Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the CHDV C203 Research Guide
This guide is designed to assist you as you embark on your Action Research Project. A core component of the project is research, which requires you to differentiate between scholarly and popular sources and to draw on scholarly research in the field of Early Childhood Education to inform your project.
To find articles, try some of the databases below. You can also search for books, eBooks, and websites using the tabbed pages above.
Child Development Databases
Here are just a few of the databases you might use to find articles.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The majority of full text titles are in native (searchable) PDF format.
Ed.Flicks This link opens in a new window
Contains training videos on demand that support early childhood education.
Education Video Collection
Addresses basics such as effective teaching methods and classroom management as well as best practices for use of technology, application of standards, overcoming the challenges of special needs students, understanding legal and ethical issues, and more.
ERIC [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and research from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. Access link may only be available in the record.
Explora [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
A visual interface which includes Academic Search Premier, Newspaper Source Plus, Health Source: Consumer Edition, MAS Ultra, ERIC, and Professional Development Collection.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBook encyclopedias on nearly every subject, available 24/7 through the Gale Virtual Reference Library platform.
MAS Ultra: School Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for high school libraries and contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines, more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Getting Started on a Research Paper
- Read your assignment guidelines carefully before beginning your research. Decide what kinds of resources you need and where you might find them.
- Search databases to find articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and other media which is usually found behind a paywall. The library subscribes to databases and provides access to you at no extra cost!
- Read journal articles, which are found in scholarly publications written by researchers and experts in the field. Journals and their articles can be found in databases. You can usually search for ones that are "peer reviewed" by other experts.
- Evaluate websites before using them as resources in your paper. Find out when, by whom, and for what purpose the information was written. Yes, sometimes you have to do research on your research!
- Cite your sources. Find out whether you will need to use APA or MLA style to cite sources in your paper, and be sure to keep track of your sources so people (yourself included) can find them again.