Here are just a few eBook titles available online that may help your paralegal research. Search the library catalog for more!
Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your student ID. Don't forget to include the @ symbol! [e.g. @00123456]
Constitutional & Administrative Law by
Hilaire Barnett's respected and ever-popular textbook helps to provide students with an understanding of the constitution's past, present and future by analysing and illustrating the political and socio-historical contexts which have shaped the constitution, the current major rules and principles of public law and on-going constitutional reform.
Fundamentals of California Litigation for Paralegals by
Offers a complete understanding of the litigation process from the time the client walks into the office through to trial and post-judgment, including settlements and alternative forms of resolutions. Tailored to California practice, the authors' successful, balanced approach presents a complete overview of the litigation process, with clear explanations and examples of the rules and procedures.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law by
"This encyclopedia fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Containing approximately 200 articles, the Encyclopedia includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state."
Introduction to Law for Paralegals: A Critical Thinking Approach by
"Balancing practice and theory, Introduction to Law for Paralegals: A Critical Thinking Approach offers a well-rounded introduction to law and the American legal system."
Trials of the Century by
This comprehensive set of essays documents the most important criminal, civil, and political trials in the United States from colonial times to the present, examining their impact on both legal history and popular culture.
U. S. Court Cases by
his volume includes: Law and the courts. Court cases: Abington School District v. Schempp--Genesee Chief v. Fitzhugh. Provides a comprehensive collection of essays covering numerous rulings by the U.S. Supreme Court and other federal and state courts.
The Bluebook by
The definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Blacks Law Dictionary by 
A Dictionary of Legal Theory by 
A Dictionary of Modern Legal Usage by 
Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by Books at Cerro Coso are shelved by subject using Library of Congress call numbers. Here is a breakdown of where to find books on your topic:
When looking in the catalog (and some databases) for resources, try searching by subject keyword for more refined results. Here are some general subject headings you may wish to try:
Here are just a few titles available for checkout at Cerro Coso to help your paralegal research. Search the library catalog for more!
Judges and Their Audiences by
Baum argues that the influence of judges' audiences is pervasive. This influence derives from judges' interest in popularity and respect, a motivation central to most people. Judges care about the regard of audiences because they like that regard in itself, not just as a means to other ends.
Nolo's Guide to California Law by
This is the only plain-English guide to the laws that affect Californians every day -- and now it is completely updated, covering domestic partnerships, employment protections, consumer privacy and more!
The Power to Legislate by
Offers a comprehensive and in-depth analysis of the extent and limitations of legislative power granted by the U. S. Constitution. By examining the historical development of the Constitution as well as judicial precedent set by the Supreme Court, Richard E. Levy develops a systematic account of federal legislative power that is ideal for anyone interested in constitutional history and political science.
The Spirit of Laws by
A powerful influence on the framers of the U.S. Constitution, this classic work will appeal to history buffs and anyone interested in the roots of modern political theory and government.
