This LibGuide is updated each time new materials (books, eBooks, audiovisual, etc.) are added to the Cerro Coso Library collection. Click a link to open an eBook or to find a physical item in the catalog. You will need your college login information to access electronic resources.
Check back frequently to discover more titles!
On Addiction
by
On Addiction is a collection of essays exploring a socio-cultural context of addiction and addiction sciences, complicating ethical questions of control and alienation in the face of addiction.
Unwired
by
Our society has a technology problem. Many want to disconnect from screens but can't help themselves. These days we spend more time online than ever. Some turn to self-help-measures to limit their usage, yet repeatedly fail, while parents feel particularly powerless to help their children. Unwired: Gaining Control over Addictive Technologies shows us a way out.
White Sports/Black Sports
by
Sports can serve as an inspirational example of what can be achieved through hard work and perseverance, regardless of one's race. However, race still plays a major role in sports, and sports are key agents of racial socialization.
Learning to Lead
by
In Learning to Lead, Jennifer R. Nájera explores the intersections of education and activism among undocumented students at the University of California, Riverside.
Family Violence and Abuse
by
A RUSA Outstanding Reference Source 2025 This two-volume encyclopedia surveys all aspects of violence and abuse in domestic/family environments, including specific types of abuse, laws and legal issues, and the impacts of abuse.
A Country Called Prison
by
Weaving together sociological and psychological principles, theories of political reform, and real-life stories from experiences working in prison and with at-risk families, Looman and Carl form a foundation of understanding to demonstrate that prison is a culture, not purely an institution made up of fences, building, and policies.
Precious Beyond Measure
by
An illustrated history of Korean ceramics from ancient origins to today. This book is a captivating, richly illustrated history of fired clay in Korea, spanning ancient times to the present day
Bringing the Montessori Approach to Your Early Years Practice
by
Have you ever wondered what the Montessori approach is all about and how it can be used to benefit the young children in your setting? This book explains how the Montessori approach works offering guidance on planning and assessment methods alongside practical activities for practitioners to try.
Differently Wired
by
A revolutionary book of practical advice and inspiration for parenting "differently wired" kids--kids who are challenged by anxiety, ADHD, Asperger's, giftedness, dyslexia, or other conditions. Filled with strategies and support, it will help every family discover newfound confidence, peace, and acceptance.
Space Policy for the Twenty-First Century
by
A foundational, accessible overview of space policy in the United States This book provides readers with the first comprehensive overview of major space policies in the United States and a framework through which to analyze them.
Exit Wounds
by
Turns the familiar story of trafficking across the US-Mexico border on its head, looking at firearms smuggled south from the United States to Mexico and their ricochet effects.
Hispanic Leadership in Higher Education
by
With respect to practical implications, this book will serve as the reference source for educational institutions to reevaluate and improve their Hispanic recruitment and leadership development programs targeting Hispanics for leadership positions ranging from faculty to administrative roles
Antimalarial Medicinal Plants
by
Antimalarial Medicinal Plants provides information on bioactive compounds and therapeutic potentials of several antimalarial plant species found around the globe.
Divergent Mind
by
Divergent Mind is a long-overdue, much-needed answer for women who have a deep sense that they are "different." Sharing real stories from women with ADHD, autism, synesthesia, misophonia, and more, Nerenberg explores how these brain variances present differently in women and dispels widely held misconceptions.
Nerdy, Shy, and Socially Inappropriate
by
Based on research recorded in her popular blog, Cynthia Kim's humorous, insider guide to Asperger Syndrome (ASD) explores the 'why' of ASD traits. Full of personal anecdotes, Kim explores how her perspective changed after diagnosis and offers strategies to help manage the quirks of ASD, including a section on the benefits of martial arts.
Odd Girl Out
by
Lyrical and lush, Odd Girl Out shows how being different doesn't mean being less, and proves that it is never too late for any of us to find our rightful place in the world.
Philosophical perspectives on psychedelic psychiatry
by
Philosophical Perspectives on Psychedelic Psychiatry addresses the fascinating philosophical questions raised by the renewed psychiatric use of psychedelics, with chapters from leading philosophers of mind, science, and psychiatry.
The Power of Prions
by
The remarkable family of proteins that can make us very ill-but can also be linked to long-term memory, immunity, and the origin of life Over the last decade, scientists have discovered the importance and widespread presence in the body of a remarkable family of proteins known as prion proteins
Wuhan
by
In Wuhan: How the COVID-19 Outbreak in China Spiraled Out of Control Dali L. Yang provides a definitive account of China's response to the Covid-19 outbreak in Wuhan
The Greeks
by
In The Greeks, Beaton traces this history from the Bronze Age Mycenaeans who built powerful fortresses at home and strong trade routes abroad, to the dramatic Eurasian conquests of Alexander the Great, to the pious Byzantines who sought to export Christianity worldwide, to today's Greek diaspora, which flourishes on five continents. The product of decades of research, this is the story of the Greeks and their global impact told as never before.
