Guides: Administration of Justice Research Guide: Books

Online eBooks on Administration of Justice

Here are just a few eBook titles available online that may help your research on Administration of Justice. Search the library catalog for more!

Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with your student ID. Don't forget to include the @ symbol! [e.g. @00123456]

Cheap on Crime by Hadar Aviram
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780520960329
In Cheap on Crime, Hadar Aviram draws on years of archival and journalistic research and builds on social history and economics literature to show the powerful impact of recession-era discourse on the death penalty, the war on drugs, incarceration practices, prison heal.
Crime and Punishment in America by Finley, Laura L.
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781610699280
Publication Date: 2017
Covering some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions, this work supplies essential background, current data, and a range of viewpoints on these important issues.
Criminal Justice at the Crossroads by William R. Kelly
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780231171373
Publication Date: 2015
This book recommends proactive, evidence-based interventions to address criminogenic behavior; collaborative decision making from a variety of professions and disciplines; and a focus on innovative alternatives to incarceration, such as problem-solving courts and probation.
Criminal Justice in America: the Encyclopedia of Crime, Law Enforcement, Courts, and Corrections [2 Volumes] by Carla Lewandowski; Jeff Bumgarner This work offers a thorough introduction to the field of criminal justice, including types of crime; policing; courts and sentencing; landmark legal decisions; and local, state, and federal corrections systems--and the key topics and issues within each of these important areas.
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781440862632
Publication Date: 2020
Discipline and Punish: The Birth of the Prison by Michel Foucault
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9780679752554
Publication Date: 1995
"In this work, the author suggests that such vaunted reforms as the abolition of torture and the emergence of the modern penitentiary have merely shifted the focus of punishment from the prisoner's body to his soul."
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice by Margaret E. Beare
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781412990776
Publication Date: 2012
Explores various aspects of transnational crimes with a focus on transnational justice, charting the criminal activity and crimes through to prosecution in domestic and international courts.
The History of Criminal Law by Duchess Harris: Rebecca Rowell
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 1532172443
Publication Date: 2019
The History of Criminal Law examines all aspects of criminal law in the United States. It discusses the laws surrounding many different crimes and shows how crimes can impact laws. Intended for younger readers.
The History of Law Enforcement by Duchess Harris; Rebecca Morris
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 1532172451
Publication Date: 2019
The History of Law Enforcement examines all aspects of law enforcement in the United States. It discusses the history behind US law enforcement, how different law enforcement agencies operate, and how police impact their surrounding communities. Intended for younger readers.
Research Methods in Crime and Justice by Brian L. Withrow
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781135036294
Publication Date: 2014
More than 80 short, sharply focused examples throughout the text rely on actual research that is conducted by, on behalf of, or relevant to criminal justice practitioners.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Criminal Psychology by Robert D. Morgan
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781483392264
Publication Date: 2019
A unique reference work that looks at criminal behavior primarily through a scientific lens. With over 500 entries the book brings together top empirically driven researchers and clinicians across multiple fields--psychology, criminology, social work, and sociology--to explore the field.
The State of American Policing by David J. Thomas
Call Number: EBOOK
ISBN: 9781440860065
Publication Date: 2018
"Written by a veteran police officer turned college professor, this modern-day study of American policing covers hot-button issues including police use of deadly force against and bias toward minorities.Grounded in research of historical and current events, this text examines police practices and the psychological impact that those practices have on minority communities."

Books on Administration of Justice

Here are just a few titles available for checkout at Cerro Coso to help your research on Administration of Justice. Search the library catalog for more!

Criminal Justice in America by George F. Cole; Christopher E. Smith; Christina DeJong
Call Number: HV9950.C6 2016
ISBN: 9781305261068
Publication Date: 2016
Learn about the crucial role that public policy plays in the criminal justice system and explore the hot issues that are changing the face of criminal justice today--and shaping its future.
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by Wesley G. Jennings; George E. Higgins (Associate Editor); Mildred M. Maldonado-Molina (Associate Editor); David N. Khey (Associate Editor)
Call Number: REF HV6017.E5243 2016
ISBN: 9781118519714
Publication Date: 2016
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment provides the most comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.
Why American Prisons Fail by Peyton Paxson; George H. Watson
Call Number: HV9471.P39 2016
ISBN: 9781611635188
Publication Date: 2016
The book discusses existing best practices and proposed reforms to move away from expensive and unsuccessful mass incarceration toward a more effective system.
Careers in Law Enforcement by Johnston, Coy H.
Call Number: HV8143.J642 2017
ISBN: 9781483379067
Publication Date: 2017
A valuable resource for anyone considering a career in the criminal justice field. He defines the variety of career paths, so that readers can develop sensible goals at the beginning of their degree program.
Criminal Justice Today: an introductory text for the 21st century by Frank J. Schmalleger
Call Number: HV9950.S35 2013
ISBN: 9780132739818
Publication Date: 2012
Guides criminal justice students in the struggle to find a satisfying balance between freedom and security, and focuses on the crime picture in America and on the three traditional elements of the criminal justice system: police, courts, and corrections.

Search for Library Books and EBooks

Library Call Number Sections

Books at Cerro Coso are shelved by subject using Library of Congress call numbers. Here is a breakdown of where to find books on your topic:

HV6001 - HV7220.5: Criminology
HV7231 - HV9960: Criminal Justice Administration
- HV7435 - HV7439: Gun Control
- HV7551 - HV8280.7: Police. Detectives
  - HV8073 - HV8079: Criminal Investigation
- HV8301 - HV9920.7: Penology. Prison. Corrections.

Subject Headings

When looking in the catalog (and some databases) for resources, try searching by subject keyword for more refined results. Here are some general subject headings you may wish to try:

Crime
Crime and race
Crime prevention
Criminal behavior
Criminal investigation
Criminal justice, Administration of
Criminal law
Criminals
Criminology
Criminal psychology
Deviant behavior
Evidence, Criminal
Forensic sciences
Homicide
Law enforcement
Police
Police administration
Terrorism
Victims of crime