This LibGuide is updated each time new materials (books, eBooks, audiovisual, etc.) are added to the Cerro Coso Library collection. Click a link to open an eBook or to find a physical item in the catalog. You will need your college login information to access electronic resources.
Check back frequently to discover more titles!
Against the Grain: A Deep History of the Earliest States by
Scott explores why we avoided sedentism and plow agriculture, the advantages of mobile subsistence, the unforeseeable disease epidemics arising from crowding plants, animals, and grain, and why all early states are based on millets and cereal grains and unfree labor.
AI and Big Data's Potential for Disruptive Innovation by
Provides emerging research exploring the theoretical and practical aspects of successfully implementing new and innovative technologies in a variety of sectors including business, transportation, and healthcare.
Allies and Obstacles: Disability Activism and Parents of Children with Disabilities by
Provides a macro analysis of parent activism using a social movement perspective to reveal and analyze the complex--and often tense--relationship of parents to disability rights organizations and activism. These cases explore the specific ways in which activism developed among parents and people with disabilities, as well as the points of alliance and the key points of contestation.
Animals Health and Society: Health Promotion, Harm Reduction, and Health Equity in a One Health World by
Perspectives and methods from a variety of fields and experts are shared and adapted to promote collaborative understanding of and action on determinants of health at the animal-society interface.
Applied law and ethics for health professionals by
Tackles ethical situations and the potential legal impacts that many healthcare professionals may face in their careers and asks them to consider their own personal values system and use reasoning skills to come to an informed outcome. Modern cases and topics are discussed, offering real-world ethical and legal accounts that may impact professionals in the field.
Archaeologies of Violence and Privilege by
Archaeologists Christopher N. Matthews and Bradley D. Phillippi bring together a collection of authors who document the ways in which past social formations rested on violent acts and reproduced violent social and cultural structures. The contributors present a series of archaeological case studies that range from the mercury mines of colonial Huancavelica (AD 1564-1824) to the polluted waterways of Indianapolis, Indiana, at the turn of the twentieth century-a problem that disproportionally impacted African American neighborhoods.
Bacterial Genetics and Genomics by
Under the novel insights from genetics and genomics, once-believed borders in biology start to fade: biological knowledge of the bacterial world is being viewed under a new light and concepts are being redefined. Species are difficult to delimit and relationships within and between groups of bacteria - the whole concept of a tree of life - is hotly debated when dealing with bacteria. The DNA within bacterial cells contains a variety of features and signals that influence the diversity of the microbial world.
Beyond Behavior Management: The Six Life Skills Children Need by
This resource provides everything you need to help children build and use six essential life skills: attachment, belonging, self-regulation, collaboration, contribution, and adaptability. Developed and tested in the classroom, this strength-based approach includes strategies, examples of supportive interactions, and special activities to help you manage challenging behaviors and strengthen social and emotional development in all children.
Black Women's Health: Paths to Wellness for Mothers and Daughters by
Drawing on interviews with mothers and their daughters, as well as compelling medical data, Berger provides insight into the larger patterns that place Black women at such high risk on a national level. She shows how Black mothers communicate with their daughters about health, sexuality, and intimacy, including how they attempt to promote healthy living standards even as they navigate widespread, systemic challenges. Ultimately, Berger highlights the important role that family--and specifically, the relationship between mothers and daughters--plays in improving public health outcomes.
Bless Me, Ultima by
Antonio Marez is six years old when Ultima comes to stay with his family in New Mexico. She is a curandera, one who cures with herbs and magic. Under her wise wing, Tony will probe the family ties that bind and rend him, and he will discover himself in the magical secrets of the pagan past--a mythic legacy as palpable as the Catholicism of Latin America. And at each life turn there is Ultima, who delivered Tony into the world... and will nurture the birth of his soul.
The Body: A Guide for Occupants by
Guides us through the human body--how it functions, its remarkable ability to heal itself, and (unfortunately) the ways it can fail. Full of extraordinary facts (your body made a million red blood cells since you started reading this) and irresistible Bryson-esque anecdotes, The Body will lead you to a deeper understanding of the miracle that is life in general and you in particular. As Bill Bryson writes, "We pass our existence within this wobble of flesh and yet take it almost entirely for granted." The Body will cure that indifference with generous doses of wondrous, compulsively readable facts and information.
Brill's Companion to Euripides (2 Vols) by
Besides presenting a comprehensive and authoritative guide to understanding Euripides and his masterworks, this companion provides scholars and students with compelling fresh perspectives upon a broad range of issues in the rapidly evolving field of Euripidean studies.
Built to Last: Successful Habits of Visionary Companies by
Filled with hundreds of specific examples and organized into a coherent framework of practical concepts that can be applied by managers and entrepreneurs at all levels, Built to Last provides a master blueprint for building organizations that will prosper long into the 21st century and beyond.
California Family Law by
Integrates statutory law and judicial interpretation into a cohesive general discussion of all aspects of the state's family law.
Careers in Gaming by
Provides detailed information and need-to-know information on various careers available as a gamer, helpful information about working in the gig economy, education or skill-set requirements for careers in gaming.
Choose Your Words: Communicating with Young Children by
When teachers are not precise in their communication, use idioms, or use sarcasm, children don't learn, or, worse, they experience confusion or embarrassment because they don't know what to do. This new edition of Use Your Words is infused with current research on communicating with young children and their families. The text considers change and current culture in the United States as it affects language and little ones in the context of 2017, while respecting universal pieces that continue to be helpful.
Cien años de Soledad / One Hundred Years of Solitude by
Tells the story of the rise and fall, birth and death of the mythical town of Macondo through the history of the Buendiá family. Inventive, amusing, magnetic, sad and alive with unforgettable men and women--brimming with truth, compassion, and a lyrical magic that strikes the soul--this novel is a masterpiece in the art of fiction.
Como Agua para Chocolate / Like Water for Chocolate by
This classic love story takes place on the De la Garza ranch, as the tyrannical owner, Mama Elena, chops onions at the kitchen table in her final days of pregnancy. While still in her mother's womb, her daughter to be weeps so violently she causes an early labor, and little Tita slips out amid the spices and fixings for noodle soup. This early encounter with food soon becomes a way of life, and Tita grows up to be a master chef, using cooking to express herself and sharing recipes with readers along the way.
CompTIA a+ Complete Study Guide by
Your ultimate preparation guide for Exams 220-1001 and 220-1002. Covering 100 percent of the objectives for both exams, this book gets you up to speed on essential A+ knowledge and skills.
Corazón tan blanco by
A contemporary classic, Corazón tan blanco tells the story of Juan Ranz, an interpreter and translator who lives in fear of the underlying danger of listening: once you hear something it there to stay. While on his honeymoon in Havana, he accidentally hears a hotel conversation. As of that moment, his marriage will be filled with foreboding. A hypnotic novel about marriage, murder and suspicion, instigation and persuasion, secrets and the convenience they afford--about white hearts blackened bit by bit until they become what they never wanted to be.
CPT Professional 2022 by
CPT® 2022 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help healthcare professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Healthcare professionals want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2022 Professional Edition. Only the AMA, with the help of physicians and other experts in the healthcare community, creates and maintains the CPT code set. No other codebook has the accurate, complete official guidelines for the latest and current procedural terminology for procedures and services to help you code medical services and procedures properly.
Creating a Reggio-Inspired STEM Environment for Young Children by
Offers practical suggestions and resources for rethinking your early learning environment with a focus on STEM, using the Reggio Emilia approach lens honoring a student-centered, self-guided curriculum based on principles of respect, responsibility, and community through exploration and play.
Criminal Justice in America: the Encyclopedia of Crime, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections [2 Volumes] by
This work offers a thorough introduction to the field of criminal justice, including types of crime; policing; courts and sentencing; landmark legal decisions; and local, state, and federal corrections systems--and the key topics and issues within each of these important areas.
Crónica de una Muerte Anunciada / Chronicle of a Death Foretold by
A man returns to the town where a baffling murder took place 27 years earlier, determined to get to the bottom of the story. The more that is learned, the less is understood, and as the story races to its inexplicable conclusion, an entire society--not just a pair of murderers--is put on trial.
Cybercrime: an Encyclopedia of Digital Crime by
Covers the most noteworthy attacks while also focusing on the myriad issues that surround cybercrime. It includes entries on such topics as the different types of cyberattacks, cybercrime techniques, specific cybercriminals and cybercrime groups, and cybercrime investigations. While objective in its approach, this book does not shy away from covering such relevant, controversial topics as Julian Assange and Russian interference in the 2016 U.S. presidential election.
