disasters
by
Under the guidance of its expert editors, the book highlights new ways to prevent and respond to extreme wildfire events and disasters through sustainable development, thus revealing better management methods and increasing protection of both the natural environment and the vulnerable communities within it.
Fundamentals of Fire Fighter Skills and Hazardous Materials Response
by
Information relating to fire fighter health and safety has been revised and updated to include behavioral and physical health awareness topics and statistics.
This Is Wildfire: How to Protect Yourself, Your Home, and Your Community in the Age of Heat
by
A practical guide for living with wildfire, including essential history and science, actions you can take to protect your home, and guiding principles for life in an increasingly fiery future.
Wildland Fire Fighter: Principles and Practice
by
From wildland fire service history, to safety, to water supply, to firing operations, this single manual covers everything an NFPA Wildland Fire Fighter I and Wildland Fire Fighter II (NWCG Fire Fighter Type 2 and 1) needs to know.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide, 5th Ed
by
Effectively balances a practical focus with the latest scientific information, serving the needs of consumers and health professionals alike. Opting for flexibility over rigid dos and don'ts, it allows readers to personalize their own paths to healthier living through simple strategies.
Anxious Eaters : Why We Fall for Fad Diets
by
Chrzan and Cargill bring together anthropology, psychology, and nutrition to explore what these programs promise yet rarely fulfill for dieters. They demonstrate how fad diets help people cope with widespread anxieties and offer tantalizing glimpses of attainable self-transformation.
Digital Communication in Medical Practice
by
Discusses how electronic medical records and personal health records now digitize patient information and make it accessible for review and easy to update by both doctors and patients.
Empowering Teen Mental Fitness: A Guide for Managing Addiction, Eating Disorders, OCD, and Trauma
by
Self-care information and strategies for common mental health challenges to help teens manage their mental health around Addiction, Eating Disorders, OCD, and Trauma.
Empowering Teen Mental Fitness: A Guide for Managing ADHD/ADD, Bullying, PTSD, and Social Media
by
Self-care information and strategies for common mental health challenges to help teens manage their mental health around ADHD/ADD, Bullying, PTSD, and Social Media.
Empowering Teen Mental Fitness: A Guide for Managing Anxiety, Depression, Stress, and Suicide
by
Self-care information and strategies for common mental health challenges to help teens manage their mental health around Anxiety, Depression, Stress, and Suicide.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health
by
A one-stop source for information that covers all aspects of environmental health, including recent and historic environmental health events, environmentally related health conditions and diseases, Important public health practices, environmental terms, and significant organizations and legislation. It offers a global perspective on environmental health, plus recent efforts by scientists, urban planners, and legislators to create healthy urban environments.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health
by
Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.
Homelessness and Mental Health
by
Provides an overview of the connection between homelessness and mental health around the globe. Over 27 chapters it offers up-to-date research and policy evidence with an emphasis on developing models of social care and rehabilitation at a local level that enable easy access to mental health services.
Nutrition Essentials: Practical Applications
by
Equips students with the knowledge and know-how to navigate the wealth of health and nutritional information (an misinformation) available to them, and determine how to incorporate it into their everyday lives.
Oxford Handbook of Nutrition and Dietetics
by
Covers the entire life cycle from preconception to old age. As the general public is increasingly aware of the food they eat and the role nutrition plays in health and disease, health professionals must have the kind of knowledge in this book at their fingertips.
Phillips's Manual of IV Therapeutics
by
The perfect resource for any setting where infusion therapy skills are required! Its popular, self-paced approach makes it ideal for classroom and clinical settings as it progresses from the basics to advanced techniques while incorporating theory into clinical application. A focus on evidence-based practice in a streamlined format continues to make this the manual of choice in a rapidly advancing field
The Profession of Dietetics
by
Using a student-centered approach, this text enables readers to easily navigate the highly competitive and often complex path to personal and professional success in the field. It features a comprehensive history of the profession, a thorough examination of credentialing and education requirements, and an analysis of the profession's future.
Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination
by
Prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam with this complete review! Often called the best NCLEX® exam review book ever, Saunders Comprehensive Review for the NCLEX-RN® Examination reviews all nursing content areas related to the current test plan.
