Guides: ENGL C102 Guide for Yvonne Mills: Feminism

Critical Articles

The Autonomous Female Self and the Death of Louise Mallard in Kate Chopin's 'Story of an Hour"
Cunningham maintains that the heroine of "The Story of an Hour" dies of shock resulting from an overwhelming feeling of freedom in the wake of her husband's supposed death.
more...less...
Article by Mark Cunningham in Gale Literature database.
Chopin's 'The Story of an Hour'
Deneau treats the ambiguous suggestion of rape that marks the protagonist's inner awakening in "The Story of an Hour."
more...less...
Article by Daniel P. Deneau in Gale Literature database.
Fatal Self-Assertion in Kate Chopin's 'The Story of an Hour.'
Berkove contends that Chopin's narration of "The Story of an Hour" is ironic rather than straightforward.
more...less...
Article by Lawrence L. Berkove from Gale Literary Sources
Hanging 'The Yellow Wall-Paper': Feminism and Textual Studies
Features the concept of the book 'The Yellow Wallpaper,' by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. Focus of the story on feminism.
more...less...
Article by Shawn St. John from EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Hemingway's 'Hills Like White Elephants'
Rankin refutes the dominance of the male character in "Hills Like White Elephants," identifying Jig as the superior intellect and, ultimately, the victor in the verbal confrontation.
more...less...
Article by Paul Rankin in Gale Literature database.
Hills Like White Elephants: Overview
Examines the tense conflict between a man and a woman about a decision that will affect the rest of their lives. In accord with Hemingway's "iceberg theory" that an essential element of a story could be implied but never stated, the woman's pregnancy and the man's insistence on an abortion are never directly articulated, even though the issue becomes increasingly evident as the conversation progresses.
more...less...
Article by James Nagel in Gale Literature database.
Letting the air into a relationship: metaphorical abortion in `Hills Like White Elephants'
Analyses of Ernest Hemingway's "Hills Like White Elephants" are the debate over whether or not Jig will carry her pregnancy to term and the search for biographical experiences that may have inspired and influenced the story.
more...less...
Article by David Wyche in the Gale Literature database.
Managing Madness in Gilman's 'The Yellow Wall-Paper'
Hume asserts that Gilman's narrator in "The Yellow Wallpaper" confounds her own attempts at liberation by reinforcing the gender stereotypes of her society and turning away from the natural world.
more...less...
Article by Beverly A. Hume in the Gale Literature database.
An overview of “The Story of an Hour”
Hicks discusses the theme of female self-assertion as it relates to “The Story of an Hour.”
more...less...
Article by Jennifer Hicks in Gale Literature database.
An overview of 'The Yellow Wallpaper'
Korb discusses “The Yellow Wallpaper” as a story of female confinement and escape.
more...less...
Article by Rena Korb in the Gale Literature database.
Time and Gender in Charlotte Perkins Gilman's "The Yellow Wall-Paper" and Kate Chopin's "The Story of an Hour"
Both stories present female characters oppressed by the patriarchal authority in the marriage and their attempts to liberate themselves from this oppression.
more...less...
Article by Fahima Q. Berenji from EBSCO Academic Search Complete
Why I Wrote 'The Yellow Wallpaper.'
Gilman, the author offers an explanation of her original intention in writing "The Yellow Wallpaper."
more...less...
Article by Charlotte Perkins Gilman from Gale Literary Sources
‘The Yellow Wallpaper’ and Women’s Discourse
Ford proposes that the narrator, like many women who write, seeks a place to which to retreat from male-dominated writing traditions—a space the narrator hopes to uncover by pulling back the wallpaper and revealing the blank wall behind it.
more...less...
Article by Karen Ford in Gale Literature database.

Library Databases

Here are just a few of the databases you might use to find articles.

Academic Search Complete [EBSCO]
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications. The majority of full text titles are in native (searchable) PDF format.

English Video Collection
Comprehensive overviews of literary movements. Scholarly films on the evolution of the English language. Productions of major plays. Documentaries on the world’s most prominent writers. Instructional titles on the fundamentals of language. With more than 1,300 films, this collection covers the vast expanse of topics found in the English curriculum.

Gale EBooks
A collection of eBook encyclopedias on nearly every subject, available 24/7 through the Gale Virtual Reference Library platform.
JSTOR
Includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, and humanities, as well as ecology, mathematics, and statistics. Also features a collection of free images and artwork from Artstor.
Gale Literature
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors and literary resources from every age and literary discipline.
Oxford English Dictionary
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is a guide to the meaning, pronunciation, historical evolution and usage of 600,000 words.

A-Z Database List View the full list of Cerro Coso's databases.

LIBRARY

ENGL C102 Guide for Yvonne Mills: Feminism

Search Tips for "The Yellow Wallpaper" by Gilman, "The Story of an Hour" by Chopin, and "Hills Like White Elephants" by Hemingway

Critical Articles

Library Databases