Cyberdanger: Understanding and Guarding Against Cybercrime by
This book describes the key cybercrime threats facing individuals, businesses, and organizations in our online world. The author first explains malware and its origins; he describes the extensive underground economy and the various attacks that cybercriminals have developed, including malware, spam, and hacking; he offers constructive advice on countermeasures for individuals and organizations; and he discusses the related topics of cyberespionage, cyberwarfare, hacktivism, and anti-malware organizations, and appropriate roles for the state and the media.
Dangerous Crooked Scoundrels: Insulting the President, From Washington to Trump by
Battistella collects over five hundred insults aimed at American presidents. Covering the broad sweep of American history, he puts insults in their place - the political and cultural context of their times. How we insult presidents and how they react tells us about the presidents, but it also tells us about our nation's politics.
Deep Work: Rules for Focused Success in a Distracted World by
Newport flips the narrative on impact in a connected age. Instead of arguing distraction is bad, he instead celebrates the power of its opposite. Dividing this book into two parts, he first makes the case that in almost any profession, cultivating a deep work ethic will produce massive benefits. He then presents a rigorous training regimen, presented as a series of four "rules," for transforming your mind and habits to support this skill.
Disabilities Sourcebook, 4th Ed by
Consumer health information for people with disabilities and their caregivers about impairments caused by birth defects, sensory and communication disorders, learning disabilities, chronic illness, injury, and trauma, along with facts about assistive technologies, special education and legal, employment, and financial issues. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.
Disability in American Life by
Provides an overview of challenges and opportunities for people with disabilities and their families at all stages of life.
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology by
Presents multidisciplinary research and expert insights into new methods and processes for understanding modern technological tools and their applications as well as emerging theories and ethical controversies surrounding the field of information science. Highlighting a wide range of topics such as natural language processing, decision support systems, and electronic government, this book offers strategies for implementing smart devices and analytics into various professional disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Video Games [3 Volumes] by
Covers all things video games, including the games themselves, the companies that make them, and the people who play them.
Enlightenment Now: The Case for Reason, Science, Humanism, and Progress by
Pinker shows that life, health, prosperity, safety, peace, knowledge, and happiness are on the rise, not just in the West, but worldwide. This progress is not the result of some cosmic force. It is a gift of the Enlightenment: the conviction that reason and science can enhance human flourishing.
Exploring the 3-D World: Developing Spatial and Math Skills in Young Children by
Covers current research on the effectiveness of developing spatial skills in the early years the essential components of playful exploration key spatial skills that are important for children to learn how visual representations such as displays of data, drawing, and documentation open new pathways to learning vocabulary and conversation starters to expand learning activities for families to try at home with recommended children's books.
Finance or Food? : The Role of Cultures, Values, and Ethics in Land Use Negotiations by
Throughout, the editors and contributors consider a range of issues, including pressure on farmland, international and global trade relations, moral and ethical questions, and implications for governance. The focus of Finance or Food? is land use in Australia, Canada, and Norway, chosen for their commonalities as well as their differences. With reference to these specific national contexts, the contributors explore political, ecological, and ethical debates concerning food production, alternative energy, and sustainability.
Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest by
Simard writes how trees, living side by side for hundreds of years, have evolved, how they perceive one another, learn and adapt their behaviors, recognize neighbors, and remember the past; how they have agency about the future; elicit warnings and mount defenses, compete and cooperate with one another with sophistication, characteristics ascribed to human intelligence, traits that are the essence of civil societies--and at the center of it all, the Mother Trees: the mysterious, powerful forces that connect and sustain the others that surround them.
Fraught Decisions in Plato and Shakespeare by
Focuses on the misreading of comedy and tragedy in the life of the individual; returning to the Republic and using The Merchant of Venice and Pericles, on the broadened context of the misuse of political and economic forces; returning again to the Republic and reading Timon of Athens and Measure for Measure, and focuses on the misunderstanding of the inseparability of birth and infinite debt.
From Arabia to the Pacific: How Our Species Colonised Asia by
Drawing upon invasion biology and the latest archaeological, skeletal and environment evidence, From Arabia to the Pacific documents the migration of humans into Asia, and explains why we were so successful as a colonising species. The colonisation of Asia by our species was one of the most momentous events in human evolution.
Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History by 
Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap...And Others Don't by
Using tough benchmarks, Collins and his research team identified a set of elite companies that made the leap to great results and sustained those results for at least fifteen years. How great? After the leap, the good-to-great companies generated cumulative stock returns that beat the general stock market by an average of seven times in fifteen years, better than twice the results delivered by a composite index of the world's greatest companies, including Coca-Cola, Intel, General Electric, and Merck.
Great Adaptations: Star-Nosed Moles, Electric Eels, and Other Tales of Evolution’s Mysteries Solved by
Catania presents an entertaining and engaging look at some of nature's most remarkable creatures. Telling the story of his biological detective work, Catania sheds light on the mysteries behind the behaviors of tentacled snakes, tiny shrews, zombie-making wasps, and more. He shows not only how studying these animals can provide deep insights into how life evolved, but also how scientific discovery can be filled with adventure and fun.
The Great Mortality by
Kelly lends an air of immediacy and intimacy to his telling of the journey of the plague as it traveled from the steppes of Russia, across Europe, and into England, killing 75 million people--one third of the known population--before it vanished.
Green and Smart Technologies for Smart Cities by
An overview of the role of cities in climate change and environmental pollution worldwide, followed by the concept description of smart cities and their expected features, focusing on green technology innovation. Explores the energy management strategies required to minimize the need for huge investments in high-capacity transmission lines from distant power plants.
Handbook on Gender and Health by
This collection includes insightful contributions from 56 leading authorities from Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe, and the Middle East, offering a wealth of knowledge, theoretical reflection, and empirical detail on the essential elements surrounding gender and health. Topics covered include theoretical approaches to understanding gender and health, migration, sexuality, ageing, masculinities, climate change and sexual and reproductive rights.
The Hard Thing about Hard Things: Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers by
Ben Horowitz analyzes the problems that confront leaders every day, sharing the insights he's gained developing, managing, selling, buying, investing in, and supervising technology companies. A lifelong rap fanatic, he amplifies business lessons with lyrics from his favorite songs, telling it straight about everything from firing friends to poaching competitors, cultivating and sustaining a CEO mentality to knowing the right time to cash in.
HCPCS 2021 Level II Professional Edition by
Includes the most current Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) codes and regulations, which are essential references needed for accurate medical billing and maximum permissible reimbursement.
Hearing Happiness: Deafness Cures in History by
Raises pivotal questions about deafness in American society and the endless quest for a cure. Taking us from the 1860s up to the present, Virdi combs archives and museums in order to understand the long history of curious cures: ear trumpets, violet ray apparatuses, vibrating massagers, electrotherapy machines, airplane diving, bloodletting, skull hammering, and many more.
How the Word Is Passed: A Reckoning with the History of Slavery Across America by
Beginning in his hometown of New Orleans, Clint Smith leads the reader on an unforgettable tour of monuments and landmarks--those that are honest about the past and those that are not--that offer an intergenerational story of how slavery has been central in shaping our nation's collective history, and ourselves.
How to Launch Your Side Hustle: Start and Scale a Business with Minimal Capital by
This book will teach you how to start, scale, and sell a small business from scratch. It is intended for entrepreneurs of all levels, from first-time business owners to seasoned executives looking for a new perspective.
How to Win Friends and Influence People by
Carnegie's rock-solid, time-tested advice has carried countless people up the ladder of success in their business and personal lives.
Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion by
Robert Cialdini--New York Times bestselling author of Pre-Suasion and the seminal expert in the fields of influence and persuasion--explains the psychology of why people say yes and how to apply these insights ethically in business and everyday settings.
The Innovator's Dilemma: When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail by
Offering both successes and failures from leading companies as a guide,The Innovator's Dilemma gives you a set of rules for capitalizing on the phenomenon of disruptive innovation. Sharp, cogent, and provocative--and consistently noted as one of the most valuable business ideas of all time--The Innovator's Dilemma is the book no manager, leader, or entrepreneur should be without.