Household and City Organization at Olynthus
by
In this book Nicholas Cahill analyzes the results of the excavations to reconstruct the daily lives of the ancient Greeks, the organization of their public and domestic space, and the economic and social patterns in the city.
The Plague of War
by
A fast-paced narrative of one of antiquity's most famous clashes, The Plague of War is a must-read for history enthusiasts of all ages.
Serving Athena
by
The first full-length treatment of the Panathenaia, the most important festival in ancient Athens. Investigates how individuals participated in this long-lived, all-Athenian celebration, and how their participation constructed and fostered both group and social identity. Essential for anyone working on ancient Greece and especially Greek religion.
Truth and Power in American Archaeology
by
In Truth and Power in American Archaeology, archaeologist and ethnohistorian Alice Beck Kehoe presents her key writings where archaeological fieldwork, ethnohistorical analysis, postcolonial anthropology, and feminist analysis intersect to provide students and scholars of anthropology an overview of the methodological and ethical issues in Americanist archaeology in the last thirty years.
An Asperger's Guide to Public Speaking
by
This practical guide to effective public speaking for professionals with Asperger Syndrome (Autism Spectrum Disorder) provides tailored advice on using your Asperger strengths to your advantage and overcoming areas of challenge to find your public speaking voice.
Demanding Witness
by
Demanding Witness investigates how the trauma of female characters is represented and received in four Greek tragedies about homecoming: Aeschylus’ Agamemnon, Sophocles’ Women of Trachis, and Euripides’ Heracles and Helen.
The Exorcist Effect
by
'The Exorcist Effect' examines the relationship between horror films and religious culture, focusing on the period from 1968 to the present.
From Hittite to Homer
by
This book provides a groundbreaking reassessment of the prehistory of Homeric epic.
Nightmares in the Dream Sanctuary
by
In 2008, Waltz with Bashir shocked the world by presenting a bracing story of war in what seemed like the most unlikely of formats--an animated film. Yet as Donna Kornhaber shows in this pioneering new book, the relationship between animation and war is actually as old as film itself. The world's very first animated movie was made to solicit.
Poet, Mystic, Widow, Wife
by
An invaluable reassessment of what we think we know about the daily lives of women in medieval Europe. Poet, Mystic, Widow, Wife charts the lives and times of four medieval women writers--Marie de France, a poet; Julian of Norwich, a mystic and anchoress; Christine de Pizan, a widow and court writer; and Margery Kempe, a no-good wife--who all bucked convention and forged their own paths.
The Short Novels of John Steinbeck
by
A Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition of Steinbeck's brilliant short novels Collected here for the first time in a deluxe paperback volume are six of John Steinbeck's most widely read and beloved novels.
White Terror
by
The book fills a stark gap in existing horror literature while tackling a topic featured prominently in popular media by centering issues of racial resentment, white fragility, and white guilt in our examination of horror cinema.
Fundamentals of California Litigation for Paralegals
by
Landing the Paris Climate Agreement
by
From the U.S.lead negotiator on climate change, an inside account of the seven-year negotiation that culminated in the Paris Climate Agreement in 2015--and where the international climate effort needs to go from here.
The Most Powerful Court in the World
by
The book shows that from the beginning, the Supreme Court has always been tasked with deciding high-profile cases involving issues that a great many people cared deeply about, along with a much larger number of obscure cases raising technical questions of little interest to most people.
Civility: Cultivating Public Virtues
by
A theological study of public virtue that responds to the social challenges and public dysfunctions in current European and North American contexts by identifying and exploring the most critical public values and social virtues.
The Sacrament of Same-Sex Marriage
by
Drawing on interviews with twenty-two same-sex, married couples, this book argues that the Catholic tradition should expand its definition of sacramental marriage to include same-sex couples. Stories from these couples illustrate that the church would benefit from a deeper commitment to practices of radical hospitality and sanctuary
Coming Together
by
n Coming Together, Ryan Powell captures the social and political vitality of the first wave of movies made by, for, and about male-desiring men in the United States between World War II and the 1980s.
Evaluating Campaign Finance Oversight
by
As campaign finance laws have weakened in the US, so has the Federal Election Commission's ability to enforce them. The agency is underfunded and often has too few commissioners present, and this has led to a partisan imbalance that has favored the Republicans and allowed them to dominate decision-making.
Polis
by
Polis proposes a panoramic account of the ancient Greek city-state, its diverse forms, and enduring characteristics over the span of a millennium. In this landmark book, John Ma provides a new history of the polis , charting its spread and development into a common denominator for hundreds of communities from the Black Sea to North Africa and from the Near East to Italy.
The Tech Coup
by
In The Tech Coup, Marietje Schaake offers a behind-the-scenes account of how technology companies crept into nearly every corner of our lives and our governments.
Awkwardness
by
Awkwardness offers an account of the moral psychology and normative psychology of awkwardness.
AI and I
by
A concise and illuminating history of the field of artificial intelligence from one of its earliest and most respected pioneers.AI & I is an intellectual history of the field of artificial intelligence from the perspective of one of its first practitioners, Eugene Charniak.
AI Morality
by
There is no more important issue at present than artificial intelligence. AI has begun to penetrate almost every sphere of human activity. It will disrupt our lives entirely. David Edmonds brings together a team of leading philosophers to explore some of the urgent moral concerns we should have about this revolution.
Eco-Restoration of Polluted Environment
by
The book "Eco-Restoration of Polluted Environment: A Biological Perspective" explores recent advances in the field of biological strategies for the remediation of polluted environments including soil, water, and air.
Treewilding
by
Discover the intricacies of global forest restoration in Treewilding. Exploring the interplay of cutting-edge science and Indigenous knowledge, this engaging book navigates challenges, greenwashing pitfalls and the possible solutions shaping the future of ecosystems and our relationship with nature.
Blueprint for Revolution
by
Through examples such as a protest of Lego men in Siberia (when flesh-and-blood people would have been shot), and a boycott of cottage cheese in Israel to challenge price inflation, Popovic tells stories of the true and sometimes ingeniously clever ways in which non-violent resistance has achieved its means. From Occupy Wall Street to Tahrir Square, and from Nelson Mandela to Harvey Milk, the tales Popovic tells are hilarious, accessible, inspiring, at times outrageous, and always about ordinary people achieving extraordinary things.
The Cancel Culture Panic
by
Fear of cancel culture has gripped the world, and it turns out to be an old fear in a new get-up. In this incisive new work, Adrian Daub analyzes the global spread of cancel culture discourse as a moral panic, showing that, though its object is fuzzy, talk of cancel culture in global media has become a preoccupation of an embattled liberalism.
Falsehoods Fly: Why Misinformation Spreads and How to Stop It
by
Offering a deep and rich account of the nature and workings of information, Falsehoods Fly provides practical, concrete strategies to stop the creation and spread of misinformation.
Firebrands
by
Firebrands: The Untold Story of Four Women Who Made and Unmade Prohibition by Gioia Diliberto explores the pivotal roles of four influential women during the Prohibition era in the United States.
Immigrant Women in Athens
by
This leading-edge volume advances the study of women beyond their sexual status and breaks down the ideological constraints that both Victorians and feminist scholars reacting to them have historically relied upon throughout the study of women in antiquity.
The Question of Unworthy Life
by
Exposing the driving forces behind the Third Reich's first genocide and its persistent legacy today, The Question of Unworthy Life recovers the stories of the unsung advocates for disability rights who challenged the aggressive victimization of the disabled and developed alternative approaches to cognitive impairment based on ideals of equality, mutuality, and human possibility.
Fundamentals of Case Management Practice
by
Introduction to Criminology
by
Introduction to Criminology: Why Do They Do It? applies the dominant theories in the existing criminological literature as to why people commit crimes.
Kids Like Us
by
A guide to exploring the many differences between all of us and how to teach children to respect and embrace those differences, Kids Like Us shows how teaching young children can be more effective with story-telling, problem solving, and positive feedback.
Rethinking Early Childhood Education
by
This anthology collects inspiring stories about social justice teaching with young children. Included here is outstanding writing from childcare teachers, early-grade public school teachers, scholars, and parents.
Law Practice Management
by
Sophie's World
by
One day fourteen-year-old Sophie Amundsen comes home from school to find in her mailbox two notes, each with a question: 'Who are you?' and 'Where does the world come from?' From this irresistible beginning, Sophie becomes obsessed with questions that take her far beyond what she knows of her Norwegian village. Through successive letters, she enrolls in a kind of correspondence course, covering Socrates to Sartre, with a mysterious philosopher, while also receiving letters addressed to another girl.
Animal Allegories
by
"The bas reliefs in this book highlight themes and questions related to humankind’s relationship to animals. The future course of the Earth’s biosphere will be determined by our actions and as a fellow human and artist, I seek to contribute to the decades-long effort to make people aware of the effects of our choices on the environment and the animals around us."--Amazon Description.
Mies Van der Rohe
by
In this book, renowned architectural historian Dietrich Neumann presents a new, critical look at Mies and complicates the established narrative about him. Diverging from the reverential posture of many existing accounts, Neumann insists on the importance of the contemporary context--social, political, and architectural--for understanding the architect's life and work.
Untangling Blackness in Greek Antiquity
by
A Visual Course of Sculping Techniques
by
"Through 170 photos and 4 practical exercises you will discover the techniques and procedures for making bas-reliefs and high-reliefs. The pictures will help you carry out your work step by step: they also show the proper positions and moves of the hands and tools in modelling. The text also has a lot of technical information about clay and tools."--Back cover
Linux Bible
by
Linux Bible, 10th Edition is the ultimate hands-on Linux user guide, whether you're a true beginner or a more advanced user navigating recent changes. this updated tenth edition covers the latest versions of Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL 8), Fedora 30, and Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. It includes information on cloud computing, with new guidance on containerization, Ansible automation, and Kubernetes and OpenShift.
