Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Embedding Resources in Canvas: Link to Articles & Videos

A guide designed for faculty using and embedding library resources in Canvas.

Linking to articles in databases can be tricky, since just copying and pasting the web address doesn't always work. You will generally need to do 3 things to successfully link to articles so your students can use them.

1. Find the Permalink. When you search for an item in a database, the URL at the top of the browser often includes a long string of unintelligible letters and numbers which usually breaks as soon as you close the window. Instead, look for the permalink, which is a stable, shorter link that does not change.

2. Include the EZProxy URL prefix. As part of our agreement with databases to ensure that only current students and staff have access to articles when off-campus, the library must route its database and eBook access through a proxy service. To do this on an individual level with articles, every URL must also include the EZProxy prefix. While some databases automatically attach this prefix to their permalinks, others do not. In these cases, you will have to add the prefix to the beginning of each URL manually. See the section on Linking to Database Articles for instructions on individual databases. Cerro Coso's EZProxy URL prefix is https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=

3. Include Other Citation Information. The internet is a rapidly changing thing, and URLs are constantly breaking despite our best efforts. Include other citation information with the link, such as the title, author, and the database, so students can find the article independently if the link breaks.

Note: When logging into Cerro Coso Library databases, you will need to include your full college email address and password.

Linking to Database Articles & Videos

Britannica Link ScreenshotTo link to an article in Britannica Academic, you will need to do several things.

  1. On the article page, click the "Cite" icon at the top which looks like a checkmark.
  2. Highlight and copy the URL as it appears in the citation at the bottom of the pop-up box, then paste where desired. This is likely the same URL that appears at the top of your browser.
  3. Add the Cerro Coso Proxy URL prefix (https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=) to the front of the URL.

For example, https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/William-Shakespeare/109536 should become https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/William-Shakespeare/109536.

CountryWatch URLTo link to an article in CountryWatch, highlight and copy the URL at the top of your browser. A direct link may not require an EZProxy login, but students will be unable to click on other links and view those pages.

In order to have students view multiple pages or explore the database, direct them to the general CountryWatch database link: https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=http://www.countrywatch.com/ip/default.aspx.

 

Screenshot of PermalinkGetting the links for articles and eBooks in EBSCO databases is fairly easy.

  1. Under the tools option in the right side bar, click "Permalink."
  2. Click the URL that appears at the top to highlight it.
  3. Right click > Copy or type CTRL + C to copy.

You can copy this permalink into Canvas as is. The EZProxy URL prefix is already incorporated, so you do not need to add it manually.

Along with the majority of Cerro Coso's ebook collection, EBSCO databases also include:

Ed.Flicks URL ScreenshotTo link to an article in Child Care Exchange's Ed.flicks database, you will need to do two things.

  1. On the article page, highlight and copy the URL at the top of your browser.
  2. Add the Cerro Coso Proxy URL prefix (https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=) to the front of the URL.

For example, https://www.childcareexchange.com/catalog/product/developmental-milestones/7710011/ should become https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=https://www.childcareexchange.com/catalog/product/developmental-milestones/7710011/.

Films on Demand Canvas EmbeddingNote: Using embed links from the Films on Demand website may cause issues for students accessing resources off-campus. We recommend using the Canvas LTI technique below instead.

When you create a course or discussion post in Canvas, you have a Rich Content Editor box that contains a tool tray. In the bottom row of this tray are icons for YouTube, Vimeo, and a More External Tools arrow, which has a dropdown menu where you will find Films on Demand. Search the database for the film or clip you want, then click "Embed" and select a size. This pastes the embed code straight into your Canvas page.

Gale in Canvas LTINote: Using embed links from the Gale databases may cause issues for students accessing resources off-campus. We recommend using the Canvas LTI technique below instead.