In Search of Mycotopia: Citizen Science, Fungi Fanatics, and the Untapped Potential of Mushrooms by
Introduces us to an incredible, essential, and oft-overlooked kingdom of life--fungi--and all the potential it holds for our future, through the work and research being done by an unforgettable community of mushroom-mad citizen scientists and microbe devotees. This entertaining and mind-expanding book will captivate readers who are curious about the hidden worlds and networks that make up our planet.
Invisible Child: Poverty, Survival & Hope in an American City by
Elliott follows eight dramatic years in the life of Dasani, a girl whose imagination is as soaring as the skyscrapers near her Brooklyn shelter. In this sweeping narrative, Elliott weaves the story of Dasani's childhood with the history of her ancestors, tracing their passage from slavery to the Great Migration north. As Dasani comes of age, New York City's homeless crisis has exploded, deepening the chasm between rich and poor.
Jasmine by
When Jasmine is suddenly widowed at seventeen, she seems fated to a life of quiet isolation in the small Indian village where she was born. But the force of Jasmine's desires propels her explosively into a larger, more dangerous, and ultimately more life-giving world. Jasmine's metamorphosis, with its shocking upheavals and its slow evolutionary steps, illuminates the making of an American mind; but even more powerfully, her story depicts the shifting contours of an America being transformed by her and others like her -- our new neighbors, friends, and lovers.
Joseph Conrad by
Hampson traces Conrad's life from his childhood in a Russian penal colony, through his early manhood in Marseille and his years in the British Merchant Navy, to his career as a novelist. Hampson also discusses Conrad's important relations with other writers, in particular Ford Madox Ford, as well as his late-life political engagements and his relationships with women. Featuring new interpretations of all of Conrad's major works, this is an original interpretation of Conrad's life of writing.
La Casa de Bernarda Alba by
As head of the household, Bernarda tries to keep her five daughters (one from her first husband) from the common people, especially men, as she deems them unworthy of her children.
La casa de los espíritus by
La primera novela de Isabel Allende, La casa de los espíritus narra la saga de una poderosa familia de terratenientes latinoamericanos. El despótico patriarca Esteban Trueba ha construido con mano de hierro un imperio privado que empieza a tambalearse con el paso del tiempo y un entorno social explosivo. Finalmente, la decadencia personal del patriarca arrastrará a los Trueba a una dolorosa desintegración.
La Sombra Del Viento / Shadow of the Wind by
Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer's son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the author's other works, he makes a shocking discovery: someone has been systematically destroying every copy of every book Carax has written.
The Last Cuentista by
Earth has been destroyed by a comet, and only a few hundred scientists and their children - among them Petra and her family - have been chosen to journey to a new planet. They are the ones who must carry on the human race. Hundreds of years later, Petra wakes to this new planet - and the discovery that she is the only person who remembers Earth. Petra alone now carries the stories of our past, and with them, any hope for our future.
A Little Devil in America: In Praise of Black Performance by
Abdurraqib has written a profound and lasting reflection on how Black performance is inextricably woven into the fabric of American culture. Each moment in every performance he examines--whether it's the twenty-seven seconds in "Gimme Shelter" in which Merry Clayton wails the words "rape, murder," a schoolyard fistfight, a dance marathon, or the instant in a game of spades right after the cards are dealt--has layers of resonance in Black and white cultures, the politics of American empire, and Abdurraqib's own personal history of love, grief, and performance.
My Robot Gets Me: How Social Design Can Make New Products More Human by
Diana offers clear guidelines and takeaways for conceptualizing, building, and optimizing products using such methods as bodystorming, scenario storyboarding, video prototyping, behavior charting, and more. Provides keen insights and practical advice to anyone interested or involved in the burgeoning smart marketplace, from product designers and developers to managers and venture capitalists.
The Namesake: A Novel by
Meet the Ganguli family, new arrivals from Calcutta, trying their best to become Americans even as they pine for home. The name they bestow on their firstborn, Gogol, betrays all the conflicts of honoring tradition in a new world--conflicts that will haunt Gogol on his own winding path through divided loyalties, comic detours, and wrenching love affairs.
Once upon a Time in the Twenty-First Century: Unexpected Exercises in Creative Writing by
Based on years of hands-on experiences in the teaching of creative writing in high schools, colleges, and after-school writing clubs, this volume of exercises offers inestimable value to students and teachers in the traditional classroom, as well as a growing number of homeschoolers, those who are part of a writing club or group, and independent writers and learners of all ages.
The Play Prescription: Using Play to Support Internalizing Behaviors by
Explores internalizing behaviors such as anxiety, depression, and social withdrawal found in young children, ages 3 to 7. Dr. Liese discusses a range of research-supported interventions and prevention methods for children presenting symptoms and offers clear descriptions of educational strategies and implications for educators.
A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution : What Every American Needs to Know by
Arnold provides concise explanations of the Constitution's meaning and history, offering little-known facts and anecdotes about every article and all twenty-seven amendments. This handy guide won't tell you what the Constitution ought to say, nor what it ought to mean. It will tell you what the Constitution says and what it has meant. Can be used to comprehend current events, dig deeper into court cases, or sort out your own opinions on constitutional issues.
Poemas Rusticos by
De la rica poesía de Manuel José Othón se presenta aquí una selección cuya'rusticidad'no es más que la transmisión de los sentidos, impresiones vívidas y sentimientos íntimos de uno de los poetas más distinguidos de México.
Positioning: the Battle for Your Mind by
Ries and Trout provide many valuable case histories and penetrating analyses of some of the most phenomenal successes and failures in advertising history. Revised to reflect significant developments in the five years since its original publication, Positioning is required reading for anyone in business today.
Probable Impossibilities: Musings on Beginnings and Endings by
Can space be divided into smaller and smaller units, ad infinitum? Does space extend to larger and larger regions, on and on to infinity? Is consciousness reducible to the material brain and its neurons? What was the origin of life, and can biologists create life from scratch in the lab? Physicist and novelist Alan Lightman, whom The Washington Post has called "the poet laureate of science writers," explores these questions and more--from the anatomy of a smile to the capriciousness of memory to the specialness of life in the universe to what came before the Big Bang.
Protecting Whiteness: Whitelash and the Rejection of Racial Equality by
In this incisive volume, twenty-four leading sociologists assess contemporary shifts in white attitudes about racial justice in the US. Using case studies, they investigate the entrenchment of white privilege in institutions, new twists in anti-equality ideologies, and “whitelash” in the actions of social movements. Their examinations of new manifestations of racist aggression help make sense of the larger forces that underpin enduring racial inequalities and how they reinvent themselves for each new generation.
Psychological and Behavioral Examinations in Cyber Security by
A critical scholarly resource that examines the relationship between human behavior and interaction and cyber security. Featuring coverage on a broad range of topics, such as behavioral analysis, cyberpsychology, and online privacy, this book is geared towards IT specialists, administrators, business managers, researchers, and students interested in online decision making in cybersecurity.
Queer Freedom : Black Sovereignty by
Evocative, innovative ethnography of spiritual practices and forms of queer, black, and indigenous life in the Dominican Republic.
The Secret Body: How the New Science of the Human Body Is Changing the Way We Live by
Focusing on six important frontiers, Davis describes what we are learning about cells, the development of the fetus, the body's immune system, the brain, the microbiome, and the genome--areas of human biology that are usually understood in isolation. Bringing them together here for the first time, Davis offers a new vision of the human body as a biological wonder of dizzying complexity and possibility.
She/He/They/Me: For the Sisters, Misters, and Binary Resisters by
Thoughtfully discusses gender constructs, expectations, and transitions along with covering everything from the science, biology, and psychology of gender to the philosophy, legality and societal implications. This is a must-read for better understanding and celebrating LGBTQ+, nonbinary, and transgender identities and a great resource for parents of gender queer kids.
Defining Documents in American History: Slavery by
Defining Documents in American History: Slavery delves into the extremely long and violent history of the titular subject. These volumes discuss slavery in multiple contexts, from ancient times to the slave trade during colonial America, and from the abolitionist movement to issues of slavery in the modern era.
Social and Emotional Development: Connecting Science and Practice in Early Childhood Settings by
Explains the research behind many common, wise early childhood practices, as well as the shortcomings of others. Key topics include: How to help children form a strong attachment with an adult and foster a feeling of security. The importance of peer relationships and how to help children learn to take turns, develop empathy, and not act selfishly. Three forms of self-regulation: controlling impulsive behavior, developing problem-solving ability, and learning to regulate emotions.
