Guides: Culturally Responsive Pedagogy: Research Strategies

General Strategies

Conducting searches across multiple databases will result in optimal coverage. Tip: K-12 education has done a lot of work in the area of culturally responsive and inclusive pedagogy that can be applied to Higher Education.

Education Databases: ERIC is best for peer-reviewed articles. Note: some full-text article links will direct you outside of the database, directly to ERIC, to view and download the PDF. The Professional Development Collection also has education-related content from practitioner journals and magazines.
Multi-Subject-Coverage Databases: Academic Search Complete and Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center both have coverage on multiple aspects of education, including online learning, technology and education, higher education, special education, and culturally relevant pedagogy.

Featured Article:

Borrero, Noah, et al. "Teaching for Change: New Teachers' Experiences with and Visions for Culturally Relevant Pedagogy." Critical Questions in Education, vol. 9, no. 1, 2018, p. 22+. Opposing Viewpoints in Context, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/A549

Complementary (Subject-Specific) Databases: Many of our subject-specific databases like Science in Context, Business Source Elite, Health Source Nursing/Academic, and Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection include articles specific to teaching, learning, and pedagogy.
Google Scholar: With access to an interdisciplinary collection of openly-accessible scholarly articles, it can be a good place to start. Keep in mind that most of the content listed will not be freely available full text. Cerro Coso Library’s Interlibrary Loan service can be used to request articles located here and not available in our databases.
- Google Scholar Tip (“Cited By”): If you find a relevant article, type the title into Google Scholar to find out what other articles have that source cited as many of those will also be on the topic.
Cerro Coso Library Catalog: Our collection of books and eBooks includes dozens of general titles on the topic of culturally responsive pedagogy as well as some targeted to specific disciplines. View the pages in this LibGuide to see a sampling of titles in the General, STEM, Humanities, and Social Sciences academic areas.

ERIC [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
The Education Resource Information Center provides access to education literature and research from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966. Access link may only be available in the record.
Professional Development Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Designed for professional educators, this database is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world. Provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The majority of full text titles are in native (searchable) PDF format.
Opposing Viewpoints [Gale in Context] This link opens in a new window
A one-stop source for information on social issues, with access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals, as well as experiments and projects.
Business Source Elite [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.

Google Scholar
Searches court cases and scholarly articles , some of which are freely available .
Interlibrary Loan
Use our forms to request a book or journal article from libraries around the country.
Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to find books and eBooks.

Search for Library Books and EBooks

Relevant Search Terms and Subjects in Databases/Catalog

Academic achievement
Classroom environment
College teaching
Community colleges
Critical literacy
Culturally relevant pedagogy
Curriculum
Educational equalization
Ethnic groups
Feminist pedagogy
Gender bias
Inclusion
Minority groups
Multicultural education
Non traditional students
Race
Racial discrimination
Social integration
Social justice
Stereotypes
Student centered learning
Student diversity
Teaching -- social aspects
Teaching methods