Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When using library eResources off-campus, you may be prompted to log in with your full student email address and password. If you have trouble, please visit our Troubleshooting page.
Welcome to the Business Research Guide
To find articles, try some of the databases below. You can also search for books, eBooks, and websites using the tabbed pages above.
Nexis Uni Business
The Nexis Uni landing page for business topics, including links to company dossiers, business news, business-related court decisions, blogs, and more.
Here are just a few of the databases you might use to find articles.
Academic Search Complete [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The majority of full text titles are in native (searchable) PDF format.
Business & Economics Video Collection
In a world of bubbles and busts, extreme poverty and astronomical wealth, rapidly emerging worldwide markets and a digital revolution that is transforming practically everything, few video collections are more crucial to keeping up with changing times. Economic theory, basic business education, accounting and finance fundamentals, business ethics and law, management and marketing—it’s all here, in depth.
Business Source Elite [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 business publications. The rich collection of titles provides information dating back to 1985. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from Datamonitor are also included. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.
Communication Video Collection
This collection covers both basic and advanced techniques of communicating across multiple mediums and varied settings. Instructional videos, documentary films, and expert presentations cover advertising, digital media, film, journalism, interpersonal communication, and more.
Gale EBooks This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBook encyclopedias on nearly every subject, available 24/7 through the Gale Virtual Reference Library platform.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Covers newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. Updated daily.
Regional Business News [EBSCO] This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications and incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Getting Started on a Research Paper
- Read your assignment guidelines carefully before beginning your research. Decide what kinds of resources you need and where you might find them.
- Search databases to find articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and other media which is usually found behind a paywall. The library subscribes to databases and provides access to you at no extra cost!
- Read journal articles, which are found in scholarly publications written by researchers and experts in the field. Journals and their articles can be found in databases. You can usually search for ones that are "peer reviewed" by other experts.
- Evaluate websites before using them as resources in your paper. Find out when, by whom, and for what purpose the information was written. Yes, sometimes you have to do research on your research!
- Cite your sources. Find out whether you will need to use APA or MLA style to cite sources in your paper, and be sure to keep track of your sources so people (yourself included) can find them again.