Starring Women: Celebrity, Patriarchy, and American Theater, 1790-1850 by
Lampert examines the lives, careers, and fame of overlooked figures from Europe and the United States whose work in melodrama, ballet, and other stage shows shocked and excited early U.S. audiences. These women lived and performed the tensions and contradictions of nineteenth-century gender roles, sparking debates about women's place in public life.
The Story of Stuff by
Leonard examines the "stuff" we use everyday, offering a galvanizing critique and steps for a changed planet. From sneaking into factories and dumps around the world to visiting textile workers in Haiti and children mining coltan for cell phones in the Congo, Leonard highlights each step of the materials economy and its actual effect on the earth and the people who live near sites like these.
Super Polluters : Tackling the World’s Largest Sites of Climate-Disrupting Emissions by
A comprehensive account of who bears the blame for our warming planet, Super Polluters points to more feasible and effective emission reduction strategies that target the world's most profligate polluters.
This Is Marketing: You Can't Be Seen Until You Learn to See by
Godin offers the core of his marketing wisdom in one compact, accessible, timeless package. This is Marketing shows you how to do work you're proud of, whether you're a tech startup founder, a small business owner, or part of a large corporation.
This Is Your Mind on Plants by
In this unique blend of history, science, and memoir, as well as participatory journalism, Pollan examines and experiences these plants from several very different angles and contexts, and shines a fresh light on a subject that is all too often treated reductively--as a drug, whether licit or illicit.
Transforming Prejudice: Identity, Fear, and Transgender Rights by
Michelson and Harrison, through their experiments, show that the most effective messaging on transgender issues meets people where they are, acknowledges their discomfort without judgment or criticism, and helps them to think about transgender people and rights in a way that aligns with their view of themselves as moral human beings.
Travesuras de la niña Mala / the Bad Girl by
Ricardo Somocurcio is in love with a bad girl. He loves her as a teenager known as "Lily" in Lima in 1950, when she flits into his life one summer and disappears again without explanation. He loves her still when she reappears as a revolutionary in 1960s Paris, then later as Mrs. Richardson, the wife of a wealthy Englishman, and again as the mistress of a sinister Japanese businessman in Tokyo. Charting Ricardo's expatriate life through his romances with this shape-shifting woman, Vargas Llosa has created a beguiling, epic romance about the life-altering power of obsession.
Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperada by
Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperad” es una de las más célebres obras del poeta chileno Pablo Neruda (1904-1973). Publicado en 1924, el poemario lanzó a su autor a la fama con apenas 19 años de edad, y es una de las obras literarias de mayor renombre del siglo XX en la lengua castellana. El libro pertenece a la época de juventud del poeta, ya que fue escrito y publicado cuando no contaba aún con veinte años.
Visionary Director : a handbook for dreaming, organizing, and improvising in your center by
Create a larger vision in your child care program and perform your job as a center director with motivation and creativity. Find a concrete framework for approaching and organizing your work, as well as principles, strategies, and self-directed activities to support your vision for building a strong learning community for your staff and the young children in their care.
We Are the Land: A History of Native California by
Recounts the centrality of the Native presence from before European colonization through statehood--paying particularly close attention to the persistence and activism of California Indians in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. Contextualizes the first encounters with Europeans, Spanish missions, Mexican secularization, the devastation of the Gold Rush and statehood, genocide, efforts to reclaim land, and the organization and activism for sovereignty that built today's casino economy.
When Young Children Need Help: Understanding and Addressing Emotional, Behavorial, and Developmental Challenges by
Learn how to reach children who need special help. Almost anyone who works with 3- to 6-year-olds knows what it feels like to spend time with youngsters who are particularly puzzling or hard to help.
Why Are Women More Religious Than Men? by
In the West, the gender gap is exaggerated because the social changes that undermined the plausibility of religion bore most heavily on men first. Where the lives of men and women become more similar, and where religious indifference grows, the gender gap gradually disappears. Written in an accessible style whilst drawing some robust conclusions, the book's main purpose is to serve as a state-of-the-art review for those interested in one of the largest differences between male and female behaviour.
Wild by
The story of an eleven-hundred-mile solo hike that broke down a young woman reeling from catastrophe--and built her back up again.
Words of the Inuit: A Semantic Stroll Through a Northern Culture by
An important compendium of Inuit culture illustrated through Inuit words. It brings the sum of the author's decades of experience and engagement with Inuit and Inuktitut to bear on what he fashions as an amiable, leisurely stroll through words and meanings.
The ABC of It: why children's books matter by
Librarians devised rigorous standards for evaluating children's books and effective ways of putting good books into children's hands, and educators proposed radically different ideas about what those books should include. Without the foresight and persistence of collectors, much of this story would have been lost forever. Regarding children's literature as both a rich repository of collective memory and a powerful engine of cultural change is more important today than ever.
Applied law and ethics for health professionals by
An overview of ethics -- Top priority : the patient -- Vulnerable populations -- Confidentiality -- Ethics and the workplace -- Accountability : the medical record -- Liability and health care : legal aspects of health care -- Life and death issues -- Controversial issues in health care.
Astronomy Today by
Students further master concepts through book-specific Mastering Astronomy assignments, which provide hints and answer-specific feedback that build problem-solving skills. Mastering Astronomy now features Virtual Astronomy Labs, providing assignable online laboratory activities that use Stellarium and Interactive Figures.
A Brief Guide to Arguing about Literature by
More and more, first-year writing courses foreground skills of critical analysis and argumentation. In response, A Brief Guide to Arguing about Literature first hones students' analytical skills through instruction in close critical reading of texts; then, it shows them how to turn their reading into well-supported and rhetorically effective argumentative writing.
Buck's Step-By-Step Medical Coding, 2022 Edition by
A step-by-step approach makes it easier to build your coding skills and remember the material. "Real-life" coding reports simulate the reports you will encounter as a coder and help you apply coding principles to actual cases.
Buck's Workbook for Step-By-Step Medical Coding, 2022 Edition by
Build your coding skills with this practical workbook! Matching the chapters in the bestselling Buck's Step-by-Step Medical Coding, this workbook offers coding review and practice with more than 1,200 theory, practical, and reporting exercises.
Concepts for Care: 20 essays on infant/toddler development and learning by
Leading experts in infant/toddler development have contributed succinct essays drawn from research, theory, clinical case studies, and carefully documented practice. Each essay represents current thinking in the field of infant/toddler development and care. Individually and as a collection, the essays provide a springboard for reflection, discussion, and further exploration, especially for infant/toddler professionals seeking to enhance their programs and for students in the field of early care and education.
CPT Professional 2022 by
CPT® 2022 Professional Edition is the definitive AMA-authored resource to help healthcare professionals correctly report and bill medical procedures and services. Healthcare professionals want accurate reimbursement. Payers want efficient claims processing. Correct reporting and billing of medical procedures and services begins with CPT® 2022 Professional Edition.
Criminal Law and Procedure by
Comprehensive coverage and foundational concepts in both criminal law and criminal procedure blend with this edition's presentation of cutting-edge developments and emerging trends.
Critical Perspectives on Teaching in Prison: students and instructors on pedagogy behind the wall by
Chapters are written by prison instructors, currently incarcerated students, and formerly incarcerated students, providing a variety of perspectives on the many roadblocks and ambitions of teaching and learning in carceral settings. All unapologetic advocates of increasing access to higher education for people in prison, contributors discuss the high stakes of teaching incarcerated individuals and address the dynamics, conditions, and challenges of doing such work.
The Critical Thinking Toolkit by
The Critical Thinking Toolkit is a comprehensive compendium that equips readers with the essential knowledge and methods for clear, analytical, logical thinking and critique in a range of scholarly contexts and everyday situations.
DeWit's Medical-Surgical Nursing: concepts and practice by
Medical-Surgical Nursing makes exam prep easier with NCLEX-PN® review questions, and reflects national LPN/LVN standards with an emphasis on evidence-based practice and patient safety. Safety alerts emphasize safety precautions to protect patients, family, health care providers, and the public from accidents, spread of disease, and medication-related accidents.
Discovering Psychology by
Discovering Psychology is the most effective book available for helping students develop scientific literacy and explore the real impact of psychology across the breadth of cultural diversity.
