If you've been in one of our EBSCOhost databases lately, you may have noticed that they have redecorated! EBSCO has recently upgraded their search interface and added a few more features.
For one thing, the URL at the top of your browser window can be copied to work as a functioning link! (This sounds like a normal expected function, but for many years students and library staff alike have been tormented by temporary EBSCO links that did not work after closing out of the browser. Fortunately, this long nightmare is now over.)
Whether you're just starting out in your research adventure or would like a refresher, here's a breakdown of how to search for articles and more in EBSCO's databases:
1. You can search many EBSCO at once by clicking on the database name link option just above the search bar and selecting the ones you want to search.
For a Basic Search, type a few basic keywords (not full sentences!) and then click the magnifying glass. For an Advanced Search, click the link below the magnifying glass.
2. On the results screen you will see filter options just below the search bar. For best results, make sure the Full Text box is checked. That will show you only resources where instant access to the full text is available. If searching for scholarly articles, select Peer Reviewed as well.
For more recent articles, click the All time filter and select a year range. If you want articles from a specific time period, click All filters, expand Publication Date, and select Custom Range.
You can also limit your search by Source type. Academic journals are recommended for college papers, but Magazines and Newspapers may also be useful depending on your assignment.
To narrow down a topic by subject, click All filters and expand Subject, then search and select the subject you want.
3. If you find a useful article, check out what subject terms it uses. You can either do another search using these terms, or click on the subject link to see other articles that use it.
4. To open the article directly, click Access Options, PDF Full Text, or Online Full Text. If none of these appear, make sure you have selected Full Text at the top below the search bar. (Psst - If you want an article that we don't have in full text, we can likely order it through Interlibrary Loan.)
5. Clicking on the title instead of the full text link will take you to the detailed item record. You can tell if your record is peer-reviewed by the yellow icon above the title. It will also show you what kind of resource you have.
6. The row of tool icons at the top is particularly useful if you need to save, cite or share the article. Click the quotation mark icon to automatically generate a citation in APA or MLA style, among others. (Remember to check it for accuracy before using it in a paper, because this tool sometimes makes mistakes!) To get the direct permanent link to the item, click the arrow icon, then click Create Link.
7. To view the article from this page, click on PDF Full Text or the Online Full Text buttons. You can also Download the article for later viewing in any available format.
8. The Additional Information section is a great place to find the abstract or summary of the article. It's also the fastest way to find the DOI. If you scroll down, you can see links to the author and publication, in case you want to see what else they have written or published. To find articles on similar subjects, scroll down the page and click a link in the Subject Terms area. Since many EBSCO databases use specific terminology, this area is great for finding keyword suggestions when you are stuck.
Check out our Library Research Orientation guide to find tutorials like this one about our other library databases and search tools.
Happy researching!
0 Comments.