Guides: American Sign Language: Learning ASL

The Sign Language Alphabet

American Sign Language eBooks

The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by Richard A. Tennant; Marianne Gluszak Brown; Valerie Nelson-Metlay (Illustrator)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781944838782
Publication Date: 2020
Organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. Users can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and nonmanual signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar.
Baby Signing 1-2-3: : The Easy-to-use Illustrated Guide for Every Stage and Every Age by Nancy Cadjan
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781402209789
Publication Date: 2007
A comprehensive illustrated baby sign language book with targeted advice based on your baby's age so you can easily communicate with your infant or toddler, ages 0-24 months.
The Syntax of American Sign Language by Carol Neidle; Benjamin Bahan; Judy Kegl; Robert G. Lee; Dawn MacLaughlin
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 0262140675
Publication Date: 1999
A study of American Sign Language and the various elements that make up the language.

American Sign Language Print Books

American Sign Language the Easy Way by David A. Stewart; Elizabeth Stewart; Jessalyn Little; Beth Roberge Friedrichs
Call Number: HV2474.S67 2007
ISBN: 0764134280
Publication Date: 2006
Covers facial grammar; courtesy phrases; vocabulary building; taking classes; the deaf community; numbers; conversational signs; practicing; discussing time; leisure activities; directional verbs and communication; technology; classifiers; organizations; poems and humor and traveling.
The American Sign Language Phrase Book by Lou Fant; Betty G. Miller (Illustrator)
Call Number: HV2475.F36 1994
ISBN: 0809235005
Publication Date: 1994
Useful for those interested in understanding and utilizing American Sign Language (ASL), this phrase book serves as a reference tool and a study guide.
Signing in Fourteen Languages by Claude O. Proctor
Call Number: HV2475.P75 2000
ISBN: 1579120997
Publication Date: 2000
A detailed line drawing clearly indicates how to sign each word and is accompanied by the same word translated into the following languages: Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Swedish.

What is American Sign Language?

American Sign Language is a language using hand and body gestures that was created to help Deaf and hard of hearing people in America communicate their thoughts and feelings. American Sign language is considered a separate language and culture from the language and culture of spoken English. Sign language has variations, and people outside of America may not understand ASL, even if they are Deaf and/or fluent in their own sign language.

Online ASL Dictionaries & Videos

The ASL Dictionary
Includes a dictionary page with videos and step-by-step images and handshapes of each sign.
ASL University (Lifeprint)
ASLU is an online American Sign Language curriculum resource center. It provides many free self-study materials, lessons, and information. It includes a video dictionary as well as usage explanations.
Deaf Websites
A website full of resources for those who are in the deaf community and those who want to learn about the deaf community.
Dr. Bill Vicar's ASL Fingerspelling
A tool to learn and test fingerspelling recognition.
Signing Savvy
A resource guide for learning ASL, including a dictionary and online videos of signs.

ASL Videos

ASLMeredith has a series of themed videos teaching ASL.

Bill Vicars has hundreds of ASL lessons on YouTube and on his website.

LIBRARY

American Sign Language: Learning ASL