Black Elk Speaks
by
Black Elk's searing visions of the unity of humanity and Earth, conveyed by John G. Neihardt, have made this book a classic that crosses multiple genres. Whether appreciated as the poignant tale of a Lakota life, as a history of a Native nation, or as an enduring spiritual testament, Black Elk Speaks is unforgettable.
Floods, Famines, and Emperors: El Nino and the Fate of Civilizations
by
Archaeologist Brian Fagan shows that short-term climate shifts have been a major -- and hitherto unrecognized -- force in history. El Nino-driven droughts have brought on the collapse of dynasties in Egypt; El Nino monsoon failures have caused historic famines in India; and El Nino floods have destroyed whole civilizations in Peru. Other short-term climate changes may have caused the mysterious abandonment of the Anasazi dwellings in the American Southwest and the collapse of the ancient Maya empire, as well as changed the course of European history.
Only the Clothes on Her Back
by
An innovative recasting of US legal and economic history through the power of clothing for those who lacked power and status in American society. What can dresses, bedlinens, waistcoats, pantaloons, shoes, and kerchiefs tell us about the legal status of the least powerful members of American society? In the hands of eminent historian Laura F. Edwards, these textiles tell a revealing story of ordinary people and how they made use of their material goods'economic and legal value in the period between the Revolution and the Civil War.
A Patriot's History of the United States
by
America's discovery, founding, and development are reexamined with an appreciation for the elements of public virtue, personal liberty, and private property that make this nation uniquely successful.
Bless Me, Ultima
by
Antonio Marez is six years old when Ultima comes to stay with his family in New Mexico. She is a curandera, one who cures with herbs and magic. Under her wise wing, Tony will probe the family ties that bind and rend him, and he will discover himself in the magical secrets of the pagan past--a mythic legacy as palpable as the Catholicism of Latin America. And at each life turn there is Ultima, who delivered Tony into the world... and will nurture the birth of his soul.
Death of a Salesman
by
In the person of Willy Loman, the aging, failing salesman who makes his living riding on a smile and a shoeshine, Arthur Miller redefined the tragic hero as a man whose dreams are at once insupportably vast and dangerously insubstantial.
The Distaff Side: Representing the Female in Homer's Odyssey
by
Feminine in orientation, but not narrowly feminist in approach, this first interdisciplinary work on the Odyssey's female characters will have a broad audience amongst scholars and students working in classical studies, iconography and art history, women's studies, mythology, and ancient history.
Mermaids: The Myths, Legends, and Lore
by
Inside this captivating collection, complete with beautiful illustrations throughout, you'll discover the myths surrounding these enigmatic beings, explore the common symbols associated with them, and learn tales of merfolk from around the world.
Native Son
by
Native Son tells the story of this young black man caught in a downward spiral after he kills a young white woman in a brief moment of panic. Set in Chicago in the 1930s, Richard Wright's powerful novel is an unsparing reflection on the poverty and feelings of hopelessness experienced by people in inner cities across the country and of what it means to be black in America.
One Hundred Years of Solitude
by
Outstanding, in-depth scholarship by renowned literary critics. A great starting point for students seeking an introduction to One Hundred Years of Solitude and the critical discussions surrounding it.
On Writing: A Memoir Of The Craft
by
Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer's craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. King's advice is grounded in his vivid memories from childhood through his emergence as a writer, from his struggling early career to his widely reported, near-fatal accident in 1999—and how the inextricable link between writing and living spurred his recovery.
The Razor's Edge
by
Larry Darrell is a young American in search of the absolute. The progress of this spiritual odyssey involves him with some of Maugham's most brillant characters - his fiancee Isabel, whose choice between love and wealth have lifelong repercussions, and Elliot Templeton, her uncle, a classic expatriate American snob.
