Here are just a few of the available titles that may help with your research. Search the library catalog for more!
American Revolution: the Definitive Encyclopedia and Document Collection [5 Volumes] by
This authoritative and complete encyclopedia covers not only the eight years of the American Revolutionary War (1775-1783) but also the decades leading up to the war, beginning with the French and Indian War, and the aftermath of the conflict, with an emphasis on the early American Republic.
Americans at War: Eyewitness Accounts from the American Revolution to the 21st Century [3 Volumes] by
This outstanding collection provides a diverse set of eyewitness accounts of Americans in combat throughout U.S. history. Offering riveting true stories, it includes accounts from participants.
Arming the Nation for War: Mobilization, Supply, and the American War Effort in World War II by
In Arming the Nation for War, a previously unpublished account long buried among the late author's papers and originally marked confidential, Patterson describes the vast challenges the United States faced as it had to equip, in a desperately short time, a fighting force capable of confronting a formidable enemy. Brimming with data and detail, the book also abounds with deep insights into the myriad problems encountered on the domestic mobilization front.
The Black Cabinet by
A magnificently researched, dramatically told work of narrative nonfiction about the history, evolution, impact, and ultimate demise of what was known in the 1930s and 1940s as President Franklin Delano Roosevelt's Black Cabinet.
The Great Depression by
Here, from the respected historian Edmund O. Stillman, are the stories of The Great Depression, the 1930s, and an American people defined by their resilience in the face of debilitating despair.
A Little History of the United States by
In short, vivid chapters the book brings to life hundreds of individuals whose stories are part of the larger American story. Such stories are riveting in themselves, but they also spark larger questions to ponder about freedom, equality, and unity in the context of a nation that is, and always has been, remarkably divided and diverse.
Recasting the Vote: How Women of Color Transformed the Suffrage Movement by
Cahill tells the powerful stories of a multiracial group of activists who propelled the national suffrage movement toward a more inclusive vision of equal rights. Cahill reveals a new cast of heroines largely ignored in earlier suffrage histories. With these feminists of color in the foreground, Cahill recasts the suffrage movement as an unfinished struggle that extended beyond the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment. As we celebrate the centennial of a great triumph for the women's movement, Cahill's powerful history reminds us of the work that remains.
A Short History of the American Civil War by
Melding social, cultural and military history, the author explores iconic battles like Shiloh, Chickamauga, Antietam and Gettysburg, as well as the bitterly contesting forces underlying them. He shows that while both sides began the war in order to preserve - the integrity of the American state in the case of the Union, the integrity of a culture and value system in the case of the Confederacy - it allowed the South to define a regional identity that has survived into modern times.
Woodrow Wilson and the Reimagining of Eastern Europe by
Traces how Wilson's emerging definition of national self-determination and his practical application of the principle changed over time as negotiations at the Paris Peace Conference unfolded. Larry Wolff exposes the contradictions between Wilson's principles and their implementation in the peace settlement for Eastern Europe, and sheds light on how his decisions were influenced by both personal relationships and his growing awareness of the history of the Ottoman and Habsburg empires.
Alexander Hamilton by
Chernow presents a landmark biography of Alexander Hamilton, the Founding Father who galvanized, inspired, scandalized, and shaped the newborn nation.
American Revolutions : a continental history, 1750-1804 by
Rising out of the continental rivalries of European empires and their native allies, Taylor's Revolution builds like a ground fire overspreading Britain's mainland colonies, fueled by local conditions, destructive, hard to quell.
The Bill of the Century : the epic battle for the Civil Rights Act by
The Civil Rights Act of 1964 bill's passage has often been credited to the political leadership of President Lyndon B. Johnson, or the moral force of Martin Luther King Jr. Yet as Clay Risen shows, the battle for the Civil Rights Act was a broad, epic struggle, a sweeping tale of unceasing grassroots activism, ringing speeches, backroom deal-making, and, finally, hand-to-hand legislative combat.
Born to battle : Grant and Forrest : Shiloh, Vicksburg, and Chattanooga : the campaigns that doomed the Confederacy by
Hurst shows how Grant and Forrest brought to the battlefield the fabled virtues of the American working-class: hard work, ingenuity, and intense determination. Each man's background contributed to his triumphs on the battlefield, but the open-mindedness of his fellow commanders proved just as important. When the North embraced Grant, it won a stalwart defender. When the South rejected Forrest, by contrast, it sealed its fate.
The Fiery Trial: Abraham Lincoln and American slavery by
Foner's Lincoln emerges as a leader, one whose greatness lies in his capacity for moral and political growth through real engagement with allies and critics alike. This powerful work will transform our understanding of the nation's greatest president and the issue that mattered most.
Freedom Flyers: the Tuskegee Airmen of World War II by
As the country's first African American military pilots, the Tuskegee Airmen fought in World War II on two fronts: against the Axis powers in the skies over Europe and against Jim Crow racism and Moye captures the challenges and triumphs of these brave pilots in their own words, drawing on more than 800 interviews recorded for the National Park Service's Tuskegee Airmen Oral History Project.
Why You Can't Teach United States History Without American Indians by
The uniqueness of Indigenous history, as interwoven more fully in the American story, will challenge students to think in new ways about larger themes in U.S. history, such as settlement and colonization, economic and political power, citizenship and movements for equality, and the fundamental question of what it means to be an American.
Books at Cerro Coso are shelved by subject using Library of Congress call numbers. Here is a breakdown of where to find books on your topic:
When looking in the catalog (and some databases) for resources, try searching by subject keyword for more refined results. Here are some general subject headings you may wish to try: