Guides: ENGL C101 Guide for Cliff Davis: Odyssey: Articles

Articles from Library Databases: Greek Culture, Religion, and Warfare

This is a small sampling of articles from our databases. See the list of recommended databases to find more articles.

Your Cerro Coso Username and Password are required to view these articles off-campus.

Ancient Greece: Overview of Warfare in Ancient Greece
The first invaders encountered an existing civilization, the Minoan culture on the island of Crete, with which they eventually merged. The resulting Greek civilization was shaped, in large part, by warfare.
Ancient Greek Religion
As a rule, the ethics of a people are closely bound up with its religion, and if one wishes to understand early Greek ethics it is worthwhile to take a look at the religion in which they had their origin.
Social Order in the 'Odyssey'
This essay reexamines the social structure represented in the 'Odyssey', especially the society of Ithaka. The object is not merely to illuminate the 'background' of the epic but to suggest that social order is its predominant theme.
The Imagined Phoenicians in Homer's Odyssey
The stories in the Odyssey, at most, provide a virtual reality and a real fiction, which can open a unique window to understand the profound impact brought about through the interaction with Phoenicians. Integral to the question of the imagined Phoenicians is the construction of a symbolic connection with the Other, which is of considerable significance in the configuration of Greek identity. Furthermore, apart from Phoenician alphabets, diverse examples such as purple colors, date palms, and silver bowls indeed exemplify how part of Phoenician culture may well turn out to be instilled into Greek daily life.
The Devious Narrator of the "Odyssey"
The narrator of the Odyssey, who appears objective and perfectly reliable, frequently misleads his listeners/readers by raising false expectations, making surprising shifts, concealing facts, leading them to believe inaccurate representations and leaving them in ambiguity. In this respect the narrator resembles his underhanded hero and puts his relationship with the audience on a footing similar to that between Odysseus and the other characters.
Epic Ways of Killing a Woman: Gender and Transgression in "Odyssey"
The poem Odyssey involves the hanging of the serving unfaithful servants, which is often overlooked. It is suggested that women's death must be read in conjunction with the relationship of Penelope and Odysseus.
Gender and Internal Audiences in the Odyssey
The internal and implied audiences in the 'Odyssey' create and support an ideal female behavior through seeming to subvert it. The internal audiences are generally all-men with the exception of two moments when Odysseus speaks to his wife and when he includes Arete as an active listener.
Athena and Penelope as Foils for Odysseus in the "Odyssey"
The two figures in the Odyssey who most closely resemble the hero in his characteristic excellence are Athena and Penelope. Paradoxically, these figures belong to groups that are not thought of as furnishing potential peers for the hero: both are female, and one is a divinity.
Homer's Odyssey: Penelope and the case for early recognition
In 1950 Philip Whaley Harsh suggested that Penelope in book 19 of the "Odyssey" first suspected that the stranger in the palace was her husband. The standard interpretation of Penelope's recognition of Odysseus would have us believe that she does not recognize him until book 23. The time of Penelope's recognition, however, can only be determined in how the "Odyssey" is read.
Women's Space and Wingless Words in The Odyssey
This paper explores the association of the old nurse Eurycleia with doors, an association that helps to define the conceptual relationships between speech, space, and gender.
Kleos and Its Ironies in the Odyssey
In the following essay, Segal studies the theme of kleos, or renown, in the Odyssey (circa eighth-seventh century bce). He presents Odysseus’s kleos as ambiguous and paradoxical, winning as he does by guile rather than force. Odysseus’s narration to the Phaeacians, his meeting with the Cyclops, and his restoration of festive song as at a wedding near the end of the poem, Segal argues, offer different models for the social function of song and memory.
Omens in the 'Odyssey'
As the Odyssey unfolds, we are given certain assurances, pledges of Olympian concern in the story, indications that the gods are behind the action and that all will turn out well in the end. To give these pledges their most general term, they are omens or portents. These omens are in one sense more significant for us, the readers, who know the divine plan for Odysseus' return, than they are for the characters, who have to take them as signs of hope for the future.

Library Databases

These recommended databases contain full text articles from a variety of journals and magazines.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The majority of full text titles are in native (searchable) PDF format.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A web-based digital video delivery platform that provides streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, making available thousands of videos for in-class use and remote viewing.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors and literary resources from every age and literary discipline.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, and humanities, as well as ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Also features a collection of free images and artwork from Artstor.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a guide to the meaning, pronunciation, historical evolution and usage of 600,000 words.

A-Z Database List View the full list of Cerro Coso's databases.

LIBRARY

ENGL C101 Guide for Cliff Davis: Odyssey: Articles

Articles from Library Databases: Greek Culture, Religion, and Warfare

Library Databases