Reanimating Shakespeare's Othello in Post-Racial America
by
This book analyses representations of Othello across genres and media including podcasts, television, film, graphic novels and performance, and argues that these representational choices of Othellos perpetuate varying racial frameworks that advance antiblack or antiracist versions of the play. By elucidating the presence and function of these competing frameworks, it illuminates and explains how to wrestle with the intersections between Shakespeare, Othello and the American racial imaginary in appropriations, scholarship, the classroom and beyond.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Journalism
by
This set covers all significant dimensions of journalism, such as print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The encyclopedia consists of signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists.
The Sentences That Create Us: Crafting a Writer's Life in Prison
by
Centering in the philosophy that writers in prison can be as vibrant and capable as writers on the outside, and have much to offer readers everywhere, The Sentences That Create Us aims to propel writers in prison to launch their work into the world beyond the walls, while also embracing and supporting the creative community within the walls.
Turn on the Words! : Deaf Audiences, Captions, and the Long Struggle for Access
by
Lang documents the struggles and strategies over nearly a century to make spoken communication accessible through the use of captioning technology. Lang describes the legislation, programs, and people who contributed great ingenuity and passion over decades to realize widespread access to captions, one breakthrough at a time.
The Woman Warrior: Memoirs of a Girlhood Among Ghosts
by
As a girl, Kingston lives in two confounding worlds: the California to which her parents have immigrated and the China of her mother's “talk stories.” The fierce and wily women warriors of her mother's tales clash jarringly with the harsh reality of female oppression out of which they come. Kingston's sense of self emerges in the mystifying gaps in these stories, which she learns to fill with stories of her own. A warrior of words, she forges fractured myths and memories into an incandescent whole, achieving a new understanding of her family's past and her own present.
You Can't Make This Stuff Up: The Complete Guide to Writing Creative Nonfiction -- From Memoir to Literary Journalism and Everything in Between
by
Gutkind, the go-to expert for all things creative nonfiction, offers his unvarnished wisdom to help you craft the best writing possible. Frank, to-the-point, and always entertaining, Gutkind describes and illustrates every aspect of the genre.
The Righteous Mind: Why Good People Are Divided by Politics and Religion
by
Examines the origins of morality, overturning the view that evolution made us fundamentally selfish creatures. But rather than arguing that we are innately altruistic, he makes a more subtle claim--that we are fundamentally groupish. It is our groupishness, he explains, that leads to our greatest joys, our religious divisions, and our political affiliations.
The Cosmic Oasis: The Remarkable Story of Earth's Biosphere
by
Examines life on Earth, from our earliest interactions with animals and plants to our absolute domination of biology. It follows our developing understanding of life's origins, its remarkable complexity, and its interactions with the air, oceans and land. It also shows how patterns of diversity across the surface of the planet evolved, and how humans are now homogenising these, degrading both biodiversity and the space in which life can exist.
Dawn at Mineral King Valley: The Sierra Club, the Disney Company, and the Rise of Environmental Law
by
The story behind the historic Mineral King Valley case, which reveals how the Sierra Club battled Disney's ski resort development and launched a new environmental era in America.
Determined: A Science of Life Without Free Will
by
Determined offers a marvelous synthesis of what we know about consciousness—the tight weave between reason and emotion and between stimulus and response in the moment and over a life. One by one, Sapolsky takes out all the major arguments for free will, cutting a path through the thickets of chaos theory and quantum physics. But as Sapolsky acknowledges, it's sometimes impossible to uncouple from our zeal to judge people, including ourselves.
Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Futures
by
Fungi throw our concepts of individuality and even intelligence into question. They are metabolic masters, earth makers, and key players in most of life's processes. They can change our minds, heal our bodies, and even help us remediate environmental disaster. By examining fungi on their own terms, Sheldrake reveals how these extraordinary organisms—and our relationships with them—are changing our understanding of how life works.
The Sounds of Life: How Digital Technology Is Bringing Us Closer to the Worlds of Animals and Plants
by
At once meditative and scientific, The Sounds of Life shares fascinating and surprising stories of nonhuman sound, interweaving insights from technological innovation and traditional knowledge. We meet scientists using sound to protect and regenerate endangered species from the Great Barrier Reef to the Arctic and the Amazon.