The Cat Encyclopedia
by
The Cat Encyclopedia is a cat compendium with all the facts about cats and kittens. It's packed with beautifully photographed profiles of different breeds, from the Maine Coon to the Khao Manee, and includes information on caring for your own cat. This book explores the cat's place in cultures and includes famous cats in art and literature.
Complete Book of Cats
by
The ultimate cat book with 512 descriptive pages of breeds, expert advice and images.
Open Scholarship in the Humanities
by
Offering new insights into promising ways to facilitate the uptake of open scholarship in the humanities, this book gives further shape to the digital humanities and the prospects of their future as part of a far more open and public world of scholarship. The eBook editions of this book are available open access under a CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 licence on bloomsburycollections.com. Open access was funded by Edith Cowan University
PAX Study Guide 2024-2025
by
This study guide contains several key sections that will help you be successful on your exam. The guide contains tips for what you should do the night before and the day of the test. Also included are test-taking tips. These tips will help equip you to accurately read, assess, and answer test questions.
Unwired
by
America's First Wartime Election
by
1812: America's First Wartime Election focuses on an overlooked moment in political history. The War of 1812 has generated a significant amount of scholarly literature, overshadowing the election that took place in the early stages of the conflict. As the United States and Great Britain clashed on the battlefield, President James Madison was challenged by DeWitt Clinton, the nephew of George Clinton, who was the simultaneous mayor of New York City and the lieutenant governor of his state. Clinton was supported by a faction of Democratic-Republicans and Federalists who opposed the war, as well as by New Englanders who opposed Madison for not being more aggressive in the war and being another Southerner in the White House.
George Washington, Spymaster
by
A biography of Revolutionary War general and first President of the United States, George Washington, focusing on his use of spies to gather intelligence that helped the colonies win the war.
Greek Warfare
by
This book ranges from the concrete details of conducting raids, battles and sieges to more theoretical questions about the causes, costs and consequences of warfare in archaic and classical Greece.
The Greek Wars
by
Hiroshima and the Historians
by
The decision to use atomic bombs in 1945 was one of the most controversial in historical memory. In this thought provoking analysis, Kenneth B. Pyle presents debates about this decision as a case study in the intricacy of the historian's craft, reminding readers of the value of historians in a free society
History of Colonial America
by
Seven captivating manuscripts in one book
January 6 and the Politics of History
by
As an installment of UGA Press's 'History in the Headlines' series, this book offers a rich discussion between highly respected scholars on the historical backdrop and context for contemporary "issues" (from the headlines). In addition to the historical context, these "conversations" demonstrate how historians speak to one another about contentious topics and can contribute in meaningful ways to the public's understanding.
The New York Game
by
'The New York Game' is a riveting, rollicking, brilliant ode to America's beloved pastime and to its indomitable city of origin.
Rubicon
by
This book gives readers a harrowing account of the fall of the Republic, capturing the suspense and drama of Rome's most famous political rivalries, its vibrant and charged atmosphere, and featuring some of the most celebrated personalities in history: Caesar, Cicero, Spartacus, Cleopatra, Brutus, Pompey, Virgil.
Shays's Rebellion
by
In this concise and compelling account of the uprising that came to be known as Shays's Rebellion, Sean Condon describes the economic difficulties facing both private citizens and public officials in newly independent Massachusetts. He explains the state government policy that precipitated the farmers' revolt, details the machinery of tax and debt collection in the 1780s, and provides readers with a vivid example of how the establishment of a republican form of government shifted the boundaries of dissent and organized protest.
A Voyage Long and Strange
by
A Voyage Long and Strange is a rich mix of scholarship and modern-day adventure that brings the forgotten first chapter of America's history vividly to life.
Whiskey Tender
by
Whiskey Tender is a memoir of family and survival, coming-of-age on and off the reservation, and the frictions between being raised to strive towards the American dream while also coming into an understanding of how the narratives of the Quechan Nation and Laguna Pueblo heritages have been excluded from the central mythologies and structures of America.
Afrofuturism in Black Panther
by
This book examines Black Panther not only as a film grounded in Afro-futurism, but also as an invitation for viewers to think about relevant real-world social questions about identity, liberation, and racial justice, ultimately posing the question of how Black Panther invites a reimagining of Blackness
Alluring Monsters
by
Rosalind Galt begins her study in colonial Malay when the film industry was an amalgam of Indian, Chinese, Malaysian, and British influences and follows the pontianak film from the 1950s to Singapore's independence in 1965 to the present where it has reemerged in Malaysia as religious-based censorship has loosened in the 2000s. In addition to the films themselves, Galt considers how these films traveled around the region, and their reception by fans around the world
The Bad Sixties
by
In The Bad Sixties: Hollywood Memories of the Counterculture, Antiwar, and Black Power Movements, Kristen Hoerl focuses on fictionalized portrayals of 1960s activism in popular television and film. Hoerl shows how Hollywood has perpetuated politics deploring the detrimental consequences of the 1960s on traditional American values.
The Casual Vacancy
by
When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock. Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty facade is a town at war. Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils, Pagford is not what it first seems. And the empty seat left by Barry on the town's council soon becomes the catalyst for the biggest war the town has yet seen. Who will triumph in an election fraught with passion, duplicity and unexpected revelations?