Diversity in Organizations by
This comprehensive resource blends the latest findings, new developments and recent legislation with practical examples and compelling interviews. You explore the many aspects of diversity, from a historic background to the details of how and why individuals and organizations should pursue diversity among applicants, employees, coworkers or customers.
Drug Use and Misuse by
Weaves historical, social, psychological, cultural, biological and medical perspectives as it emphasizes the idea that a drug's effects depend not only on its properties, but also on the psychological and biological characteristics of its user. Thoroughly updated with the latest research, social trends and legal changes, the new edition includes current survey data on patterns of drug use nationally and internationally.
Foundations of Business by
Shows you how to become a better employee, more informed consumer and successful business owner. You examine issues within the economy, business ownership, management, human resources, marketing, social media, e-commerce, management information systems, accounting and finance. You also learn how cultural diversity, ethics and social responsibility, small business and entrepreneurship and environmental concerns impact both the nation's economy and you, as an individual consumer.
The Glass Menagerie by
"More than fifty years after telling his story of a family whose lives form a triangle of quiet desperation, Williams's mellifluous voice still resonates deeply and universally."
Introduction to sociology 3e. by
Provides foundational sociological theories and contexts, then progresses through various aspects of human and societal interactions. The text includes comprehensive coverage of core concepts, discussions and data relevant to a diverse audience, and features that draw learners into the discipline in powerful and personal ways.
Introductory Chemistry by
Already a visual text, in this edition the art has been further refined and improved, and also includes a widely embraced feature that emphasizes understanding rather than calculation, as well as a new category of end-of-chapter questions called Data Interpretation and Analysis, which present real data in real life situations and ask students to analyze and interpret that data.
The Little Seagull Handbook by
"Easy to use and easy to afford, The Little Seagull Handbook is the #1 brief handbook because students say it has a positive impact on their writing. Intuitive organization, color-coding, and jargon-free instruction for common kinds of writing make it a reference tool that student writers truly use."
Medical Law and Professional Ethics by
The text describes various medical laws and the legal impact experienced by professionals who are members of this community. Contemporary topics are covered at length, including the ever-important patient-professional relationship. In addition, privacy issues related to the increasingly digital format of healthcare delivery are emphasized.
The Merck Index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by
The Merck Index is a one-volume encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals that contains more than 10,000 monographs. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
The Namesake by
Meet the Ganguli family, new arrivals from Calcutta, trying their best to become Americans even as they pine for home. The name they bestow on their firstborn, Gogol, betrays all the conflicts of honoring tradition in a new world -- conflicts that will haunt Gogol on his own winding path through divided loyalties, comic detours, and wrenching love affairs.
No Logo: no space, no choice, no jobs by
As America faces a second economic depression, Klein's analysis of our corporate and branded world is as timely and powerful as ever. Equal parts cultural analysis, political manifesto, mall-rat memoir, and journalistic exposé, No Logo is the first book to put the new resistance into pop-historical and clear economic perspective. Naomi Klein tells a story of rebellion and self-determination in the face of our new branded world.
Our Sexuality by
Direct yet nonjudgmental, the text covers "our" sexuality in an accessible, straightforward manner as it explores the similarities of sexual and relationship matters across cross cultural boundaries and sexual orientation lines. With a focus on strengthening your self-awareness and sexual intelligence, the text is packed with exciting new research, personally relevant examples and practical information on sexual health. Also available: MindTap digital learning solution.
Paradise Lost by
This Norton Critical Edition includes: The 1674 text of Paradise Lost, with emendations and adoptions from the first edition and from the scribal manuscript, an illuminating introduction and abundant explanatory annotations by Gordon Teskey, source and background materials, including Milton's greatest prose work, Areopagitica, in its entirety and key selections from the Bible, topically arranged commentaries and interpretations--seventy-eight in all.
Pharmacology and the Nursing Process by
Thorough application of the nursing process is addressed in each chapter to help you learn how to prioritize nursing care to focus on the most essential assessments, nursing diagnoses, interventions, and evaluation/outcome criteria. Colorful and consistent learner-friendly format utilizes a variety of tables and practical body systems organization to help you integrate pharmacology content with what you are learning in medical-surgical and adult health nursing courses
Pharmacology Clear and Simple by
A body systems approach to pharmacology with a basic math review and a focus on drug classifications prepare you to administer specific drugs in the clinical setting.
Practical Business Math Procedures by
Respected authors Jeffrey Slater and Sharon Wittry incorporate examples from The Wall Street Journal and Kiplinger throughout the entirety of the text to reinforce real-world application of business math. Every chapter concludes with the "My Money" exercises, which encourage students to apply the chapter material to their personal finances while utilizing the Internet's many resources.
The Scientist in the Crib: what early learning tells us about the mind by
This exciting book by three pioneers in the new field of cognitive science discusses important discoveries about how much babies and young children know and learn, and how much parents naturally teach them. It argues that evolution designed us both to teach and learn, and that the drive to learn is our most important instinct.
They Say / I Say by
Used and loved by millions of students for its lively and practical advice, this is the book that demystifies academic writing and shows how to engage with the views of others. Extensively revised in response to feedback from our community of adopters, this edition of "They Say / I Say" is an even more practical companion for students, featuring a new chapter on research, new exercises, expanded support for reading, and an expanded chapter on Revising.
Tort Law by
Interesting, updated content presents the latest legal developments while current cases demonstrate tort concepts applied in today's real world. Realistic situations in this edition are designed to help you further hone your legal understanding and skills. Internet references throughout the text also introduce the latest digital tools and guide you to reliable sources of legal information.
Touchpoints-Birth to Three: your child's emotional and behavioral development by
Brazelton's great empathy for the universal concerns of parenthood, and honesty about the complex feelings it engenders, as well as his uncanny insight into the predictable leaps and regressions of early childhood, have comforted and supported families since its publication in 1992. In this completely revised edition Dr. Brazelton introduces new information on physical, emotional, and behavioral development. He also addresses the new stresses on families and fears of children, with a fresh focus on the role of fathers and other caregivers.
The Visionary Director, Third Edition by
Create a larger vision in your child care program and perform your job as a center director with motivation and creativity.
A World of Ideas by
Use the ideas from some of the world's greatest thinkers to critically discuss their ideas while learning how to effectively communicate your own, in writing, with World of Ideas.
World of Ideas: Essential Readings for College Writers by
Substantial, supportive apparatus helps students focus on both the content of the readings as well as the rhetorical moves that writers use to achieve their purposes, providing instruction and models as students join in the important conversations continuing today. Improved writing instruction includes more scaffolding and examples that provide greater support for students.
Aftershocks by
How does a girl--abandoned by her mother at age two and orphaned at thirteen when her beloved father dies--find her place in the world? This memoir is the story of Nadia creating her own solid ground across countries and continents.
All the Light We Cannot See by
When Marie-Laure is twelve, the Nazis occupy Paris and father and daughter flee to the walled citadel of Saint-Malo, where Marie-Laure's reclusive great uncle lives in a tall house by the sea. With them they carry what might be the museum's most valuable and dangerous jewel. Werner Pfennig, an orphan, grows up enchanted by a crude radio and becomes an expert at building them and is enlisted to use his talent to track down the resistance. Deftly interweaving the lives of Marie-Laure and Werner, Doerr illuminates the ways, against all odds, people try to be good to one another.
American Ideas of Equality: a social history, 1750-2020 by
Describes how the views we hold regarding this fundamental national value developed as products of our cultural history from the origins of the American republic to 2020. It traces how cultural transmission, political and economic structures, and communication technology have shaped this core American value.
The Anger Gap: how race shapes emotion in politics by
This book offers a new conceptualization of anger as a political resource that mobilizes black and white Americans differentially to exacerbate political inequality. Drawing on survey data from the last forty years, experiments, and rhetoric analysis, Phoenix finds that - from Reagan to Trump - black Americans register significantly less anger than their white counterparts and that anger (in contrast to pride) has a weaker mobilizing effect on their political participation. The book examines both the causes of this and the consequences.
Aretha Queen of Soul: a life in photographs by
Illustrated with 85 photos, and with insightful text from noted radio personality and author Meredith Ochs, Aretha explores the diva's life, from her formative years growing up in Detroit, to her singing and recording career from the 1950s until her untimely death in 2018, to her numerous honors, awards, and causes, including her advocacy for civil rights and the arts.