100 American Horror Films
by
Grant provides an overview of the genre's history, a context for the films addressed in the individual entries, and discusses the specific relations between American culture and horror. All of the entries are informed by the question of what makes the specific film being discussed a horror film, the importance of its place within the history of the genre, and, where relevant, the film is also contextualized within specifically American culture and history.
Beer and Society: How We Make Beer and Beer Makes Us
by
Drawing on leading sociological and psychological perspectives, the authors argue that our enduring relationship with beer reflects the very roots of our society, including its collective values and norms, power structures, and persistent inequities based on race, gender, sexuality, and social class.
Boarding School Voices: Carlisle Indian School Students Speak
by
An anthology of mostly unpublished writing by former students of the Carlisle Indian Industrial School and a study of that writing. The boarding schools'ethnocidal practices have become a metaphor for the worst evils of colonialism, a specifiable source for the ills that beset Native communities today. But the fuller story is one not only of suffering and pain, loss and abjection, but also of ingenious agency, creative syntheses, and unimagined adaptations
The Body Is Not an Apology: The Power of Radical Self-Love
by
Systems of oppression thrive off our inability to make peace with difference and injure the relationship we have with our own bodies.The Body Is Not an Apology offers radical self-love as the balm to heal the wounds inflicted by these violent systems.
LGBTQ Digital Cultures : A Global Perspective
by
Emphasizing an intersectional and transnational approach, this collection examines how social media and digital technologies have impacted the sphere of LGBTQ activism, advocacy, education, empowerment, identity, protest, and self-expression.
The Movement for Black Lives
by
Leading scholars tackle such themes as:'Black Lives Matter'as a political speech act, M4BL's conception of the value of Black lives, the gender dynamics of the Movement, the relation of M4BL to other Black liberation movements and transitional justice movements, the Movement's new forms of leadership and organization, and the impact of racism on the normative assessment of the criminal justice system.
Navigating Intersectionality: How Race, Class, and Gender Overlap
by
In an era of political and cultural turmoil, it seems like the United States is more divided than ever along lines of identity. How are our experiences shaped by our race, gender, and class? How do these identities intersect? This textbook will give students in grades 7 to 12 a framework for navigating intersectionality, and understanding how we can use this concept to enrich our understanding of identity, power, and justice in society.
Soundies and the Changing Image of Black Americans on Screen
by
Using previously unknown archival materials—including letters, corporate memos, and courtroom testimony—to trace the precarious path of Soundies, Delson presents an incisive pop-culture snapshot of race relations during and just after World War II.
Theory and Practice of Counseling and Psychotherapy
by
This wide-ranging text provides a thorough introduction to major theories including psychoanalytic, Adlerian, existential, person-centered, Gestalt, reality, behavior, cognitive-behavior, family systems, feminist, postmodern and integrative approaches.
Asian Art
by
Illuminates the rich history of Asian Art from ancient times to the present Asian Art provides students with an accessible introduction to the history of Asian Art. Using a range of analytical skills, readers will learn to recognize patterns of continuity and change between the arts and cultures of various regions comprising Asia.
Business Analytics
by
Clear, step-by-step instructions help students learn how to use Excel as well as powerful, but easy-to-use software, such as JMP Pro and the Excel Add-in Analytic Solver.
QuickBooks Online for Accounting 2024 (7E)
by
Create a self-paced, self-directed learning environment for mastering QuickBooks® Online for Accounting (QBOA) with Owen's Quickbooks® Online for Accounting, 7th Edition. Perfect as a supplement to your accounting course or as a practical tool for today's business owners, this edition focuses exclusively on QBOA as users review financial accounting and reporting.
Financial and Managerial Accounting
by
The authors clearly connect fundamental accounting concepts to real businesses today. Each chapter begins with a real-world company opener that is linked to applicable content throughout the chapter. In addition, new Certified Management Accountant (CMA) exam questions prepare you for professional success.
Infants, Toddlers, and Caregivers: A Curriculum of Respectful, Responsive, Relationship-Based Care and Education
by
Respect is a key component of the curriculum that Infants, Toddlers, and Caregivers advocates. This textbook consistently outlines well-established practices related to sensitive care and program planning that are designed to promote well-being and identity formation in infants and toddlers. Appreciating diversity, cultural and linguistic difference, and inclusion have grown in significance with each edition, and are reflected in positive, non-biased terminology throughout the textbook.