College Writer's Guide
by
College Writer's Guide: Composition and Critical Thinking is a tool to help you communicate effectively and become fluent in reading, writing, speaking and listening to Standard English. Good communication is key to success in our academic, personal and professional lives. Integrating the strategies of process writing, graphic organizers, thinking maps and workbook elements, this text will guide you through the skills you need to be successful. It is a step by step guide to academic skill development and communication strategies.
Crank
by
Kristina is the perfect daughter: gifted high school junior, quiet, never any trouble. Then she meets the monster: crank. And what begins as a wild ride turns into a struggle for her mind, her soul--her life.
El Libro Secreto de Frida Kahlo
by
Una historia imaginada de la vida de la famosa pintora mexicana.
The Emperor of Gladness
by
A year in the life of a wayward young man in New England who, by chance, becomes the caretaker for an eighty-two-year-old widow living with dementia, powering a story of friendship, loss, and how much we're willing to risk to claim one of life's most treasured mercies: a second chance.
First Lie Wins: Reese's Book Club
by
Evie Porter has everything a nice, Southern girl could want: a perfect, doting boyfriend, a house with a white picket fence and a garden, a fancy group of friends. The only catch: Evie Porter doesn't exist. The identity comes first: Evie Porter. Once she's given a name and location by her mysterious boss Mr. Smith, she learns everything there is to know about the town and the people in it. Then the mark: Ryan Sumner. The last piece of the puzzle is the job. Evie isn't privy to Mr. Smith's real identity, but she knows this job will be different.
Flamer
by
In the summer between middle school and high school, Aiden Navarro is away at camp. While there, he navigates friendships, deals with bullies, and spends time with Elias (a boy he can not stop thinking about), and he finds himself on a path of self-discovery and acceptance.
Fourth Wing
by
As war grows more deadly, Violet Sorrengail joins the elite Navarre: the dragon riders. But she'll need to keep her wits because once you enter the Basgiath War College, there are only two ways out: graduate or die.
The Hate U Give
by
Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline.
Hollywood Diplomacy
by
Hollywood Diplomacy makes the case that, rather than simply reflect the West's cultural fantasies of an imagined 'Orient,' images of East Asian ethnicities (Chinese, Japanese, and Korean) have long been contested ideological sites where the commercial interests of Hollywood studios and the political mandates of U.S. foreign policy collide, compete against one another, and often become compromised in the process. Hye Seung Chung highlights the mediating capacity of film regulation, presenting it not as an obstacle to artists' freedom of expression, but rather as an enforcer of institutional protection, a facilitator of international relations, and a contributor to 'political correctness' regarding images of racial minorities and foreign nationals.
The Hollywood Jim Crow
by
The Hollywood Jim Crow fully dissects the racial inequality embedded in this industry, looking at alternative ways for African Americans to find success in Hollywood and suggesting how they can band together to forge their own career paths.
Lawn Boy
by
Mike Muñoz is a young Mexican American not too many years out of high school--and just fired from his latest gig as a lawn boy on a landscaping crew. Though he tries time and again to get his foot on the first rung of that ladder to success, he can't seem to get a break. But then things start to change for Mike, and after a raucous, jarring, and challenging trip, he finds he can finally see the future and his place in it.
Les Bons Mots
by
Defines French phrases and aphorisms, contains an easy-to-use pronunciation guide, and provides a brief thought or explanation for each entry.
Looking for Alaska
by
Sixteen-year-old Miles' first year at Culver Creek Preparatory School in Alabama includes good friends and great pranks, but is defined by the search for answers about life and death after a fatal car crash.
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
by
It is a universally acknowledged truth that high school sucks. But on the first day of his senior year, Greg Gaines thinks he's figured it out. The answer to the basic existential question: How is it possible to exist in a place that sucks so bad? His strategy: remain at the periphery at all times. Keep an insanely low profile. Make mediocre films with the one person who is even sort of his friend, Earl. This plan works for exactly eight hours. Then Greg's mom forces him to become friends with a girl who has cancer. This brings about the destruction of Greg's entire life. Includes a discussion with Jesse Andrews and an annotated excerpt from the screenplay!
Melissa (previously Published As GEORGE)
by
When people look at Melissa, they think they see a boy named George. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl. Melissa thinks she'll have to keep this a secret forever. Then her teacher announces that their class play is going to be Charlotte's Web. Melissa really, really, REALLY wants to play Charlotte. But the teacher says she can't even try out for the part ... because she's a boy. With the help of her best friend, Kelly, Melissa comes up with a plan. Not just so she can be Charlotte -- but so everyone can know who she is, once and for all.
The Midnight Library: a GMA Book Club Pick
by
Between life and death there is a library, and within that library, the shelves go on forever. Every book provides a chance to try another life you could have lived. To see how things would be if you had made other choices... Would you have done anything different, if you had the chance to undo your regrets?