A Beginner's Guide to Scientific Method by
This book not only presents not only a methodical approach to the proper conduct of science but also contains comprehensive coverage of pseudoscience and fallacies. Compact enough to be used as a supplementary book, yet comprehensive enough in its coverage to be used as a core text, this text assists students in using the scientific method to design and assess experiments.
Being Mortal: medicine and what matters in the end by
Gawande offers examples of freer, more socially fulfilling models for assisting the infirm and dependent elderly, and he explores the varieties of hospice care to demonstrate that a person's last weeks or months may be rich and dignified. Full of eye-opening research and riveting storytelling, Being Mortal asserts that medicine can comfort and enhance our experience even to the end, providing not only a good life but also a good end.
Bewilderment: a novel by
The astrobiologist Theo Byrne searches for life throughout the cosmos while single-handedly raising his unusual nine-year-old, Robin, following the death of his wife. Robin is a warm, kind boy who spends hours painting elaborate pictures of endangered animals. As his son grows more troubled, Theo hopes to keep him off psychoactive drugs. He learns of an experimental neurofeedback treatment to bolster Robin's emotional control, one that involves training the boy on the recorded patterns of his mother's brain.
The Cambridge History of Native American Literature by
Endeavors to capture and question the contested character of Indigenous texts and the way they are evaluated. It delineates significant periods of literary and cultural development in four sections: "Traces & Removals" (pre-1870s); "Assimilation and Modernity" (1879-1967); "Native American Renaissance" (post-1960s); and "Visions & Revisions"
Can American Capitalism Survive? : why greed is not good, opportunity is not equal, and fairness won't make us poor by
Pearlstein chronicles our descent and challenges the theories being taught in business schools and exercised in boardrooms around the country. We're missing a key tenet of Adam Smith's wealth of nations: without trust and social capital, democratic capitalism cannot survive. Pearlstein lays out bold steps we can take as a country: a guaranteed minimum income paired with universal national service, tax incentives for companies to share profits with workers, ending class segregation in public education, and restoring competition to markets.
Clearing the Air: the beginning and the end of air pollution by
Smedley explains exactly what air pollution is, which chemicals are the dangerous ones and where they come from. He interviews the scientists and politicians at the forefront of air pollution research as well as those whose lives have been affected by smog. This groundbreaking book reveals the extreme instances of air pollution that have happened around the world, including London, Beijing, Delhi and LA, as well as examining recent stories like the VW diesel scandal
Cloud Cuckoo Land by
Anna, Omeir, Seymour, Zeno, and Konstance are dreamers and outsiders who find resourcefulness and hope in the midst of gravest danger. Their lives are gloriously intertwined, and Doerr's dazzling imagination transports us to worlds so dramatic and immersive that we forget, for a time, our own.
Consequences of Air Pollution on Plants, Animal and Environment : Air Pollution Types and its Consequences on Human, Animals, Plants, Economy and Environment by
This dissertation allocated the effect of air pollution on plants and animals. Our nature is contine disturbed by effects of air pollution and once nature will lost we can't survive well.
Cyberethics: Morality and Law in Cyberspace by
Provides a modern, comprehensive examination of the social costs and moral issues emerging from the ever-expanding use of the internet and new information technologies, as well as internet governance and its control by the state. It highlights both the legal and philosophical perspective of content control, free speech, intellectual property, and security.
Ethics of chemistry : from poison gas to climate engineering by
There is still no academic field of ethics of chemistry to develop an ethically balanced view of the discipline and while ethics courses are increasingly demanded for science and engineering students in many countries, chemistry is still lagging behind. This volume fills both gaps by establishing the scope of ethics of chemistry and providing a cased-based approach to teaching, thereby also narrating a cultural history of chemistry.
Evaluating Training Programs: the four levels by
Going beyond just using simple reaction questionnaires to rate training programs, Kirkpatrick's model focuses on four areas for a more comprehensive approach to evaluation- Evaluating Reaction, Evaluating Learning, Evaluating Behavior, and Evaluating Results.
First, Break All the Rules: what the world's greatest managers do differently by
Gallup presents the remarkable findings of its massive in-depth study of great managers across a wide variety of situations. Some were in leadership positions. Others were front-line supervisors. Some were in Fortune 500 companies; others were key players in small entrepreneurial companies. Whatever their situations, the managers who ultimately became the focus of Gallup's research were invariably those who excelled at turning each employee's talent into performance.
Four Thousand Weeks: time management for mortals by
Introduces readers to tools for constructing a meaningful life by embracing finitude, showing how many of the unhelpful ways we've come to think about time aren't inescapable, unchanging truths, but choices we've made as individuals and as a society--and that we could do things differently.
Fundamentals of Air Pollution by
An important and widely used textbook in the environmental science and engineering community. Sections on pollution control have been reorganized and updated to demonstrate the move from regulation and control approaches to green and sustainable engineering approaches.
Glass Half-Broken: shattering the barriers that still hold women back at work by
Bringing to light the key findings from the latest research in psychology, sociology, organizational behavior, and economics, Ammerman and Groysberg show that throughout their careers --from entry-level to mid-level to senior-level positions--women get pushed out of the leadership pipeline, each time for different reasons. Presenting organizational and managerial strategies designed to weaken and ultimately break down these barriers, Glass Half-Broken is the authoritative resource that managers and leaders at all levels can use to finally shatter the glass ceiling.
Herculaneum and the House of the Bicentenary: History and Heritage by
This volume vividly recounts, for general readers, the Roman town of Herculaneum, destroyed by the eruption of Mount Vesuvius in 79 CE and uniquely preserved for nearly two thousand years. Initial chapters offer an engaging historical overview of the town during antiquity, including the riveting story of its rediscovery in the eighteenth century, excavation in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, and broad cultural significance in modern times.
How We Do Harm: a doctor breaks ranks about being sick in America by
How We Do Harm exposes the underbelly of healthcare today--the overtreatment of the rich, the under treatment of the poor, the financial conflicts of interest that determine the care that physicians' provide, insurance companies that don't demand the best (or even the least expensive) care, and pharmaceutical companies concerned with selling drugs, regardless of whether they improve health or do harm.
Hummingbird in Underworld : teaching in a men's prison : a memoir by
At the age of forty-five, Deborah Tobola returns to her birthplace, San Luis Obispo, to work in the very prison her father worked in when he was a student at Cal Poly. Alternating between tales of creating drama in prison and Tobola's own story, Hummingbird in Underworld takes readers on an unforgettable literary journey--one that is frank, funny, and fascinating.
The Invisible Killer: the rising global threat of air pollution : and how we can fight back by
Fuller's global story examines devastating incidents from London's Great Smog to Norway's acid rain; Los Angeles' traffic problem to wood-burning damage in New Zealand. Fuller argues that the only way to alter the future course of our planet and improve collective global health is for city and national governments to stop ignoring evidence and take action, persuading the public and making polluters bear the full cost of the harm that they do.
The Kissing Bug: a true story of a family, an insect, and a nation's neglect of a deadly disease by
Hernández discovered that Chagas--or the kissing bug disease--is more prevalent in the United States than the Zika virus. After her aunt's death, Hernández began searching for answers. Crisscrossing the country, she interviewed patients, doctors, epidemiologists, and even veterinarians with the Department of Defense. Through unsparing, gripping, and humane portraits, Hernández chronicles a story vast in scope and urgent in its implications, exposing how poverty, racism, and public policies have conspired to keep this disease hidden.
LogoLounge 4 by
Each LogoLounge book presents thousands of logos that have been added to the site, providing designers with an invaluable source for design inspiration and a resource for design solutions. The first portion of the book profiles 10 top designers recent work in the area of logo design; the second part of the book contains almost 2,000 logos organized by logo design (typography, people, mythology, nature, sports, etc.).
The Lost Soul of the American Presidency : the decline into demagoguery and the prospects for renewal by
Documents the devolution of the American presidency from the neutral, unifying office envisioned by the framers of the Constitution into the demagogic, partisan entity of our day. Knott reminds us of presidents who resisted pandering to public opinion and appealed to our better angels--George Washington, John Quincy Adams, Abraham Lincoln, and William Howard Taft, among others--whose presidencies suggest an alternative and offer hope for the future of the nation's highest office.
The Music Business (Explained in Plain English) by
An invaluable primer for artists and songwriters who feel like they are at the mercy of industry pros. Among the topics covered are: choosing agents, managers and attorneys, sending out material, record company deals, distribution, streaming, royalty rates, copyrights, music publishing contracts, creating one's own publishing company, trademarks, music videos, issues between band members, touring, and music for film, television and multimedia.