Baumann's Cosmetic Dermatology 3E
by
This title covers the field of cosmetic dermatology including medications, cosmeceuticals, and procedures in a simple and easy way with clear prose and ample illustrations and figures.
Hartman's Nursing Assistant Care
by
Within Hartman's Nursing Assistant Care: Long-Term Care, you'll find clearly written care guidelines for working in long-term care, including OBRA requirements and state regulations. The textbook and accompanying workbook, instructor's guide, and online videos emphasize the importance of observing and reporting and providing person-centered, professional care.
Lab Manual: Understanding Food: Principles and Preparation 5E
by
Understanding Food: Principles and Preparation thoroughly explores the science of food through core material on food selection and evaluation, food safety and food chemistry. It is ideal for an undergraduate course that covers the basic elements of food preparation, food service and food science.
The Simulated Administrative Medical Office
by
Get hands-on practice with 100 realistic medical office tasks! The Simulated Administrative Medical Office, 2nd Edition walks you through 10 days on the job as an administrative medical assistant working in the front office of a medical practice.
The Course of Mexican History 10E
by
A comprehensive survey of Mexican history from the pre-Columbian period to the early twenty-first century, including coverage of Mexico's politics, economics, and culture.
Arguing about Literature: a Brief Guide (1e)
by
Arguing about Literature features many real-world arguments with instruction on how to analyze those arguments and develop your own arguments in response. Above all it immerses you in great literature, including fiction by Flannery O'Connor and Jamaica Kincaid, poetry by Langston Hughes and Louise Erdrich, drama by William Shakespeare and Lynn Nottage, and essays by Henry David Thoreau and Richard Rodriguez.
A Brief Guide to Arguing about Literature
by
More and more, first-year writing courses foreground skills of critical analysis and argumentation. In response, A Brief Guide to Arguing about Literature first hones students' analytical skills through instruction in close critical reading of texts; then, it shows them how to turn their reading into well-supported and rhetorically effective argumentative writing.
The Collected Stories of Isaac Bashevis Singer
by
This collection is a selection of forty-seven stories chosen by the Nobel-Prize-winning author Isaac Bashevis Singer, from eight prior collections from 1957-1981.
The Glass Menagerie
by
"More than fifty years after telling his story of a family whose lives form a triangle of quiet desperation, Williams's mellifluous voice still resonates deeply and universally."
Pursuing Happiness: A Bedford Spotlight Reader (2E)
by
Pursuing Happiness: A Bedford Spotlight Reader explores questions around the central concept of what makes us happy: What is the psychology of happiness? Can we make or buy our own happiness? How should we question what makes us happy? How can we make ourselves and others happy? Does technology make us happy? Readings by philosophers, psychologists, spiritual leaders, ethicists, economists, and others take up these issues and more.
A World of Ideas: Essential Readings for College Writers
by
Use the ideas from some of the world's greatest thinkers to critically discuss their ideas while learning how to effectively communicate your own, in writing, with World of Ideas.
Calculus and Its Applications
by
Prerequisite skills diagnostic test -- Functions, graphs, and models -- Differentiation -- Exponential and logarithmic functions -- Applications of differentiation -- Integration -- Applications of integration -- Functions of several variables -- Cumulative review.
Music: an Appreciation (10E Brief)
by
Music: An Appreciation remains the time-tested solution for welcoming non-majors to the art of listening to great music. Now, Roger Kamien places a renewed focus on learning the elements of music, fostering each student's unique path to listening and understanding. Kamien equips students with the language, tools, and listening skills required to sustain a life-long enthusiasm for music. The tenth edition places a particular focus on students, giving them step-by-step help as they learn the elements of music, an increased number of musical selections to experience, and an enhanced Connect and SmartBook experience.
The Making of America: The Substance and Meaning of the Constitution
by
For many years in the United States, there has been a gradual drifting away from the Founding Fathers' original success formula. This has resulted in some of their most unique contributions for a free and prosperous society becoming lost or misunderstood. Therefore, there has been a need to review the history and development of the making of America in order to recapture the brilliant precepts which made Americans the first free people in modern times. The Making of America provides a wealth of material on the Founding Father's intentions when drafting the American Constitution.