The New Husband
by
A riveting new thriller about the lies we tell ourselves from the author of Saving Meghan. Just because you love someone doesn't mean you know them.
Only This Beautiful Moment
by
Set against the backdrop of Tehran and Los Angeles, this tale of intergenerational trauma and love is an ode to the fragile bonds of family, the hidden secrets of history, and all the beautiful moments that make us who we are today
On the Come Up
by
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers of all time. Or at least win her first battle. As the daughter of an underground hip-hop legend who died right before he hit big. Bri's got massive shoes to fill. But it's hard to get your come up when you're labeled a hoodlum at school and your fridge at home is empty after you mom loses her job. So Bri pours her anger and frustration into her first song, which goes viral ... for all the wrong reasons.
Out of Darkness
by
It's 1937. Naomi Vargas is Mexican American. Wash Fuller is Black. These teens know the town's divisive racism-- and the potential consequences of defying "the rules"--Better than anyone. But sometimes the attraction between two people is so powerful it breaks through even the most entrenched color lines. Can their love survive both prejudice and tragedy?
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
by
A haunting coming of age novel told in a series of letters to an unknown correspondent reveals the life of Charlie, a freshman in high school who is a wallflower, shy and introspective, and very intelligent. It's a story of what it's like to grow up in high school, tracing a course through uncharted territory in the world of first dates, family dramas and new friends.
The Pillow Book
by
From short tales to lists of beautiful and ugly things, Sei Shōnagon tells of a leisurely life in the court of tenth century Heian Japan. She can be lyrical, she can show her claws, but she is always fascinating.
Postcolonial Love Poem
by
Postcolonial Love Poem is an anthem of desire against erasure. Natalie Diaz's brilliant second collection demands that every body carried in its pages--bodies of language, land, rivers, suffering brothers, enemies, and lovers--be touched and held as beloveds. Through these poems, the wounds inflicted by America onto an indigenous people are allowed to bloom pleasure and tenderness: "Let me call my anxiety, desire, then. / Let me call it, a garden."
Rediscovering Korean Cinema
by
With its historical and critical scope, abundance of new research, and detailed discussion of important individual films, Rediscovering Korean Cinema is at once an accessible classroom text and a deeply informative compendium for scholars of Korean and East Asian studies, cinema and media studies, and communications. It will also be an essential resource for film industry professionals and anyone interested in international cinema
Sold
by
Lakshmi is a thirteen-year-old girl who lives with her family in a small hut on a mountain in Nepal. Though she is desperately poor, her life is full of simple pleasures, like playing hopscotch with her best friend from school, and having her mother brush her hair by the light of an oil lamp. But when the harsh Himalayan monsoons wash away all that remains of the family's crops, Lakshmi's stepfather says she must leave home and take a job to support her family.
The Song of Achilles
by
Patroclus, an awkward young prince, follows Achilles into war, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they have learned, everything they hold dear. And that, before he is ready, he will be forced to surrender his friend to the hands of Fate. Set during the Trojan War.
Traffick
by
Five teenagers struggle to find their way out of prostitution.
Tricks
by
Five troubled teenagers fall into prostitution as they search for freedom, safety, community, family, and love.
Twisted Love
by
Alex Volkov is a devil blessed with the face of an angel and cursed with a past he can't escape. Ava Chen is a free spirit trapped by nightmares of a childhood she can't remember. Theirs is a love that was never supposed to happen--but when it does, it unleashes secrets that could destroy them both...and everything they hold dear.
Watching You
by
Nobody knows why this horrific murder was committed, but someone in Melville Heights knows who did it. As the community's fearful eyes turn on each other, the question remains: Who else is watching?
Handmade Books and Cards
by
The history of books and cards -- Basic techniques, tools, and materials -- Typography and printing -- Making patterned papers -- Making greeting cards -- Designing books: getting started -- Hardcover albums -- Advanced bindings -- Creative departures -- Design beyond the ordinary.
American Christian Nationalism
by
Michael W. Austin argues that nationalism contradicts both American values and Christian virtues.
Dominion
by
Crucifixion, the Romans believed, was the worst fate imaginable, a punishment reserved for slaves. How astonishing it was, then, that people should have come to believe that one particular victim of crucifixion -- an obscure provincial by the name of Jesus -- was to be worshipped as a god. Dominion explores the implications of this shocking conviction as they have reverberated throughout history.
Rethinking Greek Religion
by
Who marched in religious processions and why? How were blood sacrifice and communal feasting related to identities in the ancient Greek city? With questions such as these, current scholarship aims to demonstrate the ways in which religion maps on to the socio-political structures of the Greek polis ('polis religion'). In this book Dr Kindt explores a more comprehensive conception of ancient Greek religion beyond this traditional paradigm.
The Spanish Inquisition
by
Kamen sets the notorious Christian tribunal into the broader context of Islamic and Jewish culture in the Mediterranean, reassesses its consequences for Jewish culture, measures its impact on Spain's intellectual life, and firmly rebuts a variety of myths and exaggerations that have distorted understandings of the Inquisition. He concludes with disturbing reflections on the impact of state security organizations in our own time.