The Nickel Boys: a novel by
When Elwood Curtis, a black boy growing up in 1960s Tallahassee, is unfairly sentenced to a juvenile reformatory called the Nickel Academy, he finds himself trapped in a grotesque chamber of horrors. Elwood's only salvation is his friendship with fellow "delinquent" Turner, but the tension between Elwood's ideals and Turner's skepticism leads to a decision whose repercussions will echo down the decades.
Organic Chemistry I for Dummies by
A plain-English guide to one of the toughest science courses around Organic chemistry is rated among the most difficult courses that students take and is frequently the cause of washout among pre-med, medical, and nursing students. This book is an easy-to-understand and fun reference to this challenging subject. It explains the principles of organic chemistry in simple terms and includes worked-out problems to help readers get up to speed on the basics.
Organic Chemistry II for Dummies by
A plain-English guide to one of the toughest courses around So, you survived the first semester of Organic Chemistry (maybe even by the skin of your teeth) and now it's time to get back to the classroom and lab! Organic Chemistry II For Dummies is an easy-to-understand reference to this often challenging subject. Thanks to this book, you'll get friendly and comprehensible guidance on everything you can expect to encounter in your Organic Chemistry II course.
Organic Chemistry I Workbook for Dummies by
This hands-on guide helps you solve the many types of organic chemistry problems you encounter in a focused, step-by-step manner. With memorization tricks, problem-solving shortcuts, and lots of hands-on practice exercises, you'll sharpen your skills and improve your performance. You'll see how to work with resonance; the triple-threat alkanes, alkenes, and alkynes; functional groups and their reactions; spectroscopy; and more!
Overdiagnosed: making people sick in the pursuit of health by
Welch argues that while many Americans believe that more diagnosis is always better, the medical, social, and economic ramifications of unnecessary diagnoses are in fact seriously detrimental. Unnecessary surgeries, medication side effects, debilitating anxiety, and the overwhelming price tag on health care are only a few of the potential harms of overdiagnosis. Dr. Welch illustrates how overdiagnosis occurs and the pitfalls of routine tests in healthy individuals.
The Overstory: A Novel by
From the roots to the crown and back to the seeds, the novel unfolds in concentric rings of interlocking fables that range from antebellum New York to the late twentieth-century Timber Wars of the Pacific Northwest and beyond. There is a world alongside ours--vast, slow, interconnected, resourceful, magnificently inventive, and almost invisible to us. This is the story of a handful of people who learn how to see that world and who are drawn up into its unfolding catastrophe.
The Political Economy of Health and Health Care: the rise of the patient citizen by
Presents a unified, structured understanding of how the design of a country's health institutions influence its healthcare activities and outcomes. Building on the 'public choice' tradition in political economy, the authors explore how patient-citizens interact with their country's political institutions to determine the organisation of the health system. The book discusses a number of institutional influences of a health system, such as federalism, the nature of collective action, electoral competition, constitutional designs, political ideologies, the welfare effects of corruption and lobbying and, more generally, the dynamics of change.
The Political Economy of Smog in Southern California by
Explores the ways in which institutions can succeed or fail at environmental improvement. Takes a look at the nature of environmental politics and the history of air pollution control in Southern California. Jeffry Fawcett uses the information gathered to both evaluate the relationship between air quality and institutional change; and to evaluate how political economists explain how state environmental institutions work. This title will be of interest to students of environmental economics and policy.
The Psychology of Music: a Very Short Introduction by
Music has been examined from multiple perspectives: as a product of human history, for example, or a product of human culture. But there is also a long tradition, intensified in recent decades, of thinking about music as a product of the human mind. Whether considering composition, performance, listening, or appreciation, the constraints and capabilities of the human mind play a formative role. The field that has emerged around this approach is known as the psychology of music.
Qualitative Research: a guide to design and implementation by
Merriam, who introduces you to the fundamental concepts of this research method, explains its complex forms, and then shows you exactly how to do a high-quality qualitative study.
Reframing Organizations: artistry, choice, and leadership by
Explains the powerful tool of "reframing." The authors have distilled the organizational literature into a comprehensive approach for looking at situations from more than one angle. Their four frames view organizations as factories, families, jungles, and theaters or temples.
The Rohingya: An Ethnography of "Subhuman" Life by
Offers a comprehensive portrait of how the state becomes instrumental in producing "stateless" people, wherein both Myanmar and Bangladesh alienate the Rohingyas as illegal migrants, and they have to face unemployment, mental and sexual abuse, and deprivation of basic human necessities. The Rohingya proposes a new framework and theoretical alternative called "subhuman life" for understanding the extreme vulnerability of the people as well as the genocide, ethnocide, and domicide taking place in the region.
Science of Bureaucracy: Risk Decision-Making and the US Environmental Protection Agency by
Demortain argues that the EPA is structurally embedded in controversy, resulting in constant reevaluation of its credibility and fueling the evolution of the knowledge and technologies it uses to produce decisions and to create a legitimate image of how and why it acts on the environment. Through its rise and fall at the EPA, risk decision-making enshrines the science of a bureaucracy that learns how to make credible decisions and to reform itself, amid constant conflicts about the environment, risk, and its own legitimacy.
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry by
Teaches readers how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically. Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipline; maintaining effective laboratory notebooks and writing laboratory reports; writing effective research proposals and reports; and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.
Smoke and Mirrors: the politics and culture of air pollution by
Examines the politics of air pollution policies and helps us to understand the ways these policies have led to, idiosyncratic, effective, ineffective, and even disastrous choices about what we choose to put into and take out of the air. Offering historical, contemporary and cross-national perspectives, this volume provides a refreshing new approach to understanding how air pollution policies have evolved over time.
The Stars: The definitive visual guide to the cosmos by
Feast your eyes on glowing galaxies, and rare sights such as dust clouds in the Carina and Ring Nebulae, taken by the Hubble Space Telescope. The Stars also provides an endless parade of mind-blowing facts such as when Betelgeuse explodes, it will release more energy in an instant that the Sun produces in its entire lifetime!
Studying Engineering: a road map to a rewarding career by
A comprehensive guide to engineering education and the engineering profession.
Textbook of Patient Safety and Clinical Risk Management by
The culture of safety in the care environment and of human factors influencing it should be developed from the beginning of medical studies and in the first years of professional practice, in order to have the maximum impact on clinicians' and nurses' behavior.
Thirteen Reasons Why by
Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a strange package with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker--his classmate and crush--who committed suicide two weeks earlier. Hannah's voice tells him that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he'll find out why.
To Make the Wounded Whole : the African American struggle against HIV/AIDS by
Offers the first history of African American AIDS activism in all of its depth and breadth. Royles introduces a diverse constellation of activists, including medical professionals, Black gay intellectuals, church pastors, Nation of Islam leaders, recovering drug users, and Black feminists who pursued a wide array of grassroots approaches to slow the epidemic's spread and address its impacts.
Transforming prejudice : identity, fear, and transgender rights by
Michelson and Harrison, through their experiments, show that the most effective messaging on transgender issues meets people where they are, acknowledges their discomfort without judgment or criticism, and helps them to think about transgender people and rights in a way that aligns with their view of themselves as moral human beings.
Understanding and Promoting Transformative Learning: a guide for educators of adults by
Explains the transformative learning theory, describes the process from the learner s perspective, explores individual differences in transformative learning, presents strategies for fostering transformative learning, and discusses how adult educators themselves are transformative learners.
Viruses, Pandemics, and Immunity by
The enormous human and economic toll of the rapidly spreading COVID-19 disease offers a vivid reminder that infectious disease pandemics are one of the greatest existential threats to humanity. This book provides an accessible explanation of how viruses emerge to cause pandemics, how our immune system combats them, and how diagnostic tests, vaccines, and antiviral therapies work-- concepts that are a foundation for our public health policies.
Wholehearted Librarianship by
With a humanist lens, Stephens reflects on such topics as how libraries can empower kindness; developing a coterie of kindred spirits at conferences outside libraryland; inspiring creativity in library patrons; the most effective professional development experiences; comfort, joy, and hygge in the library; the characteristics of compassionate leadership; how to contend with a devil's advocate; and mentoring new librarians.