Life-Span Development
by
This edition of Life-Span Development provides extensive learning connections throughout the chapters. The learning system connects the chapter opening outline, learning goals for the chapter, mini-chapter maps that open each main section of the chapter, Review Connect, and Reflect questions at the end of each main section, and the chapter summary at the end of each chapter. In this edition, real-life connections are explicitly made through the chapter opening vignette, Connecting Development to Life, the Milestones program that helps students watch life as it unfolds, and Connecting with Careers.
Biological Psychology
by
Introduce the latest developments in biological psychology today with the most widely used text for this area of study: Dr. James Kalat's Biological Psychology, 14E. A best-seller for more than four decades, this book combines a high level of scholarship and thought-provoking content with a clear writing style that makes biological psychology understandable and relevant to psychology students as well as biology and pre-med majors. Amusing anecdotes, quotes from contemporary researchers, precise examples and try-it-yourself activities help convey the excitement behind biological explanations of behavior. Dr Kalat introduces breakthrough findings with more than 500 new research references as recent as 2022. Students explore new insights into brain functions, autism, antidepressants and mental enhancement and weight-loss drugs as well as the latest on auditory changes, pain mechanisms and the olfactory effects of COVID-19.
Human Anatomy 9E
by
Using a functional anatomy theme, this text presents human anatomy as a well-illustrated "story" with the right amount of detail that learners can understand at an introductory level. Analogies and comparative descriptions make anatomical structures more memorable and understandable, and explain how the shape and composition of structures allow them to perform their functions. The 9th edition features new exercises and questions that help students learn and use anatomical language and interpret real-world medical images while learning basic human anatomy. Building on the functional anatomy approach of previous editions, selected illustrated tables have been enhanced to tell a more cohesive and logical "story" of human anatomy.
Make Prayers to the Raven
by
Portrayal of the Koyukon people and their natural surroundings based on sixteen months of living in the villages of Huslia and Hughes, Alaska between 1968 to 1972.
Native American Firsts
by
Indigenous Firsts: A History of Native American Achievement and Events recognizes and honors 2,000 barrier-breaking trailblazers and history-making events in multiple fields-arts, entertainment, business, sovereignty, education, government, religion, science, sports, music, and more.
A Heart That Works
by
In 2016, Rob Delaney's one-year-old son, Henry, was diagnosed with a brain tumor. Henry's illness was a cataclysm that changed everything about their lives. Amid the hospital routine, surgeries, and brutal treatments, they found a newfound community of nurses, aides, caregivers, and fellow parents contending with the unthinkable. Two years later, Henry died, and his family watched their world fall away to reveal the things that matter most.
Cadillac Desert
by
This history of water rights in the American West focuses on the political corruption and intrigue, including the rivalry between the Bureau of Reclamation and the U.s. Army Corps of Engineers.
The Hardest Year: A Love Story in Letters During the Vietnam War
by
The Hardest Year is a true story based on over 300 handwritten letters between newlyweds Carole and Bill Wagener. Nineteen-year-old Carole marries her college sweetheart one day before he leaves Wisconsin to serve in the U.S. Army in South Vietnam. At the same time, she transfers to UW-Madison to complete her degree in physical therapy. As Carole navigates the antiwar campus occupied by protestors and National Guardsmen, she and her husband struggle to navigate married life from across the ocean. Their intimate letters chronicle the ups and downs of a new marriage set against a backdrop of war and social unrest.
Susan B. Anthony Slept Here: A Guide to American Women's Landmarks
by
A state-by-state guide to historic sites, monuments, memorials, markers, homes, gravesites, etc. associated with women who have made important contributions to American history.
Brief Interviews with Hideous Men
by
A collection of 23 stories, several of which deal with misunderstandings between men and women. In one, a man assumes that women find his mutilated arm sexy, in another a wife is inhibited in her lovemaking by fear that her husband will think she is a slut.
The Faerie Queene
by
Recounts the quests of knights as they struggled to achieve specific virtues.