Seeing Red
by
Seeing Red breaks new ground in investigating the scope of Russian disinformation, arguing that key politicians and media outlets in the United States have facilitated the dissemination of Russian propaganda.
Basic chemical concepts and tables
by
Fully revised and expanded, the second edition of Basic Chemical Concepts and Tables is written as a quick reference to the many different concepts and ideas encountered in chemistry. The volume presents important subjects in a concise format that makes it a practical resource for any reader. Subjects include general chemistry, inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, and spectral analysis.
Felids and Hyenas of the World
by
The most comprehensive and user-friendly photographic field guide to the world's wildcats and hyenas.
An Introduction to Severe Storms and Hazardous Weather
by
This book presents a deep and encompassing survey of severe weather in all its forms. An Introduction to Severe Storms and Hazardous Weather is an exciting new textbook which allows students to learn the principles of atmospheric science through the drama, exhilaration and even tragedy of severe weather. Balancing breadth and depth, Jeffrey Halverson adeptly combines a short, accessible introduction to the basic principles of meteorology with detailed coverage on large and small-scale weather hazards.
Microbiology
by
Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health. The pedagogical features of the text make the material interesting and accessible while maintaining the career-application focus and scientific rigor inherent in the subject matter. Microbiology's art program enhances students' understanding of concepts through clear and effective illustrations, diagrams, and photographs.
Pete Dunne on Bird Watching
by
The bird expert provides an introduction to the world of birding, outlining the tools and techniques of birdwatching, ten keys to bird identification, the art of birding by sound and by scope, and how to locate difficult to find birds.
Wild Cats of the World
by
Wild Cats of the World explores the spectacular Cat Family in unprecedented depth. Drawing on thousands of scientific papers and direct observations in the field, each species is profiled at length, covering all aspects of felid behaviour and ecology. The book is profusely illustrated with colour plates, black-and-white sketches showing important aspects of cat life and accurate images of every species' skull.
All Boys Aren't Blue
by
In a series of personal essays, journalist and LGBTQIA+ activist George M. Johnson explores his childhood, adolescence, and college years in New Jersey and Virginia. From the memories of getting his teeth kicked out by bullies at age five, to flea marketing with his loving grandmother, to his first sexual relationships, this young-adult memoir weaves together the trials and triumphs faced by Black queer boys.
All You Can Ever Know
by
Nicole Chung was born severely premature, placed for adoption by her Korean parents, and raised by a white family in a sheltered Oregon town. She was told her biological parents had made the ultimate sacrifice in the hope of giving her a better life, that forever feeling slightly out of place was her fate as a transracial adoptee.
Beyond Magenta
by
A 2015 Stonewall Honor Book A groundbreaking work of LGBT literature takes an honest look at the life, love, and struggles of transgender teens.
Blueprint for Revolution
by
In Blueprint for Revolution, Srdja Popovic outlines his philosophy for implementing peaceful world change and provides a model for activists everywhere through stories of his own experience toppling dictatorships (peacefully) and of smaller examples of social change (like Occupy Wall Street or fighting for gay rights or zoning changes).
Building the Black City
by
A new way of seeing Black history -- through a sweeping look at how American cities developed from the vision, aspirations, and actions of the Black poor. Building the Black City shows how African Americans built and rebuilt thriving cities for themselves, even as their unpaid and underpaid labor enriched the nation's economic, political, and cultural elites.
Call the Mothers
by
In Call the Mothers, Shaylih Muehlmann takes readers on a riveting journey into the lives of mothers in Mexico who have lost their loved ones to the war on drugs. Honing in on the collective struggle and resilience of these women, this book explores how-in a context of government incompetence, ineptitude, collusion, and corruption-women spearhead the search for the disappeared.
Gender Queer
by
An autobiographical comic in which the author discusses their path to identifying as nonbinary and asexual, and coming out to family and society.
It's Perfectly Normal
by
Introduces human sexuality, describes the changes brought about by puberty, and discusses sexual abuse, sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, and pregnancy, and safe Internet practices.
Let's Talk about It
by
A graphic novel about sex, sexuality, gender, body, consent, and many other topics for teens
This Book Is Gay
by
There's a long-running joke that, after coming out as a lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or intersex person, you should receive a membership card and instruction manual. This is that instruction manual. You're welcome.
Why Social Work Is Important
by
Best-selling author Malcolm Payne offers a toolkit for social work practitioners and students to bring key issues about their practice and social role to life, drawing on case examples and research.
Introduction to Criminology
by
Introduction to Criminology: Why Do They Do It? applies the dominant theories in the existing criminological literature as to why people commit crimes.
Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society
by
"Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society provides a detailed introduction to the history, developments, and current trends in leisure studies"-- Provided by publisher
Managing Our Natural Resources
by
Hillcrest Medical Center : Healthcare Documentation and Medical Transcription (with Audio, 2 Terms (12 Months) Printed Access Card)
by
This innovative text uses a simulation approach to give readers interested in healthcare documentation and medical transcription careers a working knowledge of medical reports common in both acute and chronic care settings. Readers have access to transcription of 107 patient medical reports, including 56 new reports exclusive to the Eighth Edition.