Words of the Inuit : a semantic stroll through a northern culture by
Organized thematically, the book tours the histories and meanings of the words to illuminate numerous aspects of Inuit culture, including environment and the land; animals and subsistence activities; humans and spirits; family, kinship, and naming; the human body; and socializing with other people in the contemporary world. It concludes with a reflection on the usefulness for modern Inuit--especially youth and others looking to strengthen their cultural identity --to know about the underlying meanings embedded in their language and culture.
Violence in American Society by
Addresses all aspects of violence in American society, past and present, including societal factors and legal, political, and law enforcement responses Includes lists of research resources for additional study Highlights insightful primary documents of key events and patterns of violence in America Features contributions from prominent scholars in a wide range of fields related to crime, violence, and law.
Basic Life Support Provider Manual by
Contains all the information students need to successfully complete the BLS Course. This manual is designed for a single user, with text that is ideal for use as a reference tool before and after the BLS Course.
A Brief Guide to Arguing about Literature by
More and more, first-year writing courses foreground skills of critical analysis and argumentation. In response, A Brief Guide to Arguing about Literature first hones students' analytical skills through instruction in close critical reading of texts; then, it shows them how to turn their reading into well-supported and rhetorically effective argumentative writing.
Concepts of Biology by
Grounded on an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand.
EKG Plain and Simple by
This popular text focuses not just on identifying rhythms or EKGs, but also on what can be done for the patient. Assuming no prior knowledge, the text covers basic to advanced EKG concepts.
Laboratory Manual by Wise for Seeley's Anatomy and Physiology by
Written by Eric Wise of Santa Barbara City College, this comprehensive manual contains 43 laboratory exercises that are integrated closely with the textbook. Each exercise demonstrates key anatomical and physiological facts and principles presented in Seeley's Principles of Anatomy and Physiology by directing students to investigate specific concepts in greater detail.
The Language of Medicine by
Using Chabner's proven method of learning medical terms by studying them in the context of the human body, this highly-praised and best-selling text helps individuals of all educational backgrounds easily understand and remember important medical terminology by incorporating easy-to-follow explanations, logical and interesting examples, and countless reinforcement exercises.
Medical Law and Professional Ethics by
The text describes various medical laws and the legal impact experienced by professionals who are members of this community. Contemporary topics are covered at length, including the ever-important patient-professional relationship. In addition, privacy issues related to the increasingly digital format of healthcare delivery are emphasized.
Precalculus by
Michael Sullivan's time-tested approach focuses students on the fundamental skills they need for the course: preparing for class, practicing with homework, and reviewing the concepts.
The Sacred and the Profane by
Eliade observes that while contemporary people believe their world is entirely profane or secular, they still at times find themselves connected unconsciously to the memory of something sacred. It's this premise that both drives Eliade's exhaustive exploration of the sacred and buttresses his expansive view of the human experience.
The Three Theban Plays by
Collected here are Antigone, Oedipus the King and Oedipus at Colonus, in a translation by Robert Fagles which retains all of Sophocles' lucidity and power: the cut and thrust of his dialogue, his ironic edge, the surge and majesty of his choruses and, above all, the agonies and triumphs of his characters.
A World of Art by
Sayre teaches students how to ask the right questions about the visual world that surrounds us, and to then respond meaningfully to the complexity of that world. New to the eighth edition, seven thematic chapters help students better identify and understand major themes of art--such as "the cycle of life" and "the body, gender, and identity"--that transcend different eras and regions.
Anatomy and Physiology by
An introduction to the human body -- The chemical level of organization -- The cellular level of organization -- The tissue level of organization -- The integumentary system -- Bone tissue and the skeletal system -- Axial skeleton -- The appendicular skeleton -- Joints -- Muscle tissue -- The muscular system -- The nervous system and nervous tissue -- Anatomy of the nervous system -- The somatic nervouse system -- The autonomic nervous system -- The neurological exam -- The endocrine system -- The cardiovascular system. Blood -- The cardiovascular system. The heart -- The cardiovascular system. Blood vessels and circulation -- The lymphatic and immune system -- The respiratory system -- The digestive system -- Metabolism and nutrition -- The urinary system -- Fluid, electrolyte, and acid-base balance -- The reproductive system -- Development and inheritance.
Basic Life Support Provider Manual by
Contains all the information students need to successfully complete the BLS Course. This manual is designed for a single user, with text that is ideal for use as a reference tool before and after the BLS Course.
Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants by
Learn the foundational concepts and skills necessary to become a successful clinical medical assistant.
EKG Plain and Simple by
This popular text focuses not just on identifying rhythms or EKGs, but also on what can be done for the patient. Assuming no prior knowledge, the text covers basic to advanced EKG concepts.
The Electronic Health Record for the Physician's Office by
Gain real-world practice with an EHR and realistic, hands-on experience performing EHR tasks! With everything needed to learn the foundations of the EHR process, The Electronic Health Record for the Physician's Office, 3rd Edition, helps you master all the administrative, clinical, and billing/coding skills needed to gain certification - and succeed as a medical office professional.
The Language of Medicine by
Using Chabner's proven method of learning medical terms by studying them in the context of the human body, this highly-praised and best-selling text helps individuals of all educational backgrounds easily understand and remember important medical terminology by incorporating easy-to-follow explanations, logical and interesting examples, and countless reinforcement exercises.
Medical Law and Professional Ethics by
The text describes various medical laws and the legal impact experienced by professionals who are members of this community. Contemporary topics are covered at length, including the ever-important patient-professional relationship. In addition, privacy issues related to the increasingly digital format of healthcare delivery are emphasized.
Principles of Pharmacology for Medical Assisting by
Leverages current health care standards to explore common practices, procedures, medications, and drug preparations, explaining concepts in clear and easy-to-understand language.
Precalculus by
Michael Sullivan's time-tested approach focuses students on the fundamental skills they need for the course: preparing for class, practicing with homework, and reviewing the concepts.
The Sacred and the Profane by
Eliade observes that while contemporary people believe their world is entirely profane or secular, they still at times find themselves connected unconsciously to the memory of something sacred. It's this premise that both drives Eliade's exhaustive exploration of the sacred and buttresses his expansive view of the human experience.
Study Guide for Clinical Procedures for Medical Assistants by
This study guide provides additional activities, review questions, and exercises designed to prepare you to work as a clinical medical assistant.
A Visual Analogy Guide to Human Anatomy by
Uses visual analogies to assist the student in learning the details of human anatomy. This book offers a variety of learning activities for students such as labeling diagrams, creating their own drawings, or coloring existing black-and-white illustrations to better understand the material presented.
A World of Art by
Sayre teaches students how to ask the right questions about the visual world that surrounds us, and to then respond meaningfully to the complexity of that world. New to the eighth edition, seven thematic chapters help students better identify and understand major themes of art--such as "the cycle of life" and "the body, gender, and identity"--that transcend different eras and regions.
Basic Life Support Provider Manual by
Contains all the information students need to successfully complete the BLS Course. This manual is designed for a single user, with text that is ideal for use as a reference tool before and after the BLS Course.
By the People by
The most successful introduction to American government text published in a generation.
Discovering Psychology by
Discovering Psychology is the most effective book available for helping students develop scientific literacy and explore the real impact of psychology across the breadth of cultural diversity.
The Little Seagull Handbook by
"Easy to use and easy to afford, The Little Seagull Handbook is the #1 brief handbook because students say it has a positive impact on their writing. Intuitive organization, color-coding, and jargon-free instruction for common kinds of writing make it a reference tool that student writers truly use."
A Pocket Guide to the US Constitution by
Arnold provides concise explanations of the Constitution's meaning and history, offering little-known facts and anecdotes about every article and all twenty-seven amendments. This handy guide won't tell you what the Constitution ought to say, nor what it ought to mean. It will tell you what the Constitution says and what it has meant.
They Say / I Say by
Used and loved by millions of students for its lively and practical advice, this is the book that demystifies academic writing and shows how to engage with the views of others. Extensively revised in response to feedback from our community of adopters, this edition of "They Say / I Say" is an even more practical companion for students, featuring a new chapter on research, new exercises, expanded support for reading, and an expanded chapter on Revising.
A World of Art by
Sayre teaches students how to ask the right questions about the visual world that surrounds us, and to then respond meaningfully to the complexity of that world. New to the eighth edition, seven thematic chapters help students better identify and understand major themes of art--such as "the cycle of life" and "the body, gender, and identity"--that transcend different eras and regions.