Providing both crucial information and inspiration in a non-threatening, highly readable format, these two volumes encompass analysis of traditional economic theory and topics as well as those that economists have only more recently addressed.

This dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of financial and management accounting. Nearly 4,000 clear and accessible entries give straightforward definitions of terms, concepts, and jargon. It is a resource for students and professionals in the fields of accounting and finance." "Topics include financial reporting, direct and indirect taxation, auditing, corporate finance, and accounting bodies and institutions. It is fully updated to reflect the latest developments, particularly the growing importance of international accounting standards and the rise of activity-based costing systems. New features include worked examples, web links, and feature entries on key topics.

An introduction to accounting theory -- Accounting theory and accounting research -- Development of the institutional structure of financial accounting -- The economics of financial reporting regulation -- Postulates, principles, and concepts -- The search for objectives -- The FASB's conceptual framework -- Usefulness of accounting information to investors and creditors -- Uniformity and disclosure : some policy-making directions -- International accounting -- The balance sheet -- The income statement -- Statement of cash flows -- Income taxes and financial accounting -- Pensions and other postretirement benefits -- Leases -- Intercorporate equity investments.

Modern visionary, Bill Gates, reveals how expanding technology is propelling the business world into an exciting new economic era ... how every manager can and must stay ahead of the curve, and how integrated information systems can help every organization.

The future of the free market depends on fair, honest business practices. Business Ethics: Contemporary Issues and Cases aims to deepen students' knowledge of ethical principles, corporate social responsibility, and decision-making in all aspects of the business.

"Improving corporate governance, business sustainability, and accountability for business organizations appears to be a global trend. Society is holding public companies responsible and accountable for their business activities and their financial reporting process. The public, regulators, accounting profession, and academic community are also taking a closer look at colleges and universities to find ways to hold these institutions more accountable for achieving their mission of providing higher education with relevant curriculum. Three areas that have recently received long-awaited attention are business sustainability, professional ethics, and corporate governance.

Provides information on the prevalence, causes, and devastating consequences of this type of violence. Also covers the challenges that domestic violence and child abuse pose to the legal system.

Introduction to cite-checking -- The Bluebook trap : typeface conventions -- Citation form for cases -- Citation form for statutes, legislative materials, uniform acts, court rules, and constitutions -- Secondary sources -- Administrative and executive materials -- Electronic databases and the internet -- Punctuation, quotations, omissions, alterations, and parentheticals -- Short forms, signals and related authority -- Putting it together : court and litigation documents; capitalization, and tables of authorities -- The final review.

"This book covers civil rights and civil liberties politics in the United States from the ratification of the Bill of Rights to current-day controversies, such as the travel ban and proposals to end birth-right citizenship. Civil Rights and Civil Liberties: A Reference Handbook provides a thorough overview of civil rights in U.S. history, detailing all the relevant amendments to the Constitution and reviewing key Supreme Court decisions and landmark cases on the topic. Aimed at general readers as well as high school, college, and university students, it focuses on the role of federal courts in civil rights and civil liberties politics.