California
by
The authors bring the history of California completely up-to-date: from the numerous issues that have shaped the state's past, to the unique social trends and recent developments such as immigration, energy, environment, and transportation concerns. You'll get an illuminating insight into the complex history of a state that has become synonymous with the American dream--Publisher's description.
Sophie's World
by
One day fourteen-year-old Sophie Amundsen comes home from school to find in her mailbox two notes, each with a question: 'Who are you?' and 'Where does the world come from?' From this irresistible beginning, Sophie becomes obsessed with questions that take her far beyond what she knows of her Norwegian village. Through successive letters, she enrolls in a kind of correspondence course, covering Socrates to Sartre, with a mysterious philosopher, while also receiving letters addressed to another girl.
Basic Bankruptcy Law for Paralegals
by
Paralegal textbook on bankruptcy and debtor/creditor law
Fundamentals of California Litigation for Paralegals
by
California-specific introduction to litigation
Law Practice Management
by
PAX Study Guide 2024-2025
by
This study guide contains several key sections that will help you be successful on your exam. The guide contains tips for what you should do the night before and the day of the test. Also included are test-taking tips. These tips will help equip you to accurately read, assess, and answer test questions.
The Creative Spark
by
Overturns widely held misconceptions about race, war and peace, and human nature itself and asserts that creativity is what has made humans so exceptional among all the species on Earth. --Publisher.
The Religion Toolkit
by
The Religion Toolkit, first published in 2011, is a comprehensive and accessible overview of religious studies that provides students with the essential knowledge and tools to understand the nature of religion.
At the Existentialist Café
by
Paris, 1933. Three contemporaries meet over apricot cocktails at the Bec-de-Gaz bar on the rue Montparnasse-- and ignite a movement, creating an entirely new philosophical approach inspired by themes of radical freedom, authentic being, and political activism: Existentialism.
Survival of the Friendliest
by
Survival of the Friendliest explains both our evolutionary success and our potential for cruelty in one stroke and sheds new light onto everything from genocide and structural inequality to art and innovation
The Creative Spark
by
Overturns widely held misconceptions about race, war and peace, and human nature itself and asserts that creativity is what has made humans so exceptional among all the species on Earth.
Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society
by
"Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society provides a detailed introduction to the history, developments, and current trends in leisure studies"-- Provided by publisher
Managing Our Natural Resources
by
Survival of the Friendliest
by
Survival of the Friendliest explains both our evolutionary success and our potential for cruelty in one stroke and sheds new light onto everything from genocide and structural inequality to art and innovation
Tending the Wild
by
Tending the Wild is an examination of the extensive knowledge Native Americans brought to bear in managing California's natural resources and the imprint this management left on the state's landscape.
Fundamentals of Case Management Practice
by
The Creative Spark
by
Overturns widely held misconceptions about race, war and peace, and human nature itself and asserts that creativity is what has made humans so exceptional among all the species on Earth.
Fundamentals of Case Management Practice
by
Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society
by
"Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society provides a detailed introduction to the history, developments, and current trends in leisure studies"-- Provided by publisher
Managing Our Natural Resources
by
Survival of the Friendliest
by
Survival of the Friendliest explains both our evolutionary success and our potential for cruelty in one stroke and sheds new light onto everything from genocide and structural inequality to art and innovation
Tending the Wild
by
Tending the Wild is an examination of the extensive knowledge Native Americans brought to bear in managing California's natural resources and the imprint this management left on the state's landscape.
The Creative Spark
by
Overturns widely held misconceptions about race, war and peace, and human nature itself and asserts that creativity is what has made humans so exceptional among all the species on Earth.
The Day of the Locust
by
Admired by F. Scott Fitzgerald, Dorothy Parker, and Dashiell Hammett, The Day of the Locust is one of Time magazine's Best 100 English-Language Novels. No book captures so perfectly the grungy fringes of Hollywood: out-of-work actors, stage parents, and film extras with big dreams.
Fundamentals of Case Management Practice
by
Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society
by
"Kraus' Recreation and Leisure in Modern Society provides a detailed introduction to the history, developments, and current trends in leisure studies"-- Provided by publisher
Managing Our Natural Resources
by
The Pearl
by
Annotation: For the diver Kino, finding a magnificent pearl means the promise of a better life for his impoverished family. His dreams blind him to the greed that the pearl arouses in him and his neighbors. Baring the fallacy of the American dream-that wealth erases all problems-Steinbeck's classic illustrates our fall from innocence.
Popular Music in America: The Beat Goes On
by
Michael Campbell's best-selling Popular Music In America remains the industry standard in breadth of coverage, readability, and musical focus. The text provides a rich account of the evolution of popular music from the mid-19th century to the present.
Tending the Wild
by
Tending the Wild is an examination of the extensive knowledge Native Americans brought to bear in managing California's natural resources and the imprint this management left on the state's landscape.
