Guides: Computer Science Research Guide: Books

Online eBooks on Computer Science

Here are just a few eBook titles available online that may help your research on Computer Science. Search the library catalog for more!

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your student ID. Don't forget to include the @ symbol! [e.g. @00123456]

Algorithms Unlocked by Thomas H. Cormen
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780262518802
Publication Date: 2013
In Algorithms Unlocked, Thomas Cormen -- coauthor of the leading college textbook on the subject -- provides a general explanation, with limited mathematics, of how algorithms enable computers to solve problems.
The Basics of Cloud Computing by Derrick Rountree; Ileana Castrillo
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780124059320
Publication Date: 2014
The Basics of Cloud Computing provides readers with an overview of the cloud and how to implement cloud computing in their organizations.
CompTIA Cloud Essentials+ Study Guide by Quentin Docter; Cory Fuchs
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781119642138
Publication Date: 2020
Covers all the topics needed to succeed on the Cloud Essentials+ exam and provides knowledge and skills that any cloud computing professional will need to be familiar with.
Cybersecurity Breaches and Issues Surrounding Online Threat Protection by Michelle Moore (Editor)
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781522519423
Publication Date: 2016
"Technology has become deeply integrated into modern society and various activities throughout everyday life. However, this increases the risk of vulnerabilities, such as hacking or system errors, among other online threats. Cybersecurity Breaches and Issues Surrounding Online Threat Protection is an essential reference source for the latest scholarly research on the various types of unauthorized access or damage to electronic data."
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology by Mehdi Khosrow-Pour
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781799834809
Publication Date: 2020
Presents multidisciplinary research and expert insights into new methods and processes for understanding modern technological tools and their applications as well as emerging theories and ethical controversies surrounding the field of information science. Highlighting a wide range of topics such as natural language processing, decision support systems, and electronic government, this book offers strategies for implementing smart devices and analytics into various professional disciplines.
Essential Cybersecurity Science by Josiah Dykstra
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781491920947
Publication Date: 2015
If you're involved in cybersecurity as a software developer, forensic investigator, or network administrator, this practical guide shows you how to apply the scientific method when assessing techniques for protecting your information systems.
HTML5 : Designing Rich Internet Applications by Matthew David
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780240820767
Publication Date: 2013
Understand how HTML5 is changing the web development game with this project-based book that shows you -not just tells you- what HTML5 can do for your websites.
Making Computers Accessible by Elizabeth R. Petrick
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781421416465
Publication Date: 2015
Bridging the history of technology, science and technology studies, and disability studies, this book traces the psychological, cultural, and economic evolution of a consumer culture aimed at individuals with disabilities, who increasingly rely on personal computers to make their lives richer and more interconnected.

Print Books on Computer Science

Here are just a few titles available for checkout at Cerro Coso to help your research on Computer Science. Search the library catalog for more!

Computational Fairy Tales by Jeremy Kubica
Call Number: QA76.6.K823 2012
ISBN: 9781477550298
Publication Date: 2012
Introduces principles of computational thinking, illustrating high-level computer science concepts, the motivation behind them, and their application in a non-computer fairy tale domain.
Data Analysis Using SQL and Excel by Gordon S. Linoff
Call Number: QA76.73.S67 L56 2016
ISBN: 9781119021438
Publication Date: 2016
Written by a leading expert on business data mining, this book shows you how to extract useful business information from relational databases.
From Mainframes to Smartphones by Martin Campbell-Kelly; Daniel D. Garcia-Swartz
Call Number: HD9696.2.A2 C36 2015
ISBN: 9780674729063
Publication Date: 2015
This compact history traces the computer industry from its origins in 1950 mainframes, through the establishment of standards beginning in 1965 and the introduction of personal computing in the 1980s. It concludes with the Internet's explosive growth since 1995.
Microsoft Excel Data Analysis and Business Modeling by Wayne Winston
Call Number: HD30.215.W5635 2016
ISBN: 9781509304219
Publication Date: 2016
Master business modeling and analysis techniques with Microsoft Excel 2016, and transform data into bottom-line results. Written by award-winning educator Wayne Winston, this hands on, scenario-focused guide helps you use Excel’s newest tools to ask the right questions and get accurate, actionable answers.
Technology in Action Complete by Alan Evans; Kendall Martin; Mary Anne Poatsy
Call Number: QA76.5.E9195 2020
ISBN: 9780135435199
Publication Date: 2019
Uses practical content and hands-on projects to engage students in computing tasks and skills they can apply at work, in class, or at home. Designed for today's technically savvy students, the text introduces difficult concepts at a basic level early on, then expands upon these skills as students build mastery.

Search for Library Books and EBooks

Library Call Number Sections

Books at Cerro Coso are shelved by subject using Library of Congress call numbers. Here is a breakdown of where to find books on your topic:

QA75.5 - QA76.95: Electronic computers. Computer science.
TK5101 - TK6720: Telecommunciation.
TK7800 - TK8360: Electronics.
Z52 - Z52.5: Word processing.

Subject Headings

When looking in the catalog (and some databases) for resources, try searching by subject keyword for more refined results. Here are some general subject headings you may wish to try:

C++ (Computer program language)
Computer networks
Computer programming
Computer science
Computer security
Computers
Cybernetics
Data protection
Database management
Electronics
HTML (Document markup language)
Java (Computer program language)
Microsoft Excel (Computer file)
Microsoft Outlook
Microsoft PowerPoint (Computer file)
Microsoft Word
Web site development
Web sites