When you create a course or discussion post in Canvas, you have a Rich Content Editor box that contains a tool tray. In the bottom row of this tray are icons for YouTube, Vimeo, and a More External Tools down arrow, which has a dropdown menu where you can scroll to find the Gale resources. Search the database for the article you want, then click "Link to Document" or "Embed Document." The first creates a link with the title, while the second embeds the article and its various database options right in the page.

If you are unable to use the LTI, you can grab a link to an article from Gale databases, but you will need to do several things.

  1. On the article page, click the "Get Link" icon at the top.
  2. Click "Select" to highlight the URL as it appears in the citation, then copy. This URL is the same as the one that appears in the citation if you click on Citation Tools or scroll to the Source Citation at the end of the article.
  3. Add the Cerro Coso Proxy URL prefix https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url= to the front of the URL if it is not included already.

For example, http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3427400758/GVRL?u=cclc_cerroccc&sid=GVRL&xid=40a63a55 should become https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=http://link.galegroup.com/apps/doc/CX3427400758/GVRL?u=cclc_cerroccc&sid=GVRL&xid=40a63a55.

JSTOR Remote LinkTo link to a JSTOR article, you will need to do several things.

  1. On the article page, look for the Remote Access URL under the publication information on the left.
  2. Highlight and copy the URL, then paste where desired.

You can copy this permalink into Canvas as is. The EZProxy URL prefix is already incorporated, so you do not need to add it manually.

Although many JSTOR articles are freely available to read online, going through the library allows users to download articles and access a larger collection.

 

Nexis Uni URL ScreenshotTo link to an article in Nexis Uni, you will need to do several things.

  1. On the article page, click the drop down "Actions" menu at the top next to the title.
  2. Click the "Link to This Page" Option.
  3. Highlight and copy the URL as it appears.
  4. Add the Cerro Coso Proxy URL prefix (https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=) to the front of the URL.

For example, https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/d1add647-ec6e-4757-8555-4c62babe5e36/?context=1516831 should become https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=https://advance.lexis.com/api/permalink/d1add647-ec6e-4757-8555-4c62babe5e36/?context=1516831.

Oxford English Dictionary Citation ScreenshotTo link to an article in the Oxford English Dictionary, you will need to do several things.

  1. On the article page, click the "Cite" link at the top .
  2. Select "MLA8" from the drop-down menu.
  3. Highlight and copy the URL, then paste where desired.
  4. You will need to add "https://" in front of this URL!
  5. Add the Cerro Coso Proxy URL prefix (https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=) to the front of the URL.

For example, www.oed.com/view/Entry/177323 should become https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=https://www.oed.com/view/Entry/177323.

Troubleshooting Database Links

  1. My link is taking people to the database's login screen and asking them to set up accounts or subscribe.
    • Does the EZProxy prefix appear at the beginning of your article's URL? If not, you will need to add it manually in front of your article's URL: <https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=>. This should route the article through the Cerro Coso Library's login screen.
  2. Why can't the library add permalink buttons to all the databases?
    • That would be nice! Unfortunately, each database belongs to a third party company that gets to decide how its articles are displayed and shared. The platforms that are used to host these articles don't always include features to make it easy for us to link to them.
  3. My links keep breaking!
    • Are you copying the stable permalink provided by the database? Sometimes the random numbers and letters in the URL at the top of the browser includes things like search keywords and data relevant to your particular session, which won't work again.
    • Databases sometimes remove articles or change their own URLs. Are you still able to find the article by doing a search in the database?

If you have further questions or problems, please contact the library staff.

Adding the EZProxy URL

When linking to an article URL, you will need to make sure the Cerro Coso's EZProxy prefix is present. This routes the article through the Cerro Coso library, where students can log in with their college email and password and access the article.

The prefix to be added to the beginning of the URL is:

https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=

For example:

https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3427400758/GVRL?u=cclc_cerroccc&sid=GVRL&xid=40a63a55

becomes

https://ezproxy.cerrocoso.edu/login?url=https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/CX3427400758/GVRL?u=cclc_cerroccc&sid=GVRL&xid=40a63a55

Complete List of Databases