Fire next time
by
Pt. 1. The fire next time / James Baldwin -- pt. 2. Connections. Burn, baby, burn / Jimmy Collier -- Whatever is necessary to protect ourselves, from Malcolm X, "The last speeches" -- Passing / Langston Hughes -- We shall overcome / President Lyndon B. Johnson -- After the revolution / Henry Louis Gates, Jr. -- A knowing so deep / Toni Morrison -- The saint / V.S. Pritchett -- pt. 3. James Baldwin (biographical sketch).
A Murder, Well-Scripted
by
This may be the most challenging of Logan's cases. When former child star and America's Sweetheart is kidnapped off the set of a Western film, a producer hires Logan to take on the case. However, complications soon arise, and he's now not only searching for a kidnapper but a crazed murderer as well. The suspects are plentiful, and the twists daunting as he weaves his way through a mystery teeming with deceit, jealousy, and greed. It's soon high noon for Logan as he faces the killer in a finale reminiscent of a classic Western showdown.
No Good Man
by
Cold metal of the gun chilled the side of her head as much as it froze her heart in place. The other soldier remained tense, ready to attack, but looking almost afraid to. Unerringly calm gaze of the man sitting across bore into her, waiting silently for her decision. She nodded, tightly, fearfully, wondering how he would be able to save her in this situation. And then: The sound of the cuffs unlocking.
The People That Were Never There
by
In 2034 the ever changing landscape of Earth has become the home of numerous variations of artificial intelligence, none more common than human androids. Malik has suffered more loss than most, but by chance his encounter with what he believes are aliens may have given him more than he could ever imagine. The People That Were Never There is an exploration into Malik’s journey and how one chance encounter could change the world.
Romola
by
One of George Eliot's most ambitious and imaginative novels, 'Romola' is set in Renaissance Florence during the turbulent years following the expulsion of the powerful Medici family when the zealous reformer Savonarola rose to control the city. At its heart is Romola, the devoted daughter of a blind scholar, married to the clever but ultimately treacherous Tito. Her husband's duplicity in both love and politics threatens to destroy everything she values, forcing her to break away and find her own path in life. Described by Eliot as 'written with my best blood, ' the story of Romola's intellectual and spiritual awakening is a compelling portrayal of a Utopian heroine.
Waiting for the Biblioburro/Esperando el Biblioburro
by
When a man brings to a remote village two burros, Alfa and Beto, loaded with books the children can borrow, Ana's excitement leads her to write a book of her own as she waits for the Biblioburro to return. Includes glossary of Spanish terms and a note on the true story of Columbia's Biblioburro and mobile libraries in other countries.
Ana ama las historias. Pero en su pequeño pueblo, hay pocos libros y ella ya los ha leído todos. Una mañana, Ana se despierta con el "clip-clop" de cascos y la maravillosa imagen de dos burros cargando una biblioteca repleta de todos los libros que una niña pequeña pueda desear.
Writing Creative Nonfiction
by
Whether you're looking to launch into a new professional career as a creative nonfiction writer, dabble in the genre as a pastime, start a personal blog, or simply get inside the mind of a creative nonfiction writer at work, you'll find much to learn from and enjoy in Writing Creative Nonfiction.
A Starter's Guide for Academic Library Leaders
by
Much like the chats you might have over coffee at a conference or with a mentor, these frank discussions will nourish you with nuts-and-bolts wisdom on a diverse range of academic library management issues. Between these covers you'll find guidance, ideas, and inspiration as you continue your leadership journey.
The Collected Works of C. G. Jung
by
Essays which state the fundamentals of Jung's psychological system: "On the Psychology of the Unconscious" and "The Relations Between the Ego and the Unconscious," with their original versions in an appendix.
Get Capone: The Secret Plot that Captured America's Most Wanted Gangster
by
Drawing on thousands of pages of recently discovered government documents, wiretap transcripts, and Al Capone's handwritten personal letters, "New York Times" bestselling author Jonathan Eig tells the dramatic story of the rise and fall of the nation's most notorious criminal in rich new detail.
Love Undetectable
by
In this new book, a powerful meditation on the spiritual effect AIDS has on friendship, love, sexuality, and American culture, we follow Sullivan on his path to survival. A practicing Catholic, Sullivan reflects on his faith in God, and expresses his bittersweet joy upon learning about new AIDS treatments that he believes led to the virus's recent transformation from a plague into a chronic illness.
Mating in Captivity
by
Medical Assisting
by
Clear and easy to understand, this streamlined edition now includes a complete, updated section on the structure and function of body systems with current medical terminology presented in context.
Introduction to Process Technology
by
Suitable for both aspiring process technicians and active process technology professionals, this wide-ranging guide provides a thorough grounding in the history, science, technology, equipment, systems, operations, and troubleshooting principles associated with modern manufacturing.
Process Technology
by
A full range of safety, health and environmental issues that relate to the process industry are thoroughly covered in this newly updated text.
America on Film: Representing Race, Class, Gender, and Sexuality at the Movies
by
America on Film is a lively introduction to issues of diversity as represented within the American cinema. The first synthetic and historical text of its kind, America on Film provides a comprehensive overview of the industrial, socio-cultural, and aesthetic factors that contribute to cinematic representations of race, class, gender, sexuality, and ability. The volume chronicles the cinematic history of various cultural groups, examines forces and institutions of bias, and stimulates discussion about the relationship between film and American national culture. The book is organized with a broad historical framework, with specific theoretical concepts--including film genre, auteurism, cultural studies, Orientalism, the "male gaze," feminism, and queer theory--integrated throughout. Each individual chapter features a concise overview of the topic at hand, a discussion of representative films, figures, and movements, and an in-depth analysis of a single film, including The Lion King, BlacKkKlansman, Crazy Rich Asians, The Florida Project, and Wonder Woman.
Deaf Again
by
Join Mark Drolsbaugh in his fascinating journey from hearing toddler ... to hard of hearing child ... to deaf adolescent ... and ultimately, to culturally deaf adult. The struggle to find one's place in the deaf community is challenging, as Mark finds, yet there is one interesting twist: both his parents are also deaf. Even though the deaf community has always been there for him, right under his nose, Drolsbaugh takes the unbeaten path and goes on a zany, lifelong search ... to become Deaf Again.
Pursuing Happiness
by
Does Spiritual Practice Lead to Happiness? -- What Are the Ethics of Happiness? -- What Makes People Happy? -- Do We Deserve to Be Happy? -- Can We Create Our Own Happiness?
Signing Naturally: Units 7-12, Student Workbook
by
This introductory workbook and DVDs supplement and reinforce classroom instruction in American Sign Language (ASL). Features cultural sections and profiles of famous deaf people. Accompanying DVDs include over seven hours of ASL video clips.
Thomas' Calculus
by
Thomas' Calculus goes beyond memorizing formulas and routine procedures to help you develop deeper understanding. It guides you to a level of mathematical proficiency, with additional support if needed through its clear and intuitive explanations, current applications and generalized concepts. Technology exercises in every section use the calculator or computer for solving problems, and Computer Explorations offer exercises requiring a computer algebra system like Maple or Mathematica. The 15th Edition adds exercises, revises figures and language for clarity, and updates many applications; new online chapters cover Complex Functions, Fourier Series and Wavelets.
Discovering Psychology
by
Discovering Psychology is the most effective book available for helping students develop scientific literacy and explore the real impact of psychology across the breadth of cultural diversity.
The Shallows : what the Internet is doing to our brains
by
A foundational book in one of the most important debates of our time: As we enjoy the internet's bounties, are we sacrificing our ability to read and think deeply? This 10th-anniversary edition includes a new afterword that brings the story up to date, with a deep examination of the cognitive and behavioral effects of smartphones and social media.
Chemistry: The Central Science
by
Unrivaled problem sets, notable scientific accuracy and currency, and remarkable clarity have made Chemistry: The Central Science the leading general chemistry text for more than a decade. Trusted, innovative, and calibrated, the text increases conceptual understanding and leads to greater student success in general chemistry by building on the expertise of the dynamic author team of leading researchers and award-